We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vacation resort”
Review of Club Tihany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Club Tihany
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tihany
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good vacation resort”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We spent one week at Club Tihany this August in one of the wine houses.

The best about this hotel is the outmost children friendliness of the resort. You can find a lot's of thing where children can spend their time, slides, Henna, children club etc etc. This certainly was for us a big plus since we were babysitting my brother's children for couple of days and so we were able to relax and enjoy each other's company a little.

The food is decent, but nothing special.

The staff is really friendly.

The bungalow is clean. The bath room could be bigger. The only thing which was a little on the minus side is that the ventillation in the so called wine bungalow where we stayed is not really the best. The temperature was cold inside so this was not a problem, but the air inside was used all the time. We saw some of the so called atrium bungalows which have air conditioning, so I guess ventillation is not a problem there.

Can recommend it for families with kids!

Room Tip: Atrium bungalows because of the better air inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lszi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    31
    21
    21
    11
See reviews for
70
9
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed in an "Atrium" bungalow in August 2011. The accomodation is spacious but quite a few little things, e.g. mosquito nets, latches or locks, around are broken or falling apart. There is a short walk to the grassy beach on the Balaton. Though the sunbeds are free if you do not come the very first thing after 7am you may forget about those as everything will be snatched - there is far more people than the sunbeds! There are only two little stairs where you can get into the lake and the lake bed is not dredged or clean so you will get plenty of chance of feeling fresh water mussels under your feet - beware the cuts! The pool outside is about a foot deep so only good for toddlers. The good point is that indoors there are a swimming pool, saunas and a shallow pool with jets; the bad point is that it is all overcowded to an unbelievable point.

The worst point really is food. Very modest meal (two adults and two children) at noon would be around 40-50 pounds and you need to be quick as there is not enough place (the Germans seem to have their meals earlier than us and they take their time....) Standard evening meal at the hotel is nearly 60 quid and it is far too expensive for what it is, all drinks, soft or alcohol, are to be paid as extras. We tried the "Cafe Tihany" (a restaurant near the ferry, just outside the resort) and the grill outside - in the first we were served vinegar instead of wine and they suddenly stopped understanding English when we complained, the other was nice but very expensive. The Germans seem to drive there with cars stuffed - this seems clever as there is nowhere else to eat. The village Tihany itself - definitely worth a day in - is about two miles away.

All in all - far too many people for what is there and the food is a rip-off.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tihany hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

The hotel is situated at the end of the peninsula and there is not much noise around. The hotel is very clean and tidy. The staff is nice. There are many activities to do around. You can play basketball, tenis,football....Many activities are for free.
The wellness is pretty good for a three star hotel. Saunas are nice. The pools too..
The food is delicious. You have a big variety of different kinds of food.
There was also some animation for children every day.
Altogether we were very satisfied with this hotel. We came there to relax and it was the perfect spot to do this.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have lake view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gorenjc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

We'd heard this was the best hotel in the area, and were disappointed when we arrived. Hotel needs a lot of rennovation and updating and the lake wasn't that attractive. No air conditioning either.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2007

It's a four-star hotel which doesn't really deserve all of its stars. We arrived there after a stay in a three-star hotel in Budapest, and each day, we remembered that Budapest hotel wistfully.
We chose what they call superior rooms which means our room had a balcony, a view of the lake Balaton, and an air-conditioner. Since the temperature was around 40 C, the a/c was much appreciated. People across the hall from us who didn't have it kept windows and doors open to get at least some air. Some people brought their own electric fans to survive the heat.
The rooms are large, and there their four-star quality ends. The beds were extremely uncomfortable. When I sat in bed trying to read the headboard came right up to the middle of my neck, and it was excruciating. The pillows were thin and uncomfortable, too. The bedframes were clearly designed to keep people out of bed and as far away from it as possible since I stubbed my toes more times than I care to count. The lampshades were dirty. The bathroom was cleanish, and that's the best that can be said it.
The food in the restaurants was good, and the menu for buffet breakfast and dinner varied pleasantly. However, make sure you know your German when you order lunch from a menu or drinks for the buffet dinner. No other language (unless it's Hungarian) will get you anywhere.
The hotel has a spa they call a beauty farm, and they offer very nice massages and baths. Although beware again that if you don't speak Hungarian or German you won't get very far there. The receptionists speak English, nobody else apparently does.
The hotel also has a thermal water swimming pool "with surprises," i.e. a variety of massage showers. The showers are great.
Most importantly, it's really a hotel for families with chidren. It's overrun by kids of all ages. And if you're not prepared to listen to wild screams all day long (we weren't), this is not a hotel for you. Kids start running around and shrieking their heads off as early as 7 a.m., and no matter how hard their parents try to keep them in check, it doesn't help. And I won't describe what they did with the showers in the pool, it defies imagination. The beach there is nice, but not many people swim in the lake itself, so the pools were really overcrowded.
In short, it's a family getaway, and unless you have a few kids you are unlikely to enjoy Club Tihany much.

  • Liked — spa
  • Disliked — rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Kriemhild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2006

Hotel Club Tihany is absolutely charming. I have satyed there three consecutive summers for 1 week with my husband. It is a beautiful park sourounded, calm vacation resort with many activites.

Helpful?
7 Thank Hungryjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tihany
4.0 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#3 of 19 in Balatonfured
121 reviews
4.5 mi away
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
#1 of 19 in Balatonfured
718 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tihany Atrium
Tihany Atrium
#2 of 3 in Tihany
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Silverine Lake Resort
Silverine Lake Resort
#2 of 19 in Balatonfured
200 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#3 of 39 in Siofok
344 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Annabella
Hotel Annabella
#9 of 19 in Balatonfured
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Tihany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Tihany

Property: Club Tihany
Address: Club Tihany ueduelo, Tihany 8237, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Veszprem County > Tihany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tihany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Club Tihany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing