We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very satisfying”
Review of Hotel Sopron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sopron
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Sopron
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We spent a long weekend here with my partner. The hotel staff was very kind at the check-in, but wasn't as kind when we checked-out. They seemed to be very busy then... The thermal pool was rather a thermal tub. Even four people made it crowded, so we decided not to use use. The sauna was OK. The hotel is on the top of a hill, so it's a nice climb to get there if you decide to not to travel by car. (we didn't)
The buffet breakfast was definitely the best part of our stay. They have wide selection of regular and beyond-regular breakfast options. 3/5

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lazarusz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

We were there for one week at the end of the summer (8/2013). The region was very interesting for us (such a family with two small children). We have visited many attractions in close surrounding - an unrepeatable atmosphere of the old city of Sopron, the Neusiedler See (trip on the ship with many beautiful natural views), the Entertaining family park in St.Margareta (not only children were fascinated ;-) ), amazing Esterhazy gardens created for the longer walks (suitable also for trips and picnics with child-carriage)... We have from this time pretty memories mainly because of comfortable and modern accommodation (we got two-rooms family apartment), perfect service, and really amazing Hungary kitchen. The Hotel Sopron is situated very close to the center on the small hill, despite this fact it is calm area. Hotel is baby-friendly (very nice room with toys for small kids, outside playground and swimming-pool, whirlpool and sauna). WiFi for free. Personal was welcoming and helpful in each situation, everybody spoke English. Maybe we had just a little problem with bathrooms - we asked to repair dales in showers. That was done promptly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zuzkaHighTatras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Very nice hotel very near in the city center. The hotel is the old MÁV (the Hungarian railrway company) pleasure resort, but that is renewed hotel. The stile is socialistic.
The view and the overlook of the city is cool. The food and the hotel' person is very good. I suggest to everybody!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ButyokDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I have stayed at Hotel Sopron several times during winter 2012/13. The rooms are always nice and clean, good service in the reception, bar and restaurent. Depending on the room you also get a nice view of Sopron and the Fire Tower. The breakfast is good with giid variety. It is also possible to eat your dinner at the hotel, but I found the food a bit boring and will recomend to explore all the good opportunities in the city center.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dahl-johansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

Wellness area was quite small, but enough for the almost vacant hotel. Sauna was under renovation, but jacuzzi was ok. Overall great quality price for a nights stay. Would be nice to see the hotel interior renovated

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martonemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We spent 2 nights in this hotel at autumn. Therefore unfortunately we can't use the pool in the garden. On the other hand there is a jacuzzi, and finnsauna and infrasauna inside. Hotel is very close to the city of the center. Best view for the fire tower and the hill disctrict. Our room was clean, but the balcony was dirty. Parking is free. The foods are vey various and very delicious. The chef is very talent. I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meiczi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Stayed 1 night during summer with my mom and my friend in a 3 bed room.The room was clean,the staff was friendly and the buffet breakfast tasty and with good variety.The view from our balcony was gorgeous,right on the city. I was totally satisfied with the service and would surely stay there again.Besides for less than £80 for 3 people with breakfast is not that bad,is it...

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank samantha1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sopron hotels
0.4 mi away
Pannonia Hotel
Pannonia Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sopron
530 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lover
Hotel Lover
#3 of 13 in Sopron
126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Wollner
Hotel Wollner
#2 of 13 in Sopron
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rosengarten
Hotel Rosengarten
#5 of 13 in Sopron
39 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palatinus
Hotel Palatinus
#7 of 13 in Sopron
45 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Szieszta Sopron
Hotel Szieszta Sopron
#11 of 13 in Sopron
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sopron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sopron

Address: Foevenyverem 7, Sopron 9400, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Gyor-Moson-Sopron County > Sopron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Sopron
Price Range: £48 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sopron 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sopron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing