We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Falkensteiner quality (and a couple of hiccups) in Bratislava”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Falkensteiner Hotel Bratislava
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Let's start with the location, which is great itself, easy to get in and away, and near to everything you may want to do or see in Bratislava. Price for parking (18 euros/day) was, in my opinion, too high for Bratislava. The hotel is new, and in the usual nice and modern design typical of this chain. We stayed at other facilities, and it's good seeing the "family feeling" of those hotels. Room: not huge, but very functional and comfortable, apart of the bidet lacking (hey, an Italian company, which caters to Italians, why not having this useful piece of... furniture at all hotels?). Sleep quality good enough for me, but curtains are not enough, in my opinion, to ensure acceptable darkness on bright days. Shutters would be much better.
Even if not huge as other Aquapura facilities, the one available in Bratislava is good with sauna and steam bath, and ensures some great views of the Castle. A relaxing visit is highly recommended!
Breakfast was very good, many different things available, kudos also to the cooks of the buffet dinner, that we liked very much; cuisine is a usual "killer point" of Falkensteiner vs other hotels. Prices at the bar a bit on the high side, especially in a city where prices are not yet at the crazy levels we have in Northern Italy. The staff did a great job, very kind and attentive, notwithstanding a full house for Silvester day; even at breakfast, with children running around the restaurant, they looked in full control of the situation.

In a nutshell, a very recommendable hotel; if you want to visit Bratislava, this is a place you will be likely to enjoy.

Room Tip: Look for a room not on the main street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Achille C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2011

We were on a Danube cruise and ended up in Bratislava when our cruise line was unable to find room for the whole ship in Vienna after our boat could not traverse the low water levels.

Although staying here was a complete surprise, we were pleased by our experience here at the Falkensteiner. The hotel is decorated in a modern style. The lobby is a little smoky but welcoming. The old center of town can be accessed by an underground walkway under a main road.

The hotel room itself was comfortable and the bathroom was spacious.

The restaurant featured a good variety of pastries and warm prepared food.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYTravelcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Warm and welcoming hotel in centre of Bratislava. Reception staff very helpful and informative. Although hotel is on a busy road it was not noisy. Very convenient subway immediately outside the front door which takes you to opposite side of the road and straight into the Old Town. 5 minute walk to the main square.

Room Tip: Executive Lounge on 6th floor affords great views of the Old Town and the Castle. Beer and Prosecco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 08Stewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Nice hotel located under the castle, next to the old city centre. The rooms are comfortable, nice and clean with large bathroom. The hotel has a garage but the parking is not free for hotel guests – it's rather expensive but it is very convenient as you have direct access to the hotel.
All the rooms have wireless internet however the access is not free. The buffet breakfast with many different options is served in the restaurant – you can even prepare fresh juice on your own using different fruits.
The old city centre is across the road – the best option is to use the underground passage located directly in front of hotel. It should take you maximum of 5 minutes to reach the Old Town Hall or St. Martin’s Cathedral. The Castle is also very near. All in all it’s really god value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking tha main street might be a bit noisy but if you keep your windows closed you'l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KNellas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I'm delighted we chose this hotel. The staff could not have been more helpful and even researched details of the opera and nighlife for us, The rooms were very clean and had everything we needed (including a great coffee machine to help kick-start each day). Location is good, just a 5 minute walk from the tourist centre. Good price too. All in all, ideal!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottishTemplar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Just got back from a 3 night stay at the Falkensteiner, and absolutely no complaints about this hotel, it is clean and modern, and very close to the centre of Bratislava. The main square in the Old Town is only about 10 minutes walk away. There are bus stops right outside the hotel, and on the opposite side of the road, so you can get anywhere in the City very easily, including the main railway station and the airport.

Our room was fine, with flat screen tv at the end of the bed, and a nice big and modern bathroom. One weird thing about the bathroom is the small window in the corner that looks into the main bedroom, not really a problem with being overlooked, because you would have to walk right up to this window from the bedroom in order to see into the bathroom, but the bathroom had a (frosted) window to the outside, which meant that light comes through into the bedroom early morning, so making the bedroom black out curtains virtually useless, so not good for those wanting to sleep longer in a darkened room.

We did not use the bar or restaurant during our stay, and breakfast was not included in our very reasonable room rate, but it is not neccesary, there are plenty of eating and drinking options in Bratislava and most are good value (compared with Western Europe prices). The bar area and reception area both look very nice, and the reception staff are friendly and speak great English.

We had a look at the Spa on the top floor, but didnt actually use it, there are saunas, beds to chill out (with views directly to Bratislava Castle), and a gym with a few treadmills and some weights, everything up there looked very nice, and we will make sure we use it next time! Please be aware that you need to give Reception at least 30 minutes notice in order to use the Saunas.

Overall we were very happy with this hotel, and there is no reason to look elsewhere for accomodation next time we are in Bratislava.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AFCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

The hotel is great. I spent the last weekend there on a single room. It´s useful to pay extra 7.50 EUR and you get a room with windows to the yard and therefore you stay in the quiet environment. The room is clean, there is a good offer of TV programms, nice bathroom a well supplied minibar. I visited spa on Friday which is clean with two saunas. One of the best thing is a breakfast with wide buffet. It´s quite easy to get to the town centre from here. I definitely go back on the next visit of Bratislava.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoctorCube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 92 in Bratislava
1,752 reviews
Staré Mesto
Radisson Blu Carlton Hotel, Bratislava
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#20 of 92 in Bratislava
1,510 reviews
Staré Mesto
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Mercure Bratislava Centrum
#14 of 92 in Bratislava
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falkensteiner Hotel Bratislava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkensteiner Hotel Bratislava

Address: Pilarikova 5, Bratislava 811 03, Slovakia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Price Range: £61 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Falkensteiner Hotel Bratislava 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Room24 m², for 1-2 person, trendy and stylish room, with bath or shower and WC, high speed Internet access, telephone, writing desk, IP-TV, video on demand, radio, minibar, coffee/tea making facilities, hairdryer, individual adjustable air-conditioning, safe that is large enough to hold a laptop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Falkensteiner Hotel Bratislava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing