We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Downtown Backpackers Hostel
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
“Nice!”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I was there for only one night but it was great! Showers are modern and pretty clean, rooms are big. Staff is very nice and helpful. We had the best time there and we met some nice people too.
It's very close to the city center and it's only about 15 minutes from train station.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marija157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    43
    18
    9
    11
See reviews for
3
16
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I went for 2 nights to Bratislava on easter, almost everything was closed in the city center! It would have been a horrible experience if it weren´t for this hostel! I totally loved it! it´s very well located, wonderful atmosphere, extremely nice staff, absoultely delicious food and not expensive, I felt very comfortable there (I selpt in an 8 beds dorm), I don´t think I´ll ever go to Bratislava again but I wish all the hostels were like this one!!! I totally recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
1,353 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 540 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We spent 3 days staying just down the road from this hostel. We checked out the hostel restaurant on day 1 and ate there for the next 3 days. Even cancelled the 6 euros continental breakfast at our accommodation and came to the hostel restaurant for an excellent cooked breakfast (including hot drinks and strawberry juices, 3 eggs each, ham, toast, baked beans - still less than 12 euros.) Dinner was great - the salmon with saffron sauce and crispy roast spuds was superb for around 8 euros was excellent. Generally, don't be fooled that Bratislava will be inexpensive - around the old town is tourist trappy, over priced and under serviced - Panenska is about 10 minutes walk from the old town and well worth it for excellent food, friendly service, groovy music, cosy restaurant/bar and a nice laid back vibe.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JnVSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed for three nights in a studio. It was clean and comfortable with a kitchenette and shower room. The site is well managed and is decorated throughout with painted murals on the buildings. There was a good launderette, and also a TV lounge and Internet room that we did not use. There is a small children's playground and a beach five minutes walk away, making it an excellent base for a family holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chifevva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

At mid December (2012) we ,4 adults, visited Bartislava (Slovakia) it was nice and cold. We looked for a place to eat tring to avoid the regular tourist traps. it was noon time and we did want to spent a lot of money. We went out from the old town (Michael Gate) we looked around and we saw that a hostel near by has a resturant. we went in( few steps down) and discovered a nice cosy place. the food was good and hearty, a very nice choice of dishes and a very friendly service. We have enjoied our meal very much and the price as well! We were more then delighted. So if you look for a nice meal in a reasonable price this resturant (which was full of local people as well as tourists) is a good soultion

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights in the twin room with the balcony and garden view. The hostel is in a very central location right near the presidential palace - you can't get a much better location in the city really. The staff were friendly and helpful and the downstairs bar is small but very nice.
There is free WIFI and one laptop in the bar/reception area that anyone can use.
The room we stayed in was pretty much as expected and the balcony has a table with four chairs, not a particularly thick mattress with the beds but still very comfortable.
The showers are good power showers, there was always hot water and I only had to wait once during my stay for one to become free. However one of the two showers on the second floor had a broken lock but it wasn't a problem as the other one seemed to always be free. The common room has a piano, board games and a TV, people hang out there occasionally but its not busy. Oh and you get a free welcome drink and 10% discount in the bar which is a nice touch. Overall I would say it is a very clean, relaxed and pleasant place to stay and would stay again if going back to Bratislava.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllDayEveryDayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

I was in this hostel for 7 days and allready from the first day I felt like being home. The hostel is central situated near the presidential palace in the old town. I was in a 8 bedded room what was being occupied whole week. The walls, floors and sealing is old and without any good ventilation or isolation, so the first night I couldn't sleep because of the noise and even with windows wide open, without good fresh air! the next day the girl at yhe reception told me axactly were to go during the day and what are good places to go out in evening. She circled it this at a free map.

This is a badpackers hostel but for me as a individual traveller/tourist it was more than I expect in the first place.

You get with your reservation a free traditional, local drink (slibowitsch) & 10% discount on food/drinks.free entrance at disco bardancing and a free locker in the room.

Resume:
A good old hostel, friendly staff and helpfull service.

Recomment: yes!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nilsblom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 92 in Bratislava
1,646 reviews
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#18 of 92 in Bratislava
1,464 reviews
Skaritz Hotel & Residence
#8 of 92 in Bratislava
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Patio Hostel
#4 of 68 in Bratislava
538 reviews
Staré Mesto
Hostel Blues
Hostel Blues
#1 of 68 in Bratislava
531 reviews
Staré Mesto
Hostel Possonium
Hostel Possonium
#16 of 68 in Bratislava
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Backpackers Hostel

Property: Downtown Backpackers Hostel
Address: Panenska 31, Bratislava 811 03, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 68 Speciality Lodging in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Downtown Backpackers Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only real backpacker's hostel in our town offers you great atmosphere of historical building and assistance of friendly staff - travelers exactly as you are. They are here to help you with planning your trip around Bratislava, Slovakia or central European region. Our hostel is situated on the edge of the old town centre in walking distance to most of historical sights, clubs and bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Downtown Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing