We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from a 5-star experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Certificate of Excellence
LA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Far from a 5-star experience!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel one night only. During our short stay the staff proved to be very inflexible and down right condescending. God forbid you ask to look up a train schedule! Eyes are rolled as in "what else might you need that you have to defer me from my busy job as a receptionist!" When we asked for a possibility of a 1 hour late check out since it was pouring outside, the answer was "absolutely no!" Wow! Really? We sat in the lobby for an hour instead. Not a big deal, you would say. Sure. But it would not disrupt the hotel's operations to be just a little more accommodating.

The rooms are comfortable and clean, but are slightly stifling. Although it can be attributed to the style of the hotel. Mattresses are on a harder side and pillows are cheap and uncomfortable.

The breakfast is great and the restaurant staff are very good.

The hotel is about 10 min from the old city center, and about same distance from the river.

Overall, I will take a comfy mattress over the fancy cookies in the lobby as well as friendliness of the staff and flexibility of the policies over a fancy library. 3 stars at best.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spm68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaBratislava, Front Office Manager at Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay at Marrol's Hotel Bratislava. We appreciate if our customers leave feedback, either good or constructive, to inspire the team and continue our mission to provide professional and warm hospitality. I was delighted to read that you have enjoyed the cleanliness of the rooms, our breakfast buffet and the service of the restaurant staff. On the other hand, it concerned me to read that in several ways your experience at Marrol's did not live up to your expectations.

I understand that the main reason that caused your dissatisfaction was the situation with the check-out. While we strive to be as generous and accommodating towards our guests, unfortunately upon the time of your request we were unable to grant you a late check-out. Due to the high occupancy and pre-arranged allocation of charged late departures, your room had to be made available for the standard check-in time. In situations like this, we invite our guests to join us in the lobby where house-made cookies are available or, whenever the weather permits, enjoy the summer terrace with complimentary soft drinks. Please accept my apologies if this caused any inconvenience to you or you felt that the staff did not share this information with you in an appropriate manner. Your feedback has been shared with the team to reinforce our commitment to excellence and service that we usually pride ourselves upon.

We hope that you will not feel deterred from staying with us again and we will have the privilege of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Monika Slobodova
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,284
    227
    41
    10
    4
See reviews for
141
851
86
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I have chosen this hotel based on the Tripadvisor reviews. Being and experienced traveler I did not find this hotel to be 5*. There was not nothing specifically wrong, just the overall experience.
The bathroom is quite small and equipped with limited amenities. However, the location is excellent so is the breakfast. Hotel is very reasonably priced just needs more enthusiastic staff for one to feel welcome.

Room Tip: If your window faces street you might be disturbed by the street noise during night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaBratislava, Front Office Manager at Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Marrol's Hotel for your recent stay in Bratislava and the time you took to write a review of your experience.

I was pleased to read that you have enjoyed particularly the hotel location and out breakfast buffet, featuring the freshest local produce and quality we are proud to deliver to our guests.

On the other hand, your comments regarding the 'lack of enthusiasm' and 'atmosphere where one does not feel welcome' were duly noted and shared with the entire team. Our aim is to provide warm service with a touch of heart, where our returning guests can find their home away from home. I am truly sorry that on this occasion, we did not manage to make you feel this way and hope that we can restore your confidence in our hospitality in the future.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Monika Slobodova
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights whilst in Bratislava in June 2014.
Lovely style and service to match.
Small but perfectly made up rooms and en-suite that offered nicoe beds and great sleep quality.
Fabulous barman who really made our latenight nightcapa pleasure with info on the local area and some interesting anecdotes.
Highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stylish hotel, in particular the library/bar, good reception staff, comfortable beds covered with an array of pillows for every taste, free minibar filled with water, beer and snacks, complimentary bathrobes (something that I haven't had for a while, even in 5 stars hotels) good breakfast. 200 meters from the main square of Bratislava. Didn't manage to check the spa or the terrace, but even without them, you can't really ask for more

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guido C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night on my way from Budapest to Vienna. This is definitely the best hotel in Bratislava. The hotel was absolutely fantastic in all aspects from the service to the price. In a small city such as Bratislava it was surprising to find such a luxury boutique property. This couldn't compare to staying at another chain hotel like the Radisson Blu. The hotel is situated in a beautiful ornate building in the centre of the historic district close to the river Danube.

Location:
The location is fantastic. The hotel is located in the centre of the old town, the only location you would want to stay in. It is within walking distance from everything and it is only a few minutes walk from the Danube river dock from where you can take the hydrofoil straight into the heart of Vienna in no time.

Check-in:
Check-in was personal and friendly with a glass of Champagne provided and our bags taken to our room.

Design/Ambience:
The design and ambience of the hotel couldn't be better. The hotel is warm and personal. The lobby is very inviting and homely. The deign of the hotel is to a very high standard and is perfectly matched with the hotels old world building.

Room (Superior Double Room):
The rooms are very well appointed but are a bit small compared to other 5 star hotels. But this is understandable due to the old building and the room type I chose. The beds are very comfortable and the room was beautifully decorated. The rooms also have all the latest technology with a LCD TV and free Wi-Fi! It was also fantastic to have a complementary minibar.
The bathroom was very clean and luxurious with nice amenities.

Breakfast:
The free buffet breakfast was to a very high standard. The setting was beautiful and the selection was top-notch with great coffee.

This is definitely the best hotel experience you can have in Bratislava and Slovakia. Everything about the stay lived up to its reputation and with the very competitive prices you would be mad to miss such a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDeNicolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaBratislava, Front Office Manager at Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay at Marrol´s Boutique Hotel on TripAdvisor.com.

We appreciate that you call us “fantastic” and compare us to the best hotels in Bratislava and Slovakia.

We look forward to hopefully welcome you back soon again. Do let me know if I may personally assist with any future reservation at Marrol´s Boutique Hotel.
Kind regards
Monika Slobodova
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

If you are flying in to Bratislava ask the hotel to arrange taxi half the price. The girls on reception were very helpful with researching information on the computer. The free mini bar is a lovely bonus. Beds comfortable and clean also well stocked with essentials. Good choices for breakfast from cooked to cold and plenty of cereals and something sweet to finish. Lovely sheltered balcony area with complementary water in ice to cool down with. Porters were very attentive to all guests. Many thanks to all the staff for a lovely stay. Our stay was for a week and we took a trip it Vienna by train and then another to Budapest all with the help of the staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nuala d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaBratislava, Front Office Manager at Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Marrol´s Boutique hotel and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your getaway in our hotel and highlighted so many positive aspects of your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you next time.

Kind regards,
Monika Slobodova
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorton, Virginia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I spent six at this most excellent boutique hotel. I was particularly impressed by the breakfast spread. The room wasn't large by American standards, but quite comfortable. I liked the large overhead shower and the most comfortable bed. Can't forget the free minibar, it was great to have a free beer and bottled water every night. The hotel has a workout room that is small and cramped, but the essentials are there for a good weightlifting session and there is free bottled water. Service was top notch.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank throckmortonSanaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaBratislava, Front Office Manager at Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Marrol´s Boutique hotel and posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. The experience of our guests is of utmost value to us.
I was pleased to read that you have enjoyed the service provided by our staff. Your comments will be passed on to the entire team, who I am sure will treat it as a source of great motivation.
Wishing you a nice summer and looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Kind regards
Monika Slobodova
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Tulip House Boutique Hotel
#4 of 92 in Bratislava
608 reviews
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 92 in Bratislava
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Mesto
Radisson Blu Carlton Hotel, Bratislava
Hotel Devin
#10 of 92 in Bratislava
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava

Property: Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Address: Tobrucka 4, Bratislava 811 02, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bratislava
#1 Family Hotel in Bratislava
#1 Spa Hotel in Bratislava
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bratislava
#3 Business Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrol's Boutique Hotel is 5-star hotel located in Bratislava city centre, within a walking distance to the historical Old Town. Parking is available in the underground garage with monitored camera system, WiFi is free of charge throughout the hotel. All 54 air-conditioned rooms in Marrol's Boutique Hotel have been designed and equipped to offer the maximum comfort and create a perfect experience whether you are travelling for a business or leisure. Free of charge facilities include a coffee and a tea, a daily refilled minibar, a SMART TV with free international TV channels and a laptop size safety deposit box. The hotel restaurant HOUDINI offers rich buffet breakfast, lunch menu and a la carte menu. The lobby with a fireplace is an inviting place to relax in winter, whereas in summer you can unwind on the terrace. On arrival you will be welcomed with a free drink. Marrol's Hotel is within a 5-minute walk from the Old Town Hall, St. Martin's Cathedral and the Danube Quay. The Bratislava Castle is reachable within 1.5 km, the Michael's Tower is 900 m away and the St. Martins Cathedral is situated within 1 km. The Danube River bank is set 200 m away. The Presidential Palace is only 1.8 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrols Hotel Bratislava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing