We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Property_DvB”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bratislava
Ranked #11 of 94 Hotels in Bratislava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Frankly, I hesitate to recommend this property…because once travelers become enamored the price will likely increase and I’ll have to compete for space.

A quick car ride from the main train station (and only about a twenty minute ride from the suburban station across the river; a ride that offers great views of the bridge and castle), this property is blatantly pristine. The hotel looks like a fairly new construction and contrasts with about half of the area structures. Some of the homes and buildings within walking distance are also new in appearance.

Check-in was quick and friendly. Nora, was very professional and polite, and seemed surprised that I made a few jokes. One was that the customer is always wrong, and she emphatically cited her training that the customer is always right. Hilton had apparently sent her for training in the states, and her English was impeccable and her comprehension of nuance and humor further demonstrated her intelligence and training. The three to five other staff members with whom I interacted were, if not equal, highly skilled, professional, and helpful.

One point that other properties could emulate is the lack of a hold on my card. Other hotels on this trip placed a 200 euro hold—which gets released about a week later, but is somewhat insulting and gratuitous these days. If you have my card information from the reservation, my address from my profile, and so forth, what purpose does the hold serve in 2014? If I trash the room or drink the mini-bar’s overpriced booze, this hold won’t cover it anyway. Thus, I paid the requisite taxes at checkout and nothing more.

Second, the room required the room key be inserted by the door in a panel to keep the power on in the room. This is very clever since wasted electricity from lights and television both costs the hotel money (cutting into profit margins unless rates are increased), and is environmentally conscious.

Aside from the clean facilities, up-to-date design, and convenient location, the hotel staff truly made this an exceptional hotel. Within walking distance there are two malls: one is more local and the other is comparable to modern western shopping center. There is also a grocery store with an abundance of provisions, including a cooking station that makes fresh delicious sandwiches. Additionally, the hockey stadium and numerous restaurants are within a ten minute walk of the hotel.

Spacious rooms have large flat screen televisions and two showers. The views are not spectacular, but the proximity to transport options, competent staff and large, clean room all make this an ideal property. With Vienna less than two hours away, you can stay here and still visit other major cities as well.

My only caution might be that if you are not a walker, you will probably take cabs to do most things.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Kaiser_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludmila T, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bratislava, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Dear Kaiser_D,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Bratislava.

It was pleasure for me to read your review and see that you remain satisfied with the services provided by our Team Members and hotel facilities.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel in the future.

Best Regards,

Ludmila and DoubleTree team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

I recently stayed for two nights at this hotel and had a pleasant stay. The front desk staff was very courteous but was not well staffed in the morning when everyone was checking out resulting in long lines. The hotel is also not walkable to restaurants or the Old Town area of town. I did not eat at the hotel and cannot comment on the food quality or service.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dcalianno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludmila T, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bratislava, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writing review about your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton hotel Bratislava.

It was a pleasure for me to learn that you had nice stay with us and found the staff friendly and well trained. Your comments regarding improper manning in the morning had been forwarded to our Front Office Manager for further consideration. Thank you for alerting us in this matter.

I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Ludmila and DoubleTree team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We did not know what to expect at a Doubletree Hilton in Bratislava, but my oh my were we very pleased with the room-- spacious, comfortable, and clean up to Hilton's high standards. The staff was very very helpful, their communication skills very good. The buffet breakfast was extensive- we enjoyed it and it was enough that we did not have to have lunch but just a snack during our day outings. The hotel is about a 20-25 minute drive from the train station and airport. And it is easy to figure out the public transportation to get to Devin Castle as well as the historic section. As a swimmer, the swimming pool was highly appreciated. Our only wish is that we could have stayed more than two days. Viva Doubletree Hilton Bratislava, Slovakia!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WayDesQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludmila T, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bratislava, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear WayDes Q.,

thank you very much for staying recently at the DoubleTree by Hilton Bratislava and for writing such a nice review about your stay.

It was a pleasure for me to read your praise; I will certainly share it with the rest of the team.

We are already looking forward to your returns, and in the meantime, sending you my kindest regards,

Ludmila and DoubleTree team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Well, good hotel, just a DoubleTree - simple Hilton. it is a bit aside of city center but just next to the big sport arena - I guess it was an idea of placing the hotel there. Except the arena there is nothing around. But - to be fair, if you can read the map - you know what you do and hotel itself is excellent. So, I rate the hotel assuming you understand where and why it is placed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawid Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludmila T, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bratislava, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Dawid Z.,

thank you for staying at our hotel and for sharing your thoughts with other travellers. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. I feel so honoured to read that we lived up to your expectations.

Foremost I am pleased that you enjoyed our facilities. Looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Ludmila and DoubleTree team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is located close to the airport and It just take a few minutes by taxi into the city center. Like most Hilton properties the hotel was very nice and very clean and had a wonderful staff. The hotel had a great gym. So overall it was a very good hotel that was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank gogaterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludmila T, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bratislava, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Gogaterz,

I’m happy to hear you had a good stay and that you found our hotel realy nice and clean . Thank you so much for your positive review and especially praising our team members.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again, soon.

Best regards,

Ludmila and DoubleTree team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Quite nicely impressed by this hotel, first time tried some days ago on a business trip. High standards of Hilton branded hotels can be found in this Doubletree hotel. Breakfast served in a spacious and spotless dining area, almost like a Hilton breakfast experience. Rooms are just the right size and furniture are made of quality wood. Relaxing bed with good mattress and pillows. Free Wi-Fi available everywhere, easy access and high speed Internet enabled, all in all a good experience. Hotel is in the vicinity of the big ice ring stadium and a shopping mall nearby could keep you busy for a whole day, if you're having the time for this. The city center can be reached in 5 minutes by taxi. The only downsize to mention about the hotel is being quite far from any other points of interest from Bratislava, not much else is in walking distance. Dining will be great if you try it for a couple of evenings in the hotel restaurant, the Italian specialties served here are high quality and at decent prices. For longer stays, you will definitely want to go downtown to choose from the various offers there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludmila T, Manažér pre oblasť vzťahov s hosťami at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bratislava, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Dear Duncan C,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay in DoubleTree by Hilton Bratislava.

It was indeed very nice to learn about your satisfaction with accomodation and services provided by our Team members.

I thank you again for taking the time to share your comments about our property, and I look forward to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely Yours,

Ludmila and DoubleTree team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Quite nicely impressed by this hotel, first time tried some days ago on a business trip. High standards of Hilton branded hotels can be found in this Doubletree hotel. Breakfast served in a spacious and spotless dining area, almost like a Hilton breakfast experience. Rooms are just the right size and furniture are made of quality wood. Relaxing bed with good mattress an pillows. Free Wi-Fi available everywhere, easy access and high speed Internet enabled, all in all a good experience. Hotel is in the vicinity of the big ice ring stadium and a shopping mall nearby could keep you busy for a whole day, if you're having the time for this. The city center can be reached in 5 minutes by taxi. The only downsize to mention about the hotel is being quite far from any other points of interest from Bratislava, not much else is in walking distance. Dining will be great if you try it for a couple of evenings in the hotel restaurant, the Italian specialties served here are high quality and at decent prices. For longer stays, you will definitely want to go downtown to choose from the various offers there.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the backyard are very quiet, and if on higher floors they'll give you a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludmila T, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bratislava, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Daniel S,

Thank you for leaving such a positive review. Your feedback is very important to us. I’m delighted to read that you found our Hotel a great place to stay at, with a detailed description about services and facilities.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Ludmila and DoubleTree team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#4 of 94 in Bratislava
1,874 reviews
NH Bratislava Gate One
#9 of 94 in Bratislava
789 reviews
Staré Mesto
Radisson Blu Carlton Hotel, Bratislava
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Mesto
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Staré Mesto
Crowne Plaza Bratislava
Crowne Plaza Bratislava
#12 of 94 in Bratislava
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bratislava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bratislava

Address: Trnavska cesta 27/A, Bratislava 831 04, Slovakia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 94 Hotels in Bratislava
Price Range: £77 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bratislava 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bratislava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing