We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #21 of 93 Hotels in Bratislava
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I am considering this an average hotel because of the rude welcome one of the senior front desk staff gave us. She became helpful only after we protested and put our feet down. It is a bit expensive also. Hotel is a little far from the city center but there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel. Restaurant staff also was a mix of friendly and unfriendly staff. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you very much for telling us your opinion. We are very happy that you were satisfied with our hotel cleanliness. On the other hand, we are very sorry to hear that you were very unsatisfied with our employees. Most of our hotel guests really evaluate their professionalism and friendly approach and I am honestly sorry that you had different experience. We always train our emplyees not to bother our guests with their personal problems. They have no right to do this and it is also very unprofessional. We have added several communication trainings to improve this part of the service and avoid similar situations in the future.
We hope that in case you decide to stay with us in the future, your satisfaction will be on a higher level.
We wish you all the best.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 674 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

I was in Bratislava for 6 days and I think I chose the best hotel ...excellent for the price and also for the quality of all of the offered services and not in the last ,excellent breakfast included . Thank you !:)

Room Tip: room with balcony and city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you very much for your nice and possitive review. We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with all services of our hotel, accommodation and breakfast, as well as reception and restaurant staff.
We wish you all the best; we are looking forward to welcome you at Apollo Hotel during your next stay in Bratislava.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel is within walking distance of the city centre, clean and welcoming, bus stop right outside for those that don't want to walk. Good selection for breakfast cold buffet or hot buffet breakfast. Very helpful staff. Would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Try not to get one at the back as you hear the bin men in the mornings, albeit not every morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FAN686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are honestly happy that you were satisfied with our employees as our best value, as well as the quality of breakfast selection and cleaninless. We also appreciate your positive valuation of convenient location of the hotel.
We wish you all the best; we are looking forward to welcome you at Apollo Hotel Bratislava in the future.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Great breakfast with all the food possible,cosy and big rooms,nice little fitness,little sauna,ok dinner.location is ok,because it takes a 10minute walk to the old city centre.bus station is also in front of the hotel.nice,safe,but expensive parking.however,staff was a bit average ,especially a lady working in telhe breakfast lounge was very unkind.
but great price for what you get

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katak104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you very much for your nice review. We are very happy that you were satisfied with our services, value for the Money, hotel cleanliness, breakfast sellection and accommodation.
We wish you all the best; we are looking forward to your next visit in Apollo Hotel Bratislava.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed for just the one night for a stop over before flying back to UK. Asked for a room on upper floor which we got, tends to be less noisy up there. We were at the back of the hotel too and noise was not an issue. The room, 525, was spacious enough and equipped for our needs. The only real issue was the hot water which for some reason was much hotter through the sink taps than from bath/shower, not worth complaining about though. Wi-fi was adequate, sufficient for streaming with just the occasional buffering. Hotel was only a 20 minute stroll from both the Danube and the old town, and less than 5 minutes from the main bus station. We had all day to kill before our flight and the hotel stored our bags for us at no cost. Breakfast was taken in the huge first floor restaurant and there was plenty of choice. Minibar was a bit pricey but was useful for storing our shop-bought drinks. All in all a pleasant experience in a comfortable hotel, and we would certainly use again if in Bratislava.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel do not overlook main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincolnSquiggly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you very much for your nice review. We are very happy that you were satisfied with our employees and hotel cleanliness. We also appreciate your positive valuation of St. Hubert restaurant, breakfast selection, convenient location of the hotel and wi-fi.
We wish you all the best; we are looking forward to your next visit in Apollo Hotel Bratislava.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

In one word -great. The parking, the lobby, the room. Excellent breakfast, you can choose from ham, sausages, cheese, bakery....The internet was not very good. The panoramic elevator had very poor ventilation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spaled2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you for your nice review. We are honestly happy to hear that you were satisfied with our services; we are trying to do our best. We are very glad that you appreciate our accommodation and breakfast quality, as well as hotel parking and a lobby. We also have a new airconditioning in the hotel elevator.
We wish you all the best; we are looking forward to your next visit.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I was in this hotel with my family. Rooms are great, but I had a problem with wifi. Connection is not good in all parts of the room. I had to walk through the room to find a place to connect. Also, they give you one key card and you can't use the elevator without it. That was stupid because we couldn't separate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SonjaaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloHotelManager, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you for your review, it is always nice to hear that our customers are satisfied with services of our hotel. We appreciate that you liked our accommodation. We would like to apologize for all inconveniences connected with our wi-fi problem. Our provider did several improvements after the date of your check-out. We also offer more key cards to our guest, this was probably a communication misunderstanding on our side. Please accept our appologize.
One more time, thank you for giving us the chance for improvement
We are looking forward to welcome you again at Apollo Hotel in the future. We wish you all the best.
With kind regards,
Apollo Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Mercure Bratislava Centrum
#14 of 93 in Bratislava
1,652 reviews
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#20 of 93 in Bratislava
1,562 reviews
NH Bratislava Gate One
#7 of 93 in Bratislava
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 93 in Bratislava
1,849 reviews
Holiday Inn Bratislava
#31 of 93 in Bratislava
267 reviews
Hotel Bratislava
#34 of 93 in Bratislava
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Address: Dulovo namestie 1, Bratislava 821 08, Slovakia (Formerly Hotel Dukla)
Region: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Bratislava
#11 Family Hotel in Bratislava
#19 Business Hotel in Bratislava
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range: £44 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well known traditional hotel with a friendly staff, located in the heart of Bratislava´s business and residential district. 20 minutes walk or 5 minute drive by public bus to the Old Town. 7 km to BTS and 45km to VIE Airport, 10 minute walk to the Main Bus Station, 3km to the Main Train Station, KHL Stadium walking distance (1km), in walking distance to the new Slovak National Theatre and to Eurovea or Central shopping centres.The Apollo hotel Bratislava (former Dukla) is easily accessible from all the major roads and transport connections and Bratislava’s newest bridge across the Danube River, the Apollo Bridge, will lead you directly to the hotel. Spacious guarded onsite parking.All of the hotel´s spacious guestrooms are air-conditioned and feature free: wifi/high speed internet, coffee & tea facilities, bottle of water, salt cave & fitness , LCD TV with free Premium channels.The award winning St. Hubert Restaurant is well known for its excellent venison and international cuisine. Restaurant offers good value menus at reasonable prices.Other hotel facilities include: Lobby bar with summer terrace, conference facilities, salt cave, fitness centre, finnish sauna, massage, free Wi-Fi within the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Bratislava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing