We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location and good price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old City Hotel
Ranked #43 of 94 Hotels in Bratislava
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
1,453 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 753 helpful votes
“Nice location and good price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here two nights on our quick trip to Bratislava. The hotel has a very good location in Michalska street. I would overall recommend it to young visitors for various reasons. Firstly, the hotel has no lift and you need to climb around seventy stairs before you reach your room - it's on a third floor of a building. It was no problem for us, but I might imagine someone older or physically impaired might see it differently. Also, it's in quite a lively neighbourhood so depending on where the windows of your room are oriented to, you might have more or less noise. Finally, the cheaper rooms have shared bathroom, but we only shared our bathroom and separate toilet with one other room and I never had to wait. Also, free Wifi in the reception area which we were able to catch in our room without a problem.

The staff at the reception is nice, the rooms have lovely decor. And the price was amazing, that was what closed the deal for us. Both room and bathroom were clean. So if you're young and don't want to spend that much money, this hotel is a very good option for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinde_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    60
    47
    19
    9
See reviews for
13
57
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

This was the perfect location, right in the old town!
Although we had read reviews saying it was noisy our particular room wasn't. We had a room in the loft so it was very very hot in the summer heat! They did provide fans which was fantastic.
There are a lot of stairs to the hotel and they don't take card.
The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and were happy to answer our many questions.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

One night spent in that hotel - enough for me. I was after 8 hours behind the wheel and everything I dreamed about was a gerat rest and cold beer. It is impossible to pay with credit card in that hotel, so I went to find some ATM - happens (I did not get a receipt - I was too tired to talk about it). The room had no ventilation and it was a little bit risky leaving open window and go outside. The window is situated near "balkony" (internall backyard with a roof - no fresh air) and everyone can jump in. There is no air condition, no surprise - info on the website. I closed the window and went outside for a while to see Bratislava by night. I was back at 11 p.m - sleeping? No way. On the same floor we had some students from Germany talking and shouting till 3 am (no one from hotel service appeared). Closing windwow was not an option - no air inside and temperature increasing. You can only imagine how great night it was. The next day I saw that my credit card was charged for the reservation (I paid in cash for room). After few days hotel gave it back. Stay away from that hotel if you do not want expierience similar "adventures".

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grzegorz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bratislava hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Overall:
Meh. Place was cheap, but the cons outweighed the value.

Pros:
The room was spacious and clean, and I suppose the hotel is centrally located (although appears to be above some sort of adult entertainment venue, unclear of what variety).

Cons:
Hotel doesn't have lifts, and even reception is on the 3rd floor. There was no airconditioning in our room, and we had shared bathrooms which was not clear to us at the time of booking the hotel. Staff did eventually find us a fan for the night. Also they don't accept credit cards, which can be a hassle.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashwin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Good hotel in the Old Town with small but comfortable and quiet rooms on the last floor of an old building and helpful staff. The only difficulty was to reach the hotel by taxi because it is in a pedestrian street.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage ask for a room which is not accessible by the small stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ileva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Beautiful room, very clean and nice decoration! We went for the extra comfort suite which was really lovely! It had everything we wanted and more for as little as 40 Euro a night!

Perfect location and we will return some time very soon. It is walking distance to a nice range of bars, restaurants and cafes. All that Bratislava has to offer is within the range of this nice little hotel! :)

Room Tip: Extra comfort suite was really great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

This place is great value for money--right in the centre of the old city, with spacious, airy rooms. My room had a shared bathroom in the corridor, which was kept very clean. The staff were helpful and friendly. There is a bit of street noise at night from the pedestrianised area below, but it's not too bad.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anzese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#17 of 94 in Bratislava
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Skaritz Hotel & Residence
#8 of 94 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Botel Marina
#42 of 94 in Bratislava
3.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Mesto
APLEND CITY Hotel Perugia
APLEND CITY Hotel Perugia
#57 of 94 in Bratislava
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Art Hotel William
#20 of 94 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Penzion Berg
#85 of 94 in Bratislava
3.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old City Hotel

Property: Old City Hotel
Address: Michalska 2 | 81102, Bratislava 811 01, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 94 Hotels in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Old City Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Old City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing