We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short stay, but definitely recommend”
Review of Juraj's Hostel

Juraj's Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Juraj's Hostel
Bordeaux
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short stay, but definitely recommend”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Our time in Bratislava was unfortunately brief, but Juraj made us feel very welcome and comfortable; he met us at the train station (despite our protestations), settled us in, gave us a map and all the information we needed, and has great local knowledge. He was also very accommodating of young kids. The hostel is a bit quirky, but it's cheap and friendly, and has a great vibe. I would definitely recommend it and hope to stay again soon. It's not a flash hotel, but they are pretty much the same everywhere, whereas Juraj's is kinda unique.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    5
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
4
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Botkyrka, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Juraj's Hostel is, like people have said not the highest standard but it's cheap and the necesary stuff like bedlinnen, internet, kitchen, toilets and showers (and a Bratislava map) are included.
I also heard about a laundry-machine even if I didn't use it myself.
What really makes Juraj's place special in of course Juraj himself.
He is a very kind and generous man who gladly will help you our with all your Bratislava needs and he makes you feel very welcome at his place.
If I ever go to Bratislava again I will no doubt be staying at Juraj's.

oh, and the rabbits are soo cute!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakobTorneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2012

As a peripatetic English teacher here in Slovakia, I always stay here when I am working in Bratislava. It is comfortable, there are lots of kitchens, not just one shared with a million other guests and Juraj himself is very kind and knowledgeable. It is the nearest thing I have to a home out here. It's not as 'flash' or 'funky' as some hostels in Bratislava but it's in a perfect location to get everywhere you need to get to and Juraj's knowledge, not only of bratislava, but of everywhere in the region, is helpful and seemingly endless! The washing machine is free which is a godsend. If you want a party place this is not it but if you want a home from home to get a good night's sleep and then explore Bratislava this is the place. There are a variety of rooms from dorms to private. The internet is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cait64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Keep in mind this is a hostel, not a 5 star hotel. There isn't a pool or free breakfast or anything like that but he does have both private and common rooms, a kitchen and cute bunnies. But for those of you traveling on a budget and looking for something a little different, I'd suggest checking out Jurag's hostel. Jurag is a very nice and friendly man and will be more than welcoming and helpful. I arrived in Bratislava after only a few hours of sleep the night before and there was no response at the door despite having made a reservation. After giving up and lugging my suitcase around the city in the rain for over an hour, I eventually found Jurag's number. He was more than apologetic about the situation (he had put someone in charge who had moved the doorbell alarm and thus couldn't hear the bell) and even allowed me to stay in an even nicer room FOR FREE! He gave me a map of the city and even helped me find my train the next morning. I'd really suggest staying with him. Book and advance and let him know when you are coming though so there isn't any confusion.

Room Tip: I stayed upstairs in a room with three beds and a nice television. There were boys downstairs in a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwengetsglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
Penzion Donet
Penzion Donet
#21 of 66 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Staré Mesto
Downtown Backpackers Hostel
Downtown Backpackers Hostel
#19 of 66 in Bratislava
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Staré Mesto
Freddie next to Mercury
Freddie next to Mercury
#9 of 66 in Bratislava
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Mesto
Hostel Blues
Hostel Blues
#1 of 66 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Patio Hostel
#4 of 66 in Bratislava
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Staré Mesto
Hotel Matysak
Hotel Matysak
#11 of 66 in Bratislava
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juraj's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juraj's Hostel

Property: Juraj's Hostel
Address: Dobsinskeho 28, Bratislava, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Juraj's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing