We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1 night in Szeged”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Tisza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Tisza
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Szeged
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“1 night in Szeged”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel is very well located and the staff are really kind. Everythnig is close to the hotel, but from the railway station you should take the tram if you have big lagguages. The room was clean and the breakfast was also good. I

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viola N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    14
    13
    9
    9
See reviews for
13
15
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We had our wedding there. The staff was extremly helpful and flexible to adjust to our needs. The location and the interior is amazing. Would definitely come back and will recommend it to our friends as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kincső O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungary
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

I think is this hotel is quite good. The location is excellent; in the middle of the city center so you can reach famous things quickly. Note that people from parties crossing Széchenyi square so there was one night when I woke bacuse of shouting students. The staff was kind and did their job good. I like this old, Renaissance look. The room had a small wooden smell and the ceiling is at 4 meters so it looks nice! My room number was 214 and and first day after woke up the room was a bit warm because heating was turned on. I tried to close it but the switch was broken. Receptionist woman said that this room is the warmest room and she know that the heating switch is broken. But nothing serious it was just a bit warm and I prefer colder rooms to sleep. The bathroom is clean and absolutely ok. The TV is a monitor too so use it for your tablet too. Breakfast is good, scrambled eggs, cooked eggs, Frankfurt sausages, 3 type of sausages, snorker, muesli, milk, coffee, cocoa drink, soda, butter, jams, bread, crescent, cakes, tomato, paprika, 3-4 type of cheeses. The price is fair for these.

Room Tip: If you like warm rooms or going to travel in winter then choose room 214.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gyuri_551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Let me start with the good things. Hotel Tisza is right in the heart of the city, you cannot get a better location. The building is grand , old but maintained all right, the interior is very beautiful. The staff (the receptionist women) are kind, and the breakfast is okay. The price is attractive so I guess this, and the location is a big point to choose this accommodation. Wifi works fine.

BUT (here comes the negative part)... The rooms are clean but would need a little update and the beds..!!! OMG! I made sure to reserve a room with double bed (french bed as it is called in Hungary) which basically should be a queen size bed. Now, despite the booking confirmed such bed, the room had two single (twin size) beds with WOODEN FRAME, just pushed together. I am sure it is fine for friends or a sport team, but not suitable for people actually want to cuddle in bed (unless one of them is willing to sleep on the wooden frame, or they decide to sleep on one single bed together). The two beds kept slipping away from each other for the slightest motions. Another thumb down for the tiny miniature soap for two people.
No hair dryer. :( Keep this in mind when you book a room in Tisza.
There is a smokers corner in the back yard, but you gotta do it standing between the parking cars, not a single bench to be found. I don't know if this is common, but we were asked to pay at the check in (!). I don't like that.
This hotel had much better years, and it has great potentials, but as it is now I would not call it customer friendly. Its location makes to popular but it could be run much much better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Csahos_Fenevad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

The hotel is located next to the main square. The multilingual staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast wasn't amazing but more than adequate. The room was decent: good mattress, nice blankets, and hot water. But note that I had heeded other reviewers' warnings/suggestions to spring for the superior room if I could afford it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otangoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gyor, Hungary
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I think, the hotel is exellent to have a rest after the work, the location is very good for discover the town and their restaurants. I have been in the hotel for a year, the service level was good every time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fábián J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

The hotel is a relic from the past when it was an elegant, downtown hotel and also from the Socialist era. But it is in a super location, it's perfectly clean and the service is great. Everything worked, which can't be said about many hotels with more stars. A very good value for your money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bazika666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Szeged hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Szeged
Novotel Szeged
#2 of 20 in Szeged
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tiszavirag Szeged
Tiszavirag Szeged
#1 of 20 in Szeged
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Szeged
Art Hotel Szeged
#5 of 20 in Szeged
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Science Hotel
Science Hotel
#3 of 20 in Szeged
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Szent Janos Hotel
Szent Janos Hotel
#10 of 20 in Szeged
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Auris
Hotel Auris
#6 of 20 in Szeged
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tisza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tisza

Property: Hotel Tisza
Address: Szechenyi, square 3, Szeged 6720, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Southern Great Plain > Csongrad County > Szeged
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Szeged
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tisza 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tisza***, situated in the very heart of Szeged, offers the perfect and ideal place for its guests to explore the unique culture and sights of the city. Tisza Hotel offers the ultimate in comfort and service for the business and leisure traveller. Ever since 1885., this completely renovated hotel has been providing first class traditional furnishing in an elegant and exclusive style. The hotel was built right after the reception of the building permit on 25 March 1885. At the beginning it was called "Vigado," later "Hotel Metropol." Finally it was named "Hotel Tisza" in honor of Prime Minister Kalman Tisza, who had been in office for 10 years at the time. This is the origin of the hotel’s name. The hotel was closed down in 1949 and reopened in 1963. The new owners renovated the hotel preserving the historical atmosphere but also installing some modern services into the turn of the century environment. Hotel Tisza***, said to be the most elegant hotel in Szeged and its region, is situated on Szechenyi Square, the main square of the city. The hotel has become famous and highly popular in the city for its pleasant location and special atmosphere recalling the ambiance of the turn of the century. For international conferences, business meeting or an important high profile event, Tisza Hotel offers the unique and representative conference rooms - Concert and Mirror Halls, meeting 6-500 delegates – and thus provides perfect premises for various programs. Success is guaranteed for: Congresses, Conferences, Lectures, Exhibitions, Receptions, Trainings, Press Conferences, Presentations, Weddings. We provide ideal scene for all kindw of programs. The historical atmosphere and the high level technical background provide the perfect venue for either personal or business events. Enjoy a friendly welcome and the relaxed atmosphere in our cosy coffee bar, ideal for morning coffee or evening cocktails. Dance Club for 60 - 70's music lovers, Retro Club, free of charge safe, luggage room, taxi service, 24 hour reception, notary, program organisation and sightseeing tour are available for our guests. Our guests can park their vehicles in the hotel’s garage. For those who are arriving by plane, railways or bus, the hotel offers transfer service. Tisza Hotel - we do our best for the comfort of our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tisza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tisza Hotel Szeged

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing