We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Hyde Park Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hyde Park Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Location is in the city center, 5 mins to all attractions. Igor helped a lot, and very nice man. Price is cheap and everything is okay . Cons: no hair drier, no breakfast, you have to make your bed yourself (sheets etc)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadullah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    59
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
43
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
504 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Honestly, my expectations were much lower than this hostel offers! Well, the word "hostel" itself makes you be prepared for minimal comfort... But my room in Hyde Park was not worse then the room in 3* hotel in Riga =) Seriously! The room was pretty spacious (about 18 square meters) with 2 beds, small wardrobe, big TV-set it even had kitchen area with kettle and stuff... The bathroom was huge! Well-equiped with good water pressure.
Wireless is available for free.
The location is also nice - 15 minutes walk down the walking street to the city center. Many caffes, restaurants and shops are around.
The owner was very polite and helpful!
The only thing I would add is opportunity to pay with credit cards, all the other stuff is well-done!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VasilyMalygin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I had the chance to spend one night in this hostel during my stopover in Bratislava, my feedback about this accommodation is almost positive.
The hostel is placed in the very city center, along the Obchodna street (one of the main avenue), so from this hostel you can easily reach all the main attractions of the city (as Stare Mesto old city, hrad castel and so on..); moreover, this hostel is easily reachable from the airport / main station, as you just need one public bus to get to the hostel.
When travelling, I used to spend my vacation in hostel as I appreciate int'l environment, relaxed and cheap accommodation, but I need to advice that at the end it is not a real hostel.
In fact, rooms are located on the upper floor of a building, but not living rooms or common rooms are provided; this place seems more a B&B than an hostel, as rooms are fully equipped with private large bathrooms, beds, tv and windows.
By the way, rooms are clean, confortable and quite; towels and blankets are provided, bathroom was perfectly in service and checkin was smooth and effective.
On the ground floor, hostel provides also an easy-going pub, where you can enjoy fresh meals in a fresh terrace.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I spent just one night in this hostel, in a double room with a friend of mine. We spent 18€ each, and the room was provided with tv, private WC, etc.; so you pay the price typical for a hostel but you can have more privacy and comfort, for sure.
The position is perfect, 5 minutes walking from city centre, in a very lively street.

Just 2 drawbacks:

- rooms are too much bright because Venetian blinds don't cover so well windows;

- the tram runs just below the main part of the hostel's room, it is quiet silent but for someones it could be a problem to sleep in the morning;

So, just try to go sleeping not too late in the night!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maximit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We had booked a three-bed-room and got a room with five beds, so the room was very spacious and clean. We had our own bathroom (the shower door didn´t work properly, but apart from that no complaints), the room had a fan, a kettle and some cups. The hostel is within walking distance from downtown Bratislava, so that was great, too. The price was reasonable as well; The only downside was that our room faced the street, and since it was a saturday night, it was pretty noisy all night long, so I couldn´t open the window to cool the room down a bit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatharinaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This hostel has private rooms, so that's a plus if you're travelling as a couple or with family. The room was very spacey and was pretty clean when we arrived. It has free wifi even in the room. The hostel is about 5 minutes to the centre, so you can walk everywhere. Igor, the owner, is a really nice person and super helpful, you'll love him. I find only two problems: first, the curtains let all the sunlight in, so it's pretty difficult to stay asleep past 8 or 9. Second, the price. Personally I think it was a little too much for what you get.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAnchester
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I stayed in this hostel from Friday 17th to Monday 20th August 2012. The hostel is 5 minutes along the main rd to the old town and is perfectly located with loads of fantastic and cheap bars around. The receptionist Igor was very helpfull. The hostel is very nice and bright.

Our room was a triple room with a double bed and two twin beds. The room was very big and had a great bathroom.

The room faced onto the main street with two massive windows where you could sit on the ledge and watch the world go by.

The hostel was fantastic. I have been all over Europe and this is one of the best hostels I have stayed in.

Perfect location and very cheap at £13 each per night. I would have paid £20 each per night for this.

I would give this 5/5 and definatly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilBWFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 92 in Bratislava
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#18 of 92 in Bratislava
1,446 reviews
Mercure Bratislava Centrum
#14 of 92 in Bratislava
1,537 reviews
Staré Mesto
Radisson Blu Carlton Hotel, Bratislava
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Hostel

Property: Hyde Park Hostel
Address: Obchodna 53, Bratislava 811 06, Slovakia (Formerly Crash Hostel)
Region: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hyde Park Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyde Park Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing