We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Fagus
Nearby Hotels
Pannonia Hotel(Sopron)(Great Value!)
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lover(Sopron)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$55
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Sopron(Sopron)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$55
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
13
24
27
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
24
27
15
10
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I spent two days in this hotel. It was 2 business days and I almost didn't go outside. Not bad hotel at all. Food was good and we have a lot of choice. If you are average tourist, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dzordzdzordz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Hotel Fagus, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Guest - Dzordzdzordz

Thank you very much for your valued review. We are very glad receving any opinion from our guests. I am sure, you are not an average tourist, althought I hope, you were also satisfied with our services, as you wrote. May be you will come back once again in the near future visiting the landmarks in the region too.
Have a good business!
Miklos Kovacs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

2 years ago we were already in the hotel, we heard that there is a new management, so we went back at the end of March. The weather was very bad with snow and cold temperature, in our room was very cold, and there wasn't heating. We told it to the reception, they sent somebody who said we had to wait because the heating is in the wall. After 2 hours the room was still very cold, and then we got an answer, that the heating is not functionning, so we got an another room, which was bigger, it was a big suit. The room was perfect except the drapery, it was short, so we couldn't make dark in the room, which was not good in the morning. We told to the techniker, but he couldn't do anything. The bed-sheets were too short for the bed, the quarter of the bed was without bed-sheet.
The breakfast and the dinner was perfect, so we can say, that the new management did something, it was the first and most important thing to develope to them. Everything was delicious, a lot of dishes, the staff was very fast, they took the dirty plates very fast. Only bad thing was that the management sat down at the dining room and they spoke very loud about the reservation, they read the guests book very loud, so we heard a lot of things about the hotel operation. We didn't understand why couldn't they speak about these things in the office?
We chose a wellness packet, but the woman in the wellness reception said, that many things are still not available in the hotel, for example the hairdresser (there was 2 hairdressers program in the packet) or aerobic (it was also in the packet). So we couldn't get it. First she said that mayb she can give us something instead of these, but we didn't get anything. The wellness area is not so big, and there were more guests from outside (they were not hotel guests) then hotel guests. The new management has to develope the housekeeping, because it is not 4-stars-standard, they didn't clean the room well, and one day I asked the woman in the corridor when will they clean our rooms, she asked me if I really want it or not? So the management has to make attention to the housekeeping also, not only the restaurant.
But I have to talk about the perfect things: the massage what I got was very-very professional and perfect (the masseur was a young woman), she was very kind. And the bar is also perfect, the staff in the bar was also very friendly, and the cocktail was delicious!
Maybe we go back later, I hope for that time everything will be perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTraveller12347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Hotel Fagus, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear HappyTraveller 12,

Thank you for your second visit in Hotel Fagus, and thank you for your detailed review as well.
Sorry for your unpleasent experiences, we work on it hard, to develeope even the technical backstage of the hotel, as the service level of our facilities and amenities too.
Concerning the management behaviour in the restaurant I am very sorry, we are much more discret already althought the time of the beginning. We take care much more attention do not disturb our guests with our enthusiastic. I hope, you will come again visiting us in a better weather circumsistances, and you will get time to time a better impacts about our services.
We wish you very nice summer Holiday,
Miklós Kovács

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

It is three years since my wife and I stayed at Hotel Fagus. Having read some of the recent reports about the hotel we wondered what to expect. There are one or two areas where service/facilities are not as good as previously. On TripAdvisor ratings I would rate it as ‘good’ (i.e. Between ‘average’ and ‘very good’) if it were possible. So my overall rating will be 4 out of 5 as I am of a generous nature.

The buffet breakfast and dinner was better than three years ago, a good choice was always available. The chefs (and some mornings senior management) were scrutinising the buffet to ensure replenishments were made. In the evening there is a good wine list. A small bar near the restaurant was available and we generally found it quiet, although a television was always on in the background.

The staff are overall very friendly and helpful. We were always served well in the restaurant, café and bar. The front desk staff were always polite and attentive. One point for English speaking visitors is that the standard of English is not wonderful but this is often true in Hungary. Room cleaning was good but haphazard and sometimes there was a shortage of clean towels and toilet rolls though this was resolved quickly.

However updates to the hotel are obviously “work in progress”. Some of the gym equipment is damaged or needs major maintenance. It would not support a serious work out. The alternative is the pool which is small but ok. Be aware it can get very crowded at the weekend. The garden and grounds have become run down and some extensive weeding and tidying is required. Though the rooms have nice balconies, the chairs are rather uncomfortable and you can’t sit out in the sun for long.

There is a gym, squash court, small pool, spa, hairdresser and even a dentist if required. The hotel is ideally situated near extensive woods for walks and running. This is a good base for a vacation in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Hotel Fagus, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Mr. Antony A. from UK.,

Its's a great honour after 3 years, you visited our hotel again. We are very glad getting your feedback to compare our services and facilities. We know, we have to improve our services as much as possible, as the hotel is 8 years old, and the former management has not to much maintenance realised. As you experienced, some things we could change already, few one not yet. Certainly we are working on it, and hopfuly for your next visit, we will have only renewed or renovated facilities & services at your service.
Very kind regards,
Miklos Kovacs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This was 3rd time for us to spend few days here. Actually, we would never come back after bad experiences, unless we do not read on website about new management. This was the reason we gave another chance, and it was worth! We realized really lots of positive improvements:
- quality of food: delicious dishes, much wider choise than before!
- kids lunch menu
- rooms are clean ( this was not the case before...)
- staff is friendly and helpful at every level ( restaurant, reception, wellness, cleaning)
- no extra charge for parking
any more!


Still some room for improvement:
- kids Mini Club: old, broken toys, not clean
- outside playground: would need to be renovated and a climber with slide would add a lot for the little ones
- a bit slow service in restaurant, 30-40 minutes waiting at lunch in spite we were only guests there
- we asked for baby cot at arrival but did ger it only after 3rd request late in the evening
- no potty chair or children toilet seat was available ( they told when we asked for, that they have only 1 pc and it is not available) - this is something you can buy for cca 500 HUF in Ikea for example, I think it would be not that huge investment to buy some additional pieces...:)))
- no wellness towels

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ppv77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Hotel Fagus, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear pp77 Guest from Budapest,

Thank you very much for your valued review. We are very happy you visited us again, and we would like to thank you for your kind words. Thank you for your advices also, what and how can we our services let improve more for. Certainly we will manage these things like old, broken toys, missing potty chair and children toilet set, etc.-etc.
We will continue to let develope the level of our services, and to do our work for the higher satisfaction of our guests.
Very kind regards,
Miklos Kovacs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Positive: If you are visiting Sopron, location is good. 15 mins drive from Sopron. Hotel on edge of forest for great walks. Hotel rooms very clean and modern. Staff were outstanding and helpful. most of them spoke enough English to understand us. Baby chairs available. Small outdoor playground, a little tired but functional. Negative: no amenities except a shower cap and all purpose shower gel/shampoo dispenser on wall in bathroom. No complimentary bottles of water in rooms. No towels supplied in swimming pool. Have to take your own (scratchy old) towels from the bathroom. No drinking water available in wellness centre. Lunch menu is only a la carte. Waiting time for each item is on the Menu. Spaghetti took 30mins! I guess everything is prepared to order. Was a long wait the first day with hungry babies! And lots of flies in the restaurant. Meant that the desserts were inedible (in my view) as too many flies had landed on them.

On the whole, hotel was good for we needed. Cannot fault clean rooms and excellent service from staff. But you cannot compare this 4* hotel with a 4* hotel in Budapest.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kovacs M, Director of Sales at Hotel Fagus, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Angela K,

Thank you very much for your review. We have learned a lot from it, we will discuss your points on the management meeting tomorrow, and we will manage them as soon, as we can.
We are comitted to provide better services to be a better and friendly hotel here in Sopron.

Kind regards,

Miklos Kovacs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews