We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Amusing and Memorable Breakfast Scene”
Review of Botel Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Botel Marina
Ranked #43 of 93 Hotels in Bratislava
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The room was ok, the service was poor, but the scene at breakfast was really funny and memorable!

The breakfast is included. When we arrived there, there was virtually no food. We took a few pieces of bread to have with the 2 plastic packages of jam left, and then waited a little. No more food appeared. So then my partner asked one of the staff nearby if there would be any more food coming. They sort of smirked and said maybe, but they couldn't do anything about it. They said, "Only the boss can get the food." I guess that's why they were smirking - this scene probably plays out most days. So she grinned and asked them to ask the boss for more food. They did and then from our seats in the restaurant, we saw the boss briskly leave the boat and head toward the city centre. Within 10 minutes, we saw him whisk back up the boat ramp with a partially-filled plastic bag of food. A few minutes later, he personally put out a small package of poor quality cheese and a small loaf of bread, and then refilled the milk jug. We took some of this food, as did others. Then some men in suits came into the restaurant; they saw the small amount of food there and then went to the boss and complained saying there was now almost nothing again, and there were no eggs or meat at all. Again from our seats, we saw the boss rush out of the boat toward the city centre and then back 10 minutes later with the expected plastic shopping bag, this time even less full. Five minutes later, the cold meat slices appeared, soon followed by some scrambled eggs. But the men in suits were already gone and the restaurant was almost empty. The boss scowled. The staff smirked. We laughed all day about it.

So despite the many other drawbacks that other reviewers have mentioned at length, we actually appreciated our time on this botel as we were able to witness such a scene. We still giggle about it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

Good location and accessibility to the city center and the castle. From Indian food we are not excited, every day the same curry sauce. Breakfast was fine, great scrambled eggs and fresh bread. Staff was uncommunicative but otherwise nice. Rooms scruffy but we understand it's old boat. Anyway it can improve the quality of all services because price per night is in our view highly exaggerated.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnSu83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We booked it because we liked the idea of staying on Danube. Too bad we hadn't checked the reviews. I still think the idea is perfect and unique but the result.... was dreadful. I have never seen such an unfriendly staff. Simply the way they were looking at us, as if we were intruders... Me and my bofriend booked this hotel months ago but we didn't get the room we requested anyway. The bathroom wasn't dirty, but for some reason it lacked the shower curtain. The aircon barely worked so our room was like a sauna. In general - don't go there. Even the idea of being close to the beautiful Danube didn't help.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amidala108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Waterleeks, flies, nothing in the minibar, torn towels, hard beds and so much more... All we could do was laugh when we came. The location is good, easy access by car, but the hotel does not offer any area to park neither any good solution to the matter. The only reason for us to stay was because the room was prepaid and we were planning to rush to our new location the next morning.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hege A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This hotel was booked as part of a tour to give us travellers a rest from hostels and to have some time in twin-share rooms, but this hotel was by far worse than any hostel I stayed in!! The rooms were dirty, the showers had hair left in the drain (and I know several people who had their bathrooms flooded because of this). On arrival, one couple had a light broken in their room, so the staff gave them a light bulb and expected them to change it. On the morning we were leaving, we went down for breakfast to discover about 3 bread rolls to feed 15 of us...not ideal!! When asked where the rest of the food was, the staff just shrugged and said there was none, then we got told they were about to head out to buy some eggs, but we were leaving in 20mins time. To top it off, when in the bar, a sewage pipe burst and drenched one of the guys in our group. Rather than apologising for the issue, they just kept insisting that the water was clean, when it clearly wasn't! Really not worth staying here, even for the novelty factor, because that soon wears off when the boat gets hit by massive logs and the whole thing shakes!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Dirty, smelly, broken shower, broken air con, broken tv, rude staff. I have stayed in 100's of hotels and hostels all over the world this could be the worst. Avoid this hotel!..................................................................

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cro1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I booked here because it looked 'different' - and that was certainly the case.

The whole place felt dirty and looked like it needed a good clean. The location was a bit further away from the town centre than I'd expected, resulting in a 10 minute walk along the river bank through the mosquitoes to get to the hotel. The staff weren't particularly friendly or welcoming and I was unable to pay with a credit card which resulted in another walk into the town to get some cash out of an ATM. (There was no rush to do this, but it was an unwelcome walk back into the town centre)

The room was quite small (as expected) and had an unclean feel about the place. Air conditioning was non-existent although there was a noisy and ineffective cold air blower.

The bar was shut, but you could buy drinks from the restaurant - food and drink was ok and relatively cheap, so no complains there. The staff were pretty surly and I had to keep going to find the waiter to order more drinks - only a minor complaint, but you got the feeling they viewed you as an irritant rather than a customer.

The biggest shock for me was the effect of other boats going past during the night - the botel is fixed to the bank by a number of metal supports, unfortunately every time another boat went past, the bow wave would cause the botel to rock and the supports to creak very loudly. This resulted in loud noises and items dropping to the floor a couple of times during the night.

I'm not sure if the room was full of mosquitoes or it was the effect of walking along side the river on a warm evening in July, but I ended up covered in numerous bites.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watty2263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
Botel Gracia
Botel Gracia
#35 of 93 in Bratislava
395 reviews
Hotel Remy
#65 of 93 in Bratislava
15 reviews
Hotel Color
#44 of 93 in Bratislava
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vienna House Easy Bratislava
#26 of 93 in Bratislava
292 reviews
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#20 of 93 in Bratislava
1,541 reviews
Old City Hotel
#58 of 93 in Bratislava
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botel Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel Marina

Address: Nabrezie arm gen L Svobodu, Bratislava 811 02, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range: £35 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Botel Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished botel with a restaurant located directly on the Danube river. Just a short walk from the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Botel Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botel Marina Bratislava
Botel Marina Hotel Bratislava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing