We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel”
Review of Hotel Devin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Devin
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
458 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“very good hotel”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with a small tour group. We had a large room on the second floor. The work area and wi-fi connections were very good. The toiletries were good but the only negative was the pillows which did not provide adequate neck or head support. The breakfasts were more than adequate with a decent variety of foods and breads. The coffee was good and so was the service. The location is a short walk to the old town and main square and you are very near the Danube and the New Bridge.
The hotel has a negative in that some of the steps in the lobby are not clearly marked.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikesflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    197
    32
    6
    3
See reviews for
68
190
36
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We spent two nights at the Devin early June. A pleasant surprise was to be upgraded to room 504, top floor overlooking the Danube. Wow, the room was about 30 square metres, plus separate toilet and washrooms. The large twin beds pushed together were very comfortable. Apparently this room is only about EUR 20 more than a double anyway, so ask for it! Wifi and hard-wired internet is free in the rooms.

If there is one criticism, and it is not the hotel’s fault, Bratislava trams have to be the world’s noisiest, so despite double glazing their rumble is audible. After a short while though we didn’t notice it, and they stop running after 11pm till about 5a m or so. We were offered a room overlooking the old city if we thought 504 too noisy but we felt we could easuily cope with the rumble and enjoy the river views plus the enormous space. Everything in the hotel is clean and modern, with acknowledgement to its past as well.

Breakfast is very good with a large variety of choices. We also had lunch in the restaurant and it was much better than in the tourist cafes for similar prices. The staff are all friendly, very attentive and helpful.

We intend returning to Bratislava next year and will definitely book into the Devin again. We simply couldn’t fault it.

Room Tip: Ask for 504, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobandDeirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great location overlooking the Danube and very close to old town.
Adequate breakfast
Nice room -easy to work in. Good wifi connection. Extremely clean and fresh.
Delayed check in caused by a mix up
Service adequately

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room overlooking the Danube
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I spent 4 nights , I expect Hotel Devin not 4 its almost 5 Stars .. You will find anything you need .. comfortable large room , stunning view form my room danube river and bratislava ufo , good breakfast , super Location , Easy check-in/out , cosy, bathroom i loved the shower box , Clean , helpful & friendly staff , very good WiFi and large Tv , great AC , close to kuwait embassy that's good for me ,

Because i chose the magnificent view i suffered the unbelievable tram annoying ..

Overall really Hotel Devin One of the best ..

Thanks Hotel Devin .

Kind regards

Room Tip: if you prefer a quiet room don't chose river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starbucks S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldevin, Manager at Hotel Devin, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your positive feedback! We are happy to hear that our everyday efforts are bringing satisfaction to our guests. Regarding the street noise - well we are located directly in the city centre which is connected with certain level of noise. For sensitive guests we have always an alternative - room facing the city centre are very quiet.

We will be happy to welcome you again!

Adriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hotel has been renovated a couple of years ago and the management and staff are working hard to make it a first class hotel. We had a very nice suite looking right out on the river - room was clean, bathroom beautifully appointed (though some features were better looking than functional), and my partner found the large bed a bit too firm. Breakfasts (included in room rate) were the best we had during our 2 week European trip, excellent quality, selection and service all in a very nice dining room. We also ate dinner in the hotel's restaurant and had an absolutely excellent meal, both in terms of the food quality and attentive service. Front desk staff were helpful and pleasant, all spoke English well. Only negative is the fact that the streetcars run right in front of the hotel and they are noisy, so be prepared for an early morning rumble if you are facing the river - that is the price for the nice view of the river and bridge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sitko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Lovely hotel and very friendly and helpful staff. Do not be put of when you first arrive the inside is so much better than the outside. Rooms lovely and comfortable and very clean and some lovely views. Went to restaurant but we were not that impressed but service was good. Bar is a lovely area to relax over a couple of drinks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
192 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was a very good choice, being only a couple of hundred meters from the Twin City boat terminal (from Vienna). It's also right in the edge of the old town so ideal for sightseeing. It's a bit far from the train station so a 5 euro taxi is necessary.

Our room was very modern, with excellent wi-fi and a large, comfortable bed. The only downside was the tram noise but this stopped around midnight so did not bother us. Excellent breakfasts, very helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stavros45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldevin, Manager at Hotel Devin, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your positive review. As the hotel is located directly in the city centre guests usually expect it will not be the most quiet place in Bratislava. We are trying to negotiate with the City Hall in order to change the tramlines. But this is the long-term process. On the other hand we have always alternative for people sensitive for noise - rooms to the city centre are very quiet!

We will be happy to welcome you again!

Adriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 92 in Bratislava
1,589 reviews
Staré Mesto
Radisson Blu Carlton Hotel, Bratislava
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tulip House Boutique Hotel
#4 of 92 in Bratislava
608 reviews
NH Bratislava Gate One
#6 of 92 in Bratislava
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Devin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Devin

Property: Hotel Devin
Address: Riechna 4, Bratislava 811 02, Slovakia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Bratislava
#7 Family Hotel in Bratislava
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bratislava
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bratislava
#12 Business Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Devin 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional hotel located in the historical centre of Bratislava offers the harmony of a pleasant atmosphere and the glamour of the past along with modern facilities and excellent services. Rooms and suites with an exclusive view of the Danube River and Bratislava Castle, an elegant French Restaurant, an intimate Spa Centre, traditional Thai massages and conference rooms for corporate and private events. You can experience all of this in a hotel with the true atmosphere of old Bratislava. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Devin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devin Hotel Bratislava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing