We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romance in poor conditions”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Botel Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Botel Marina
Ranked #41 of 94 Hotels in Bratislava
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romance in poor conditions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Good location and accessibility to the city center and the castle. From Indian food we are not excited, every day the same curry sauce. Breakfast was fine, great scrambled eggs and fresh bread. Staff was uncommunicative but otherwise nice. Rooms scruffy but we understand it's old boat. Anyway it can improve the quality of all services because price per night is in our view highly exaggerated.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnSu83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    99
    81
    42
    42
See reviews for
19
119
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We booked it because we liked the idea of staying on Danube. Too bad we hadn't checked the reviews. I still think the idea is perfect and unique but the result.... was dreadful. I have never seen such an unfriendly staff. Simply the way they were looking at us, as if we were intruders... Me and my bofriend booked this hotel months ago but we didn't get the room we requested anyway. The bathroom wasn't dirty, but for some reason it lacked the shower curtain. The aircon barely worked so our room was like a sauna. In general - don't go there. Even the idea of being close to the beautiful Danube didn't help.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amidala108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bratislava hotels

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Waterleeks, flies, nothing in the minibar, torn towels, hard beds and so much more... All we could do was laugh when we came. The location is good, easy access by car, but the hotel does not offer any area to park neither any good solution to the matter. The only reason for us to stay was because the room was prepaid and we were planning to rush to our new location the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hege A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

This hotel was booked as part of a tour to give us travellers a rest from hostels and to have some time in twin-share rooms, but this hotel was by far worse than any hostel I stayed in!! The rooms were dirty, the showers had hair left in the drain (and I know several people who had their bathrooms flooded because of this). On arrival, one couple had a light broken in their room, so the staff gave them a light bulb and expected them to change it. On the morning we were leaving, we went down for breakfast to discover about 3 bread rolls to feed 15 of us...not ideal!! When asked where the rest of the food was, the staff just shrugged and said there was none, then we got told they were about to head out to buy some eggs, but we were leaving in 20mins time. To top it off, when in the bar, a sewage pipe burst and drenched one of the guys in our group. Rather than apologising for the issue, they just kept insisting that the water was clean, when it clearly wasn't! Really not worth staying here, even for the novelty factor, because that soon wears off when the boat gets hit by massive logs and the whole thing shakes!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Dirty, smelly, broken shower, broken air con, broken tv, rude staff. I have stayed in 100's of hotels and hostels all over the world this could be the worst. Avoid this hotel!..................................................................

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cro1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

I booked here because it looked 'different' - and that was certainly the case.

The whole place felt dirty and looked like it needed a good clean. The location was a bit further away from the town centre than I'd expected, resulting in a 10 minute walk along the river bank through the mosquitoes to get to the hotel. The staff weren't particularly friendly or welcoming and I was unable to pay with a credit card which resulted in another walk into the town to get some cash out of an ATM. (There was no rush to do this, but it was an unwelcome walk back into the town centre)

The room was quite small (as expected) and had an unclean feel about the place. Air conditioning was non-existent although there was a noisy and ineffective cold air blower.

The bar was shut, but you could buy drinks from the restaurant - food and drink was ok and relatively cheap, so no complains there. The staff were pretty surly and I had to keep going to find the waiter to order more drinks - only a minor complaint, but you got the feeling they viewed you as an irritant rather than a customer.

The biggest shock for me was the effect of other boats going past during the night - the botel is fixed to the bank by a number of metal supports, unfortunately every time another boat went past, the bow wave would cause the botel to rock and the supports to creak very loudly. This resulted in loud noises and items dropping to the floor a couple of times during the night.

I'm not sure if the room was full of mosquitoes or it was the effect of walking along side the river on a warm evening in July, but I ended up covered in numerous bites.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watty2263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We booked this hotel on a boat on the Danube river close to the centre of Bratislava. We loved the idea and also for the price as it was only 35.00 euros for 2 of us including breakfast. All went well with the check in and soon we were in our small room (as you'd expect on a boat), we had lots of bags as we were on bikes and we managed to find somewhere for all of them. We were even able to lock the bikes safely to the side of the boat.
The breakfast was good for the price with a good selection of cereals, ham, cheese, tea, coffee and yogurts.
Where we had the problems was with the cleanliness, in the shower unit the was mould, the windows looked liked they were never cleaned throughout the whole boat, the sheets in the bed had holes in them. The ware for the breakfast was not too clean and the tables hadn't seen much water.
The staff weren't too friendly either and were happy to ignore us most if not all the time.
I think we have spent our last night in this Botel.

Room Tip: Keep in mind the room are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChamonixAccomodation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
Botel Gracia
Botel Gracia
#31 of 94 in Bratislava
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Old City Hotel
#42 of 94 in Bratislava
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#17 of 94 in Bratislava
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penzion Berg
#85 of 94 in Bratislava
3.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Mercure Bratislava Centrum
#13 of 94 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Hotel Bratislava
#33 of 94 in Bratislava
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botel Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel Marina

Property: Botel Marina
Address: Nabrezie arm gen L Svobodu, Bratislava 811 02, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 94 Hotels in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Botel Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished botel with a restaurant located directly on the Danube river. Just a short walk from the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Botel Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botel Marina Bratislava
Botel Marina Hotel Bratislava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing