We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended to teenagers.”
Review of Hotel Royal

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Szeged
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Royal
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Szeged
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The only plus point for this hotel is the location: in the very center of the city. The hotel is old and not renovated. If you get there in the evening you will find at reception only the guardian of the hotel - an old man that speaks only hungarian (friendly, but kind of impossible to get infos from him). Rooms are dirty (only clean things were the bed sheets), only hungarian chanels on tv, very old and hard to manage air conditioning, dirty bathroom (for nothing you have towels if you can not really use them). In our room was missing a part of the light lamp. We were not curious to try the breakfast. I hope maybe they have better rooms for guests that stay more than one night.
It works as budget teenagers hotel (you can get the room without breakfast) or if you are in transit and don't want to spend much on a hotel room.
It would make a big difference if they would care much more about housekeeping and maintenance and is a pity they really don't care about it, considering the central location.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana_Virlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Royal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2009

The hotel is perfectly located in a side street of the pedestrian zone, where it's relatively quiet. The parking behind the hotel is free and there is a guard. Rooms are clean and standard, but you have to pay extra if you want the air-con to be activated (we didnt and hat mosquitoes in the room even though we stayed on 5th floor). Rooms also have mini-bar and safebox. Breakfast is not inside the hotel but in a cafe 100m down the street. Breakfast there is not buffet but to order and rather simple. Staff speaks fluent english and some also german and they are very helpful and responsive. In the hotel you should find some wi-fi and if not there hundreds of free hot spots in the city.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burnt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Grebennikova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Tonivacanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romaspqr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Szeged hotels
0.1 mi away
Art Hotel Szeged
Art Hotel Szeged
#3 of 20 in Szeged
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dom
Hotel Dom
#7 of 20 in Szeged
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Soleil Szeged
Hotel Soleil Szeged
#8 of 20 in Szeged
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tisza
Hotel Tisza
#15 of 20 in Szeged
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tiszavirag Szeged
Tiszavirag Szeged
#2 of 20 in Szeged
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Science Hotel
Science Hotel
#4 of 20 in Szeged
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Koelcsey utca 1-3, Szeged 6720, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Southern Great Plain > Csongrad County > Szeged
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Szeged
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 134

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing