We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in Hungary”
Review of Villa Medici Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Medici Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Veszprem
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best food in Hungary”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

While the atmosphere and decor is not my favorite the food is the real star. This is delicious upscale dining at affordable prices. Every dish was perfect and even the bread was very flavorful. My family and I have been living in Hungary for awhile and tried many restaurants but this in terms of food quality and presentation is the best.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nermin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillamedici, Executive Chef at Villa Medici Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We are happy to hear that you are keen on gastronomy and you were satisfied with the meal and the service in our restaurant.
We hope to welcome you to Villa Medici again soon!

Sincerely,

Csaba Amrein
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    25
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
31
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Pros
- staff is very friendly and has a 'can do' attitude to all guest requests
- location is good if you're traveling with kids, it's a short walk to the zoo
- both restaurants are amongst the top choices in Veszprem

Cons
- interior is outdated compared to what you'd expect for this price
- queen sized bed has 2 mattresses and the only thing they can do about it is put in an extra piece of foam between them to 'close the gap'
- rooms were cold and we were offered a Tesco heater to warm it up, not other opportunities exist

Room Tip: Don't go to the basement, rooms 01, 02, 03
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillamedici, Manager at Villa Medici Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our hotel’s service.
At the same time I also appreciate your honest feedback in relation to our rooms.
It feels so good to learn that our colleagues have done their best to ensure your satisfaction.
We hope to welcome you to Villa Medici again soon!


Sincerely,

Gabor Nagy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Veszprém is located by the lake Balaton (it is approx.. 100 km from Budapest). If you visit the region the restaurant of Hotel Villa Medici is probably the best one in the region.
It is very elegant and puts a lot of attention on the quality. You can choose a menu with several courses or choose a’ la cart.
I was there during the autumn, and it was not at all full with people. I am sure it is more busy during the summer. This place would be more famous if it was in Budapest for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bittersweetBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillamedici, Manager at Villa Medici Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and the positive comments regarding our hotel’s service, highlighting the gastronomy.
We hope to welcome you to Villa Medici in summer ... it's busy but have great fun:)

Sincerely,
Gabor Nagy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We spent 3 days here with my husband and our baby. I have cow milk and soy allergy, and we have a 8 month old daughter, and the hotel staff was very helpful with both issues. We got a travel crib, a baby bathtub, and baby chair during the meals.

Our package included breakfast and dinner, both offered a wide range of freshly made and excellent food. I could go on and on about the kitchen, really. They made some dishes specially for me baceuse of the allergy (e.g. they made me special potato dumplings which normally contain milk etc). The home-made red wine-cherry ice cream is a must have.

Wellness part is small, one cold water pool, one hot tub, a sauna and a steam bath, but it is very nice and has a great atmosphere. I tried hot stone massage which was great.

The surroundings are beautiful, trees and nice walks, the old city center can be reached by foot, and the famous Veszprem zoo is near the hotel. We chose a bigger type of room, they have a great view of the viaduct and a balcony, too.

One negative: the bed was uncomfortable. It looked really comfortable, but both me and my husband woke up with back aches (and we are in our thirties :).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillamedici, Manager at Villa Medici Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Patricia,

Thank you for your kind words and the positive comments regarding our hotel’s service, highlighting the wellness amenities and the gastronomy, as well.
At the same time I also appreciate your honest feedback in relation to the uncomfortable bed mattresses. We try to purchase new ones as soon as we can.
We hope to welcome you to Villa Medici again soon!


Sincerely,

Gabor Nagy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinwenden, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This is the kind of hotel that makes you feel like a guest and not just another customer.
The staff is absolutely fantastic and made made feel like a VIP, they're so kind and polite...
The regular rooms aren't big but clean and comfortable, affordable good value hotel in a good and quiet location where you can rest and relax.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillamedici, Manager at Villa Medici Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Mr. Antonio L.,

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay at Villa Medici Hotel & Restaurant. It feels so good to learn that our colleagues have done their best to ensure your satisfaction. At the same time I also appreciate your honest feedback in relation to the hotel room, you have stayed.
We hope to welcome you to Villa Medici again soon!

Sincerely,
Gabor Nagy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel was perfect for walking into town or the zoo. Staff at front desk were friendly and every one spoke a few languages. There are two restaurants at the hotel, same kitchen, one more upscale the other more relaxed. Food was plentiful and tasty. Rooms were on the small side and the shower was tiny. Easy, free parking.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DF929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillamedici, Manager at Villa Medici Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear D F,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our hotel’s service, highlighting the gastronomy.
At the same time I also appreciate your honest feedback in relation to our rooms.
It feels so good to learn that our colleagues have done their best to ensure your satisfaction.
We hope to welcome you to Villa Medici again soon!


Sincerely,

Gabor Nagy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bramming, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

A very nice hotel, in a quiet location – If you plan a longer stay it would be best to have a car.
The staff is friendly and attentive, only a few of them understood and spook English well.
The wellness area could be bigger and the water in the pool was a bit cold. They have a massage service which is very cheap but good.
Breakfast was ok. They have two different restaurants at the hotel, and local Hungarian and a gourmet restaurant. We had lunch at the Nostalgia Restaurant, we had a salad with chicken and this was very delicious and well prepared.
We had dinner at the Villa Medici Restaurant twice and both times where absolutely amazing. The service is great and the food excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S_Hvass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillamedici, Manager at Villa Medici Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest and positive feedback regarding your stay at Villa Medici Hotel & Restaurant. It feels so good to learn that our colleagues have done their best to ensure your satisfaction. We are happy to hear that you are keen on gastronomy and you were satisfied with the meal and the service in our restaurants.
We hope to welcome you to Villa Medici again soon!

Sincerely,
Gabor Nagy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Veszprem
9.7 mi away
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
#1 of 19 in Balatonfured
718 reviews
0.1 mi away
Betekints Hotel
Betekints Hotel
#2 of 6 in Veszprem
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Oliva
Hotel Oliva
#3 of 6 in Veszprem
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gizella
Hotel Gizella
#5 of 6 in Veszprem
45 reviews
10.0 mi away
Silverine Lake Resort
Silverine Lake Resort
#2 of 19 in Balatonfured
200 reviews
14.9 mi away
Mala Garden Hotel
Mala Garden Hotel
#1 of 39 in Siofok
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Medici Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Medici Hotel

Property: Villa Medici Hotel
Address: Kittenberger Kalman utca 11, Veszprem 8200, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Veszprem County > Veszprem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Veszprem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Medici Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Villa Medici Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing