We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have been perfect had there not had been an all night wedding reception on.”
Review of Hotel West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel West
Ranked #53 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Our one night stay here in may would have been perfect, staff lovely ( they let us use there computer as the guest one was broken), room clean and nice( had a small fridge with couple of drinks in which was handy), had a bath which was a bonus, nice free toiletries ,comfy bed with lovely soft pillows, great location in the forest with pretty walks, good breakfast......... All was so good until the evening, the peace and quiet got ruined a wedding reception was going on, don't get me wrong I don't mind any one enjoying themselves but the loud thumping music lasted all night till 6am! We complained a couple of times in the night but there was nothing the man behind reception could do, he asked them several times to turn it down. Found out when we got home that sometimes the Slovak weddings can go on all night so I think we were just unlucky. On the whole it is a lovely hotel, well worth the money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heavycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia M, Manager at Hotel West, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback. As the restaurant is separated (managed by different company) we always try to find compromise to not limit each other -this time it limited hotel guests so we already made some new contracts and agreement and I hope it will help to avoid this situation to repeat. I also appreciate that you told also positive sides of our Hotel. Best regards!. L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Hotel West
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

Great hotel for the cheapest value. Quite, cosy, friendly hotel in the middle of forest. Free parking. Ideal for travelling by car. The room was really very clean, big and comfortable. The breakfast was rather simple but you don t feel hungry after it. I definitly recommend this hotel to people travelling by car as the parking is free and if you have navigator you don t face any problem in finding the hotel.

Room Tip: You can book any room at the cheapest price as all rooms have forest view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatazhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

- nice, quiet and clean hotel located in the middle of the woods;
- only 10 minutes from city center by car;
- very helpful and friendly staff;
- very decent hotel restaurant is above Bratislava average (I recommend also to try nearby Schoppa Restaurant);

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario7906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia M, Manager at Hotel West, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Thank you very much for your time to write a review. I appreciate every review and especialy the positive ones make me feel happy because it reflects our work and motivate us to be better. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

on top of the moutain kamzik, in the middle of the forest but very nice hotel in west part of slovakia and 10 min from center of bratislava!
Thank you for the nice time in your hotel
Quiet hotel 10 minutes from city center by car. Great choice if you come to Bratislava by car. Very good value for money, considering extremelly high prices of Bratislava hotels. I like the possibility to take short walk in surrounding wood after all day spent at meetings but still beeing close to the city. Rooms are all right - means matching price. Breakfast slightly above Bratislava standards but still well below Vienna standards. Tip: If you don't have a car or are party animal, stay rather in some city center hotel - but than be ready to pay 50-80% more for the same quality.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FranzE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia M, Manager at Hotel West, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Dear client, thank you very much for your positive and objective view on our hotel. We will keep working on our services to have as much satisfied guests as possible. Lucia Mojzisova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I’d like introduce Lucia who is manager of Best Western Hotel West.

About 2 weeks before, my colleague and I visited to Best Western Hotel West in Bratislava.

At that time, we went to wrong Hotel which it was not the hotel we have booked. The wrong Hotel was located in the woods on the top of some mountain that we have to work with our baggage for about 20 minutes more after get off the bus.

Actually, when we were struggling to find our hotel asking for directions along the mountain trail, though mistaking wrong hotel for ours, we really had a hard time, but the surrounding scenery was magnificent.

We didn’t know that there were two hotels in Bratislava similar name with before we got the wrong hotel(Best Western Hotel West). The Hotel we have booked(Best Western Hotel Antareas) was located in the middle of the city. But the tourist information center guide have informed us the wrong hotel’s location without any comments of another hotel we have booked. Maybe she didn’t know another hotel similar name with.

So, we were really perplexed when she(Lucia) said that we arrived at the wrong hotel. However, she’s warm and beautiful smile and kind explanation, she’s kind deed of quenching our thirst, she’s warm-heartedness of giving us a ride to the bus stop, and she’s willingness to take pictures with us, though we were strangers… all these kindnesses that cannot be easily experienced in foreign countries made us deeply moved, and with this overwhelming impression, we came back home.

If I have a chance to travel around Bratislava in the future, I will definitely stay in Best Western Hotel West, so I can repay she’s kindness a little. She will remain as my unforgettable friend in my life.

So, I would suggest that everybody visit to Best Western Hotel West. If so, you can meet beautiful and warm-hearted woman who she is the Manager of Best Western Hotel West.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingdragonpilotmsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia M, Manager at Hotel West, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Thank you very much for such warm words! We try to do our best for all travelers - even they do not stay in our hotel :), I hope I see you soon in our hotel, Lucia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Quiet hotel 10 minutes from city center by car. Great choice if you come to Bratislava by car. Very good value for money, considering extremelly high prices of Bratislava hotels. I like the possibility to take short walk in surrounding wood after all day spent at meetings but still beeing close to the city.
Rooms are all right - means matching price. Breakfast slightly above Bratislava standards but still well below Vienna standards.
Tip: If you don't have a car or are party animal, stay rather in some city center hotel - but than be ready to pay 50-80% more for the same quality.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia M, Owner at Hotel West, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Thank you very much for your evaluation. I appreciate it because every respond help us to understand guest ´s needs and do our job better. Best regards Lucia M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

It was great hotel.I come back.Very quite,personal very hapefull.Hotel is only 10 minutes from city center.Internet +++!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Andrej P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia M, Manager at Hotel West, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

Dear guest, thank you very much for positive feedback.
We will keep working on our business.
Hope see you again in our family hotel!
Lucia Mojzisova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Hotel Set
#31 of 92 in Bratislava
123 reviews
Staré Mesto
Hotel Max Inn
Hotel Max Inn
#35 of 92 in Bratislava
51 reviews
Hotel Color
#44 of 92 in Bratislava
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#18 of 92 in Bratislava
1,498 reviews
Hotel Blue Garni
#28 of 92 in Bratislava
75 reviews
Baronka Hotel
#74 of 92 in Bratislava
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel West

Address: Koliba - Kamzik les | PO Box 29, Bratislava SK-833 29, Slovakia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel West)
Region: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Price Range: £45 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bratislava
Bratislava Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing