We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting stay in extraordinary place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Galeria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Galeria
Ranked #80 of 94 Hotels in Bratislava
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very interesting stay in extraordinary place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

This hootel is an extraordinary and crazy .It is in a quiet area, you can walk to the centre and its only 15 minutes.
The rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was typical continental
style but very nice and the staff were helpful.

The atmosphere was good, it was in an excellent location,
there was food available which was basic, affordable certainly all you needed
and it was CHEAP.

Thanks for the suggestions!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TarraBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    7
    16
    13
    9
See reviews for
6
10
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

We chose this hotel when we saw its picture from website, and its great location, as we travelled by train and this hotel is right behind railway station.

PROS: Very good location. 'Spirit' building design. Staff was very nice and kind, she provided us very good and accurate information about the city and public transport and others. Breakfast was good, with warm food. Peaceful place (maybe because of very few guests).

CONS: VERY OLD building and equipments, many things didn't function correctly, for instance, the toilet tank needed about 10 mins to fill up with great loud noice; water came out from the pipe but not from the shower nozzle, etc. VERY OLD towels, might be used since the hotel opened. No sheets but uncomfortable bed cover. Computer equipped in the room but OS was broken.

Fortunately we just stayed one night over there.

Not recommended to family travellers.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rk0440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bratislava hotels

jkkz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2009

Despite all what has been writen there, I think it is really interesting place to stay. This building, by my personal opinion, is so breathtaking, that I would recommended you, to try it. It is definitly no typical accommodation,so if you like something extra ordinary, it is something for you. All that comments, which are there, depends on more aspects.
Let me share with you some of my experiences.
I and my boyfriend were there in the end of April, this year. We both are deaf, so it makes some of complications. But staff on the reception was kind, friendly and helpful. Even the receptionist took us to the city and helped us with everything.
Isabella
Breakfast was made as like swedish tables and you really have choice to choose what you want- sweat or salt food, or both :)
Our room was clean, although there was maybe some defects, but as a whole think, does not matter.
To resume all I think this place is awesome.

Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank zuzula143l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2009

I stayed here last year after being shown their website
at the tourist office. "Oh it's not too far" they said.
right up a hill and through some dodgy looking
parts of town. The photos on the website must
be 10 years old. It's vile. totally and utterly VILE.
The breakfast was just sitting there uncovered
at 5pm to be served the next day. The check in
girl was on her first day and seemed terrified.
The room was dirty and stank of cigarette smoke.
I'd cycled 60 miles from Vienna and landed in this
place. Childrens bedding, and horrid beds. I got
bitten and could feel fleas jumping around. They
wanted 50 Euros. I said no way am I paying that
and paid half. DO NOT USE THIS DUMP!

The video plays fullscreen, resize and foward to
1m:20s and you'll get the tour. Note the minibar!

http://www.facebook.com/v/23831117123 - video

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kirkbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2008

Fairly dreary and uninspiring. A couple of the ladies at reception were very nice but everyone elso I encountered at this place was blank and indifferent. The breakfast was thoughtless, it made you wonder why they bothered. After two nights here I was relieved to vacate the place.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank serendipity07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nürnberg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2008

We (my boyfriend and me) stayed at Hotel Spirit over the New Years Eve 2007. We saw the pictures of the hotel on their website and were really looking forward for our stay. The hotel looks great and really interesting from the outside. We loved the playful and different look, but that was unfortunately the only really positive thing. Altogether our stay in that hotel was a big disappointment!
As others already mentioned it, it is more a hostel than a hotel, but I stayed in much cleaner hostels than that!
The common/breakfast room: It was full with pictures, painted probably by the owner (or manager or???). It is okay, if some pictures are around, but it looked so caotic and we did not know there to sit, without knock over one of these pictures.
Our room: It was a double room. Instead of a TV we had on that place a picture upside down! (not we needed one TV, but that was what we booked).The colourful walls were probably to distract from the stains due to water spotting. The ground was not even and the bed tables were shaking. Some of the lamps had no bulbs, the carpet looked like it was not vacuum-cleaned for ages. The bed linnen was very old with holes, but at least it looked somehow clean. The adjusted bathroom was just terrible, no window, no good ventilator, here as well everything seems a bit uneven, the bath tube looked old with stains...
Breakfast: It looked like all the food stayed open in that room for days. Coffee was only new brewed than the last rest was finished and that took ages... Everything looked dirty and because of the uneven floor or the tables, everything seem to fall down in the next moment....
Staff: Most of them gave us a unwelcome feeling and they were quite unfriendly and uninterested in us. They never greeted us than we came in the reception and their tone was more hostile than friendly. Only one girl was really lovely, helpful and very very nice. But she worked only for one day. She was also the only one, that could speak a good English, so we could communicate.
We were really disappointed! I do not recommend to stay in that hotel. The price was too much for that service and I really regret, that we did not move to a other place in that time.
The only thing that I can recommend: Have a look from the outside of the hotel! That is really worth a visit!

  • Liked — The look from the outside!
  • Disliked — That it was not clean!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rotekaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2007

This place should not be allowed to call itself a hotel!!!
The only positive things about this HOSTEL is the size of the double room we had and the short distance to the train station. The breakfast was terrible! The bread was at least one day old...

Not only the interior is not hotel-like, but also the service. In a hotel you get new towlels every day and also toalet-paper. We actually had to go down to the reception the second day to ask for toalet-paper ourselves.

We had planned to pay our stay by creditcard. When we reserved the room they wanted creditcard-details so of course we thought we could pay our stay by creditcard. But no, only cash...Fortunatelly we had euro that we were supposed to use on our next stop on our journey. I checked the homepage now. There is NO information about the only cash-policy...

Needless to say, we are NEVER staying there again...

  • Liked — Short distance to the train station
  • Disliked — Service, bed, food, information about payment
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Gurine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
Film Hotel
Film Hotel
#39 of 94 in Bratislava
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Old City Hotel
#43 of 94 in Bratislava
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Hotel West
#48 of 94 in Bratislava
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Blue Garni
#29 of 94 in Bratislava
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Hotel Astra
#66 of 94 in Bratislava
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Hotel Color
#41 of 94 in Bratislava
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galeria

Property: Hotel Galeria
Address: Vanchurova 1, Bratislava 831 01, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 94 Hotels in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Galeria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spirit Hotel Bratislava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing