We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet hotel”
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #19 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
114 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet hotel”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Hotel Apollo is located 10-15 min walking from the city center. Bus station is just 5 min away. It is a nice hotel, old. Located in a queit neighborhood. Rooms are spacious. The bed is big. Big bathroom but not very modern. The sheets on the bed are very small and don`t cover the bed. Elevator is old and liten and dosen`t work all the time. Restaurant is big and breakfast great. A large variety of every ting. Staff are nice and helpfull.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fershtet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you for your nice and positive review. We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with services of our hotel; we are trying to do our best. We are very glad that you appreciate the atmosphere and nice employees, as well as the location, guest rooms and breakfast offer.
We already did several technical improvements with the main elevator, wich were planned fot this summer.
We wish you all the best; we are looking forward to your next visit in Apollo Hotel Bratislava.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    299
    108
    29
    14
See reviews for
123
195
35
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I would not like to give it an average but I also do not think is is a "very good".

The Hotel itself and most of the infrastructure is very good. The rooms are good quality, very clean and you will not have any complaints from this perspective.

Breakfast was excellent I must say, good variety, excellent eggs and bacon, good croissants and nice pancakes + fruits and other options.

The main issue, at least my room, was very noisy through the door, I could hear everybody talking in the hall and from 7:00 onward I heard the cleaning service in my floor. The other issue was in my view the bathroom shower which was quite small.

Location wise the Hotel is quite far (20 minutes walk minimum) from the historic center of Bratislava

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngutierrez1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear customer,
thank you very much for your opinion. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our services – cleanliness, breakfast selection and quality, overall infrastructure.
Regarding the noisy atmosphere and morning, we are really sorry that you had this experience. We have already spoken to our houskeeping departement and made several steps to improvement.
One more time, thank you for your review. We wish you good luck, and are looking forward to welcome you again at Apollo Hotel in the future.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Good hotel with nice staff and very good breakfast. We find free car park near the hotel . Listed as near old city center but is near the financial district . The old city is around 15 to 20 min a way (by foot ) . We had free wi fi

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Catalin1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear customer,
thank you very much for your nice review, we are happy to hear that you were satisfied with services of our hotel. We are very glad that you liked our rooms, as well as breakfast selection and employees.
We wish you all the best and are looking forward to your next visit in Apollo Hotel Bratislava.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
426 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

if you want to discover how hotel business was during the cold war, this is the place you have to go! Great experience. I guess receptionist was a army sergeant just a few days ago. Male sure you have your passport and credit card ready - if you don't want trouble. And don't go to the salt cave with three persons, when you only have reservation for two. I asked here before going there. Big story - but we are still alone inside! Same with the restaurant: you can book the "tourist menu" or the "de luxe menu". Only difference is, that you can choice with the more expensive one. So it was "pork or dear or fish". No choice for the "tourist". But a small tip helped and with the words "I dont like pork" - you suddenly had full choice. Funny place that restaurant - with more than one hundred animals on the walls! Good food and strange atmosphere, because a lot of business people with there girlfriends there.
Rooms are very modern, clean and comfortable. Internet offer was 60 € including breakfast. Which makes it really cheap. salt cave was included - but remind the sergeant!
Better service and it will be easy a very good.

Room Tip: in the summer you will have plenty of noise from the street. So better higher and at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear customer,
thank you very much that you have told us your experience. We would like to apologize for all inconveniences that have happened during your stay at our hotel. We have already spoken to several of our staff members. Your experience at the check-in process was absolutely unacceptable, this was like a bad dream to read your comment. We would like to assure you that this is not a standard of Apollo Hotel, we did several steps to avoid semilar mistaces in the future.
By telling us what has happened, you are giving us the chance to improve our services and work with our staff members. We appreciate this and would like to thank you.
We wish you all the best.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This hotel is situated in a great location for easy bus access to the airport and city centre. The staff are all very polite and always willing to help. The rooms are large, clean, light and comfortable. I had to leave early for the airport so they suggested a breakfast takeaway package which was fantastic and incredibly generous. An excellent stay, highly recommended!
My only criticism is that the duvet covers are a little rough, but the excellent climate controls in the room allowed for a blanketless comfy sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funkyfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you for your nice and positive review. We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with services and quality level of our hotel; we are trying to do our best. We honestly appreciate that you liked our employees, as well as hotel location with a good connectivity to downtown and airport.
We wish you all the best; we are looking forward to your next visit in Apollo Hotel Bratislava.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Old but renovated building hosts this nice hotel. It's clean with great rooms (the four bed suite is amazing) and excellent breakfast. The only disadvantage is that it's about 30 min walking from the center of the town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madvgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear customer,
thank you very much for your nice review, we are happy to hear that you were satisfied with services of our hotel. We are very glad that you and liked our Family rooms, as well as breakfast and cleanliness.
We wish you all the best and are looking forward to your next visit in Apollo Hotel Bratislava.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This hotel was excellent value, the room was clean , pleasantly furnished with a comfy bed, the price included free access to wi fi , a very nice buffet breakfast and the opportunity to chillax in the salt cave. The staff were helpful and friendly and there was information on buses to city centre readily available . I would certainly recommend stopping here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front overlooked the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for your nice review. It is always nice to hear that our customers are satisfied with services that we offer and with our employees work. We are also very happy that you appreciate our breakfast, free Wi-Fi, comfortable guest rooms and salt cave.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at Apollo Hotel in the future.
We wish you all the best, with kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 92 in Bratislava
1,589 reviews
Mercure Bratislava Centrum
#14 of 92 in Bratislava
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Bratislava Gate One
#6 of 92 in Bratislava
710 reviews
Staré Mesto
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Property: Apollo Hotel
Address: Dulovo namestie 1, Bratislava 821 08, Slovakia (Formerly Hotel Dukla)
Region: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bratislava
#19 Family Hotel in Bratislava
#19 Business Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well known traditional hotel with a friendly staff, located in the heart of Bratislava´s business and residential district. 20 minutes walk or 5 minute drive by public bus to the Old Town. 7 km to BTS and 45km to VIE Airport, 10 minute walk to the Main Bus Station, 3km to the Main Train Station, KHL Stadium walking distance (1km), in walking distance to the new Slovak National Theatre and to Eurovea or Central shopping centres.The Apollo hotel Bratislava (former Dukla) is easily accessible from all the major roads and transport connections and Bratislava’s newest bridge across the Danube River, the Apollo Bridge, will lead you directly to the hotel. Spacious guarded onsite parking.All of the hotel´s spacious guestrooms are air-conditioned and feature free: wifi/high speed internet, coffee & tea facilities, bottle of water, salt cave & fitness , LCD TV with free Premium channels.The award winning St. Hubert Restaurant is well known for its excellent venison and international cuisine. Restaurant offers good value menus at reasonable prices.Other hotel facilities include: Lobby bar with summer terrace, conference facilities, salt cave, fitness centre, finnish sauna, massage, free Wi-Fi within the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Bratislava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing