We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and great location- but poor beds!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Downtown Backpackers Hostel
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“clean and great location- but poor beds!”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We arrived at downtown hostel easily, it's only 5/10 minute walk from the station in a straight line. The staff were friendly and we ordered a drink at the bar while they sorted out our reservation. At first we felt a bit forgotten but they soon sorted stuff out and gave us our key. We had a nice room which was themed based on the artist Mucha. the room was lovely and decorated well and a decent size, however the beds were awful!! It was like sleeping on a hard lump of wood!!

The building is a classic town building and is pretty run down. The bar/restaraunt, is something differnt though, it is lovely, warm and inviting serving excellent food.

Bratislava is very small and the hostel was in an ideal location. We didnt stay to use the shower facilities as we thought after a bad nights sleep, we would just move on, The toilets were clean and tidy. But all the communal areas are very dark and dim.

Ideal location however Very basic and no wifi, but did the job for one night. But as I said before the beds in the mucha room were like sleeping on rocks!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    42
    18
    7
    8
See reviews for
3
15
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I was in Bratislava 2 weeks ago with 8 friends.
After visited different website of hostel, read some opinions, I choose the Downtown Backpackers Hostel and my trip was a pleasure.
The dorm is cheap, clean and wide. (1 bed room, 1 painter, good idea)
The bathroom clean and warm.
The living very friendly (guitar, piano, games).
And the food and the drink are delicious and for good price.
Thank you to all the team.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenceBDLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
84 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

It's not bright; or modern; or hip; with hopping music or a WIFI hangout. Rather all the light bulbs are super dingy depressingly dim. The best shower is the one off the living room with piano. Hot water is easily available for bathing.

Even though DBP is above a bar restaurant, one is still able to sleep. There's a courtyard garden area for smoking which whiffs up through the windows at times. A welcome shot of brinjevec made from juniper berries is on the house. However their free clothes washer was broken.

Only bad feeling was charging me 16 euros per night after I made the effort to hike the half mile from the main train station. I stated that on a booking www it is only 14 and they still didn't offer that price. So they rather have a bad review on customer relations instead?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CafeConCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aabenraa, Denmark
Level Contributor
128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

There is nothing wrong with the hostel. The rooms are big and spacy. Lots of toilets and showers. Big kithen and commonarea..
Its the staff. So rude and unfriendly! Some of them would even smoke weed in the garden, doing their shift!!! One night they asked us to leave the garden at 12 pm, because it had to be quiet cause of the neighbours. Then afterwards all the staff would have a party in the garden, with loud music!! Dont bother coming to this place - we regreded not to have booked at Hostel Blues..
My girlfriend got sick - they would not even help us find an englishspeaking doctor. reception staff is mostly busy with facebook. Terrible!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrederikBertelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

We liked the style of the hostel and it was very different to the others we stayed at.

Our arrival receptionist was not the most helpful and we had to change rooms because of a group of boys doing drugs (we were moved but nothing done about the drugs).

Showers were awesome and the bar was nice with a good seated bit outside.

Walls very thin and beds creaky but not far from station and centre.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMJREURO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Hostel was in a great location, ten minutes walk from everything. The area was fairly quiet and the staff was nice. The wooden beds felt like they were going to break in half any second but that was the only downfall of the place. Nice looking restaurant downstairs but we never tried it out. And we got a welcome shot!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilliangio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I was there for only one night but it was great! Showers are modern and pretty clean, rooms are big. Staff is very nice and helpful. We had the best time there and we met some nice people too.
It's very close to the city center and it's only about 15 minutes from train station.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marija157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 94 in Bratislava
1,520 reviews
Staré Mesto
Radisson Blu Carlton Hotel, Bratislava
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#17 of 94 in Bratislava
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Mesto
Hostel Blues
Hostel Blues
#1 of 68 in Bratislava
504 reviews
Patio Hostel
#4 of 68 in Bratislava
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Backpackers Hostel

Property: Downtown Backpackers Hostel
Address: Panenska 31, Bratislava 811 03, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 68 Speciality Lodging in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Downtown Backpackers Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only real backpacker's hostel in our town offers you great atmosphere of historical building and assistance of friendly staff - travelers exactly as you are. They are here to help you with planning your trip around Bratislava, Slovakia or central European region. Our hostel is situated on the edge of the old town centre in walking distance to most of historical sights, clubs and bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Downtown Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing