We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Saffron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Saffron
Ranked #26 of 94 Hotels in Bratislava
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

This is a clean comfortable hotel opened early 2012. Good value for money. Decent breakfast with ample choice. About 10 minute walk from bus drop off point from airport ie railway station. It was not easily found as it is behind main street buildings but spotted it in the end. About 15 minute walk to old town. Close to Slovak Pub which was great. Would I stay here again - yes. If Wales draw Slovakia in the 2016 euro qualifiers I shall be looking here first.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank welshpeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    153
    60
    16
    4
See reviews for
45
97
20
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

We booked this room super last minute. We pulled into town at night and the parking/hotel is hard to find. (It's kind of tucked in between buildings and not lit up.) Everyone was very nice and helpful and their English was terrific. The room was VERY ikea style (but brand new) so its not the most sturdy, but the room gets dark and its very quiet. No complaints there. Breakfast was very thorough and there was plenty of hot coffee. Check out was easy and once again the counter girls were pleasant.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank valeriebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

This hotel was superb and we will be visiting again next year. very clean & tidy and very pleasant staff. Breakfast is very good and lots of choice. I liked having a bath as well as a shower in the bathroom.
The pub at the side of the hotel(not sure of name) sold good food that was well prepared and although not as cheap as some, It was excellent value.
Bratislava old town is beautiful and not very large, you can walk round it and up to the castle in a few hours.
We took a fast cat to Vienna and stayed there a few nights before returning to Bratislava for our flights home.The journey takes about 90mins and its very pleasant.

Room Tip: I think the room we were in was the same as the rest but ask for the rooms on fifth floor with a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juney25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oradea, Romania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We visited Bratislava in september 2013 as a couple for the weekend.
The room (deluxe) was very big, very clean and nice. And the big plus was the hotel price 69 euro a great price for the accomodation given.
Breakfast was very good and overall we had a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1DIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Fortunately, we got this hotel room, when one of the hotel did not meet our expectations. A couple of tram stops away from the city center. Very clean and relatively new hotel. Good-sized rooms, a spacious bathroom with shower and just awesome! Breakfast really rich. Helpful staff. If you go here by car, you can get a good place to park your car right outside the hotel. On a bed of special grade, very good! Lovely fluffy pillows!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kulski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Not luxurious by any means, but very good value for money. Plenty of little niggles but at about €60 a night you really cannot complain.NB!!
1. The TV does only have 3 English speaking channels and there is only so much CNN anyone can put up with
2. There is a shower head attached to the side of the bath but not a 'tall' clasp or shower curtain - this effecitvely means you either have to sit or kneel and self-shower (or stand and spray the whole bathroom)
3. Aircon works nicely
4. Breakfast is a good selection of cereals, fruits, cooked, yoghurts and eggs - eggs of every possible shape and description (boiled, fried, omlettes, scrambled, poached - eggs and more eggs). The local sausage is quite interesting.
5. Only about a 15-20 minute walk to the old town and close to a mini-supermarket for the essentials
6. Do not try the tea/coffee inroom - truly awful (and no milk)
7. There is a gym apparently - but couldn't make it as sprained ankle of the Bratislave pavements - be especially careful when it is dark, they are well-potholed!

Don't be put off. If you are looking for somewhere to have a good night sleep, nice breakfast and very reasonably priced this is the place.

The Acid-test - would I stay here again - without a doubt, just make sure they have a double room otherwise you're in a twin room (pushed together)

Room Tip: Make sure you confirm the room - I asked for a double and got a twin (not much use on your own)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave-Sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Mercure Bratislava Centrum
#13 of 94 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Skaritz Hotel & Residence
#8 of 94 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#18 of 94 in Bratislava
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Tatra Hotel
#36 of 94 in Bratislava
3.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Staré Mesto
Hotel Arcus
Hotel Arcus
#35 of 94 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saffron

Property: Hotel Saffron
Address: Radlinskeho 27, Bratislava 811 07, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 94 Hotels in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saffron 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Saffron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing