We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shanty town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Freddie next to Mercury
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with my partner. Arrived at the hostel location is 5 min walk from the train station which was good for us as our bags are heavy. However the location it is in is very rough sex shops on every corner, graffiti everywhere and complete weirdos walking around its about 3km to the old town. When we walked in to the hostel it looked fairly decent we arrived there about 2pm we tried to check in however but was told our room was not ready and hadn't been cleaned and was asked to wait in the common room. We were told 20 mins to an hour. After an hour we went back to reception where the lady was outside having a fag (classy) with the cleaners we asked to check in she said 15 mins then changed her mind saying the rooms ready now. The room itself was pretty good it was more of an apartment had a private bathroom, kitchen, sofas, tv and a little attic bedroom + a balcony. The bed let it down as it was just a mattress on the floor and not many plugs worked. We also had alot of ants in the hallway/ bathroom. After we got settled we went down to reception and asked where the best place to get food was we got a short reply back. The staff here seem really uninterested and they do not give a s**t. We asked to rent a dvd player as it rained the whole time here and we cant understand solvak tv + being 2 girls we did not feel safe wondering the streets of this backwards place, however the dvd player had been stolen along with the xbox so old mr bean it was. The hot water was poor, we could only have 1/2 a shower as you had to wait for the water to warm up which took forever. The radiators didn't work either. I will not be returning to Bratislava and definitely not to Freddie next to mercury.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emz91_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for Freddie next to Mercury
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

I took my girlfriend to Bratislava because we like visiting small European cities and we were delighted to stay in this hostel. The room was spacious and clean with a private bathroom. If we had stayed longer we would probably even have used the equipped kitchen in the room, but we chose to try the local Slovak meals in restaurants - there are several breweries with excellent beer and food worth visiting, just ask the staff at the hostel reception. As for the reception, all of them were very nice and helpful. The old town is 10 minutes on foot and the walk was actually nice as we walked there through a park and around the palace of Slovak president which was a nice view. All in all it was a nice stay and we will want to stay in Freddie if we come to Bratislava again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a few unfortunate events at this hostel that made the stay unpleasant.

1. We booked a private double room and upon check-in was shown into a room that was already occupied. We were told it was the last double room so we were put in a private dorm room instead. We later learned there actually was a private double room available but the receptionist did not offer it to us.

2. We were locked out of the hostel when we tried returning around 7PM. The note on the door directed us to call the receptionists' cell phone, but as foreign travelers we did not have access to a cell phone. So we were left locked out of the hostel until finally another Polish couple came by and phoned the receptionist.

3. The shower stall drain was hopelessly clogged so water pooled in the stall and drained in a trickle. So our showers lasted only about 4 minutes before so much water pooled it was about to overflow.

The room was generally clean but it look they it could have used a little maintenance, in addition to the clogged showers, the faucets in our room were loose/broken.

However, the nighttime guy receptionist was very nice and helped us decipher the manual for the washing machine. Which is why I'm rating this hostel "2" instead of "1".

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alittlerice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We are in our 70s and made this reservation 2 months before arrival. We chose it because it is close to the train station and traveling with our luggage is difficult for any distance. When we arrived at Freddie next to Mercury about 4:30 pm we were told that in spite of the printed reservation we had from booking.com that they did not have a room for us but they had made another reservation for us in a hostel in the Centrum. At that point I almost lost it. I could not walk another step and I certainly did not want to accept a substitute lodging sight unseen and not part of booking.com

Finally we were given room number 1 with 4 beds on the first floor. The young woman who handled this was helpful and gracious and really wanted to help. I hope she did not get in trouble. We were reserved for 2 nights and she said someone was to be in room 1 the next night and that they would have to deal with it.

WE discovered the bathroom had a sewer smell in it. Did not report it so don't know if there was something that could be fixed easily or not..

There are no restaurants near. Not a problem if you are ready to walk or take the bus 5 or 10 min.

The bed was VERY comfortable. I suspect form the other high ratings that this is for the young back packing crowd. They love it so if you are from that group, listen to them. I speak for seniors who might like us be looking to save steps.

One of the pictures shows a TV in a room. Ours did not have one.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jroihl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I felt like at home at this hostel. The rooms were like a mini-home !! That was really great and the breakfast was good too. Just a little thing : there was not enough space in the living room to eat !!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fleur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Looking for a budget basic place to stay? This is brilliant, clean, modern and really friendly staff. Not very well sign posted but great lace to stay. About a 10-15min walk to the town centre which is completely manageable and right by the train station. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank pretty-in-pink11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I am not sure I would call it "luxury" but for a hostel, it was fantastic. We had a "family room" with a kitchenette, bathroom and foyer area. The room was large and well decorated. My only complaint about the room, was that the comforters and pillows were not very useful- very flat and not very warm. The house is amazing with two common rooms (one with fussball) and one with a TV that the kids loved. There was a washing machine and you could buy breakfast for 2.50 Euros which was good. The walk to the city was easy (about 15 minutes downhill). It was a bit difficult to find the hostel- the street itself was OK with the GPS, but the house itself wasn't well marked. Staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaHBonn_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Mercure Bratislava Centrum
#14 of 92 in Bratislava
1,587 reviews
Holiday Inn Bratislava
#30 of 92 in Bratislava
259 reviews
Hotel Color
#44 of 92 in Bratislava
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#18 of 92 in Bratislava
1,498 reviews
NH Bratislava Gate One
#8 of 92 in Bratislava
746 reviews
Patio Hostel
#4 of 69 in Bratislava
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freddie next to Mercury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freddie next to Mercury

Address: Jelenia 4, Bratislava 811 05, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Bratislava
Price Range: £10 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Freddie next to Mercury 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Freddie next to Mercury" is brand new and most comfortable hostel and apartments in Bratislava with unique feeling. Within many similar accommodation facilities, it exceeds others providing superior room standard and offering extra services for its guests.We provide 18 rooms with different capacities (2-bed and 4-bed apartments, female apartments, 6-bed dorms and 8-bed dorms). Each rooms has its own bathroom and toilet, kitchenette with basin, stove and minibar (fridge), kettle, TV and lockable cabinets. Rooms are also designed for long-term rent.To our guests, we offer our lounge and summer terrace where during main season (June – September) you can have fun here with great music, grilled specialties and excellent beer and wine.Must be services as free WIFI, laundry room, 24-hour reception desk are present for all guests. You can use for fair fee hostel parking lot or garage for motorcycles. Entry to hostel is secured with access cards that provide to our customers maximum safety. You can leave your valuables in the safety room with 24-hour surveillance. If you are interested, we can organize whole day program for you in order to experience the best the city can provide.The location is also fair – just 5-minute walk from main train station and 10-minute walk to historical centre of Bratislava. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Freddie next to Mercury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing