We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Downtown Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
President Hotel(Bratislava)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tatra Hotel(Bratislava)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Michalsk Br na(Bratislava)
View Hotel
Arcadia Hotel(Bratislava)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
43
44
19
10
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
44
19
10
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamous artistsvan goghcommon roombeds were comfortablebed dormfirst floorpresidential palacetram stationnice staybeerheating
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Welcomed by free shots of alcohol and very friendly receptionists/bartenders. Hostel is also a bar with good food at better prices! The rooms are named after various famous artists and have individual characteristics to match! Pleasantly surprised and will return!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazmin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I've stayed in various hostels over the world and this has to be one of the best I have encountered. We were in a ten bed dorm called the Warhol room, with Andy Warhol art on the walls and bright colours. It was clean, the beds were comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was very tasty and reasonable.

It was easy to get to from the main train station and in a great location, very close to the historic old town. Great choice for someone on a budget

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jojo672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

MUST STAY!! I have travelled to over 40 countries and this was truly an excellent place to stay!
Wonderfully friendly and helpful staff members (especially Veronika)! Good location and excellent value for money. In a city of this size location is not so much of an issue but this is centrally located nonetheless.

The rooms as spacious and secure - if possible ask for beds 9 and 10 in the 10 bed mixed dorm "Warhol room" as this is virtually a private room for the same price.

The hostel has a great bar (and bar keeper) with a lively atmosphere (a mix of lovely local Slovakian people and backpackers), the kitchen has a fairly priced and diverse menu, the beer is cheap and music is great! We stayed in the 10 person mixed dormitory on the 2nd level

We had an all night (and morning) sing-along in the basement with a vibrant mix of locals and backpackers from around the world!

This is both a place where you can party but also have quiet in rooms and relax without being disturbed, A truly excellent experience in all aspects.

Room Tip: Beds 9 and 10 in the 10 bed mixed dorm "Warhol" - like having a private room enclosed within the dorm room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jakobvandewiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

+ very good access from the railway station and only 5min to walk from the city center
+ clean rooms and facilities
+ nice staff
+ hostel restaurant with good food and discount for guests

- beds could be more comfortable

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We arrived at downtown hostel easily, it's only 5/10 minute walk from the station in a straight line. The staff were friendly and we ordered a drink at the bar while they sorted out our reservation. At first we felt a bit forgotten but they soon sorted stuff out and gave us our key. We had a nice room which was themed based on the artist Mucha. the room was lovely and decorated well and a decent size, however the beds were awful!! It was like sleeping on a hard lump of wood!!

The building is a classic town building and is pretty run down. The bar/restaraunt, is something differnt though, it is lovely, warm and inviting serving excellent food.

Bratislava is very small and the hostel was in an ideal location. We didnt stay to use the shower facilities as we thought after a bad nights sleep, we would just move on, The toilets were clean and tidy. But all the communal areas are very dark and dim.

Ideal location however Very basic and no wifi, but did the job for one night. But as I said before the beds in the mucha room were like sleeping on rocks!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews