We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stop”
Review of Film Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Film Hotel
Ranked #43 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Reviewed 9 May 2012

New guy at reception couldn't have been more helpful. Stayed in room 2 (brigitte bardot). Good size room, nothing about the place was particularly bad or particularly brilliant. We were only staying one night on the way back from Eastern Slovakia so as a place to lay our heads it was pretty good. Lack of shower curtains was a bit weird, but otherwise bathroom clean and decent. We were gone early so I couldn't rate the breakfast. Again, they were helpful in the morning and sorted out a taxi to the airport for us (€13 , not too bad) really quickly. Wifi worked fine. I don't know if It's the kind of place for a long stay, but it did the job for our needs. Two major positives about the place were the location (stone's throw from the old city & all the good spots) and the price. Got a very good deal of €70 for 3 people, although I think it's usually a bit more than that. All in all, not amazing but not bad at all.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Film Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and our room was not cleaned once.
We just about had enough toilet paper to last the visit, and luckily always hang our towels up to dry. We had to take the bags of rubbish we accumulated out ourselves to the street.
We stayed in Room 2 (Brigitte Bardot) and it was fine - there are actually 2 bedrooms which we had'nt realised, one with a single bed in it. The double bed was good quality, no complaints there.
There was a TV but no channels in English plus it made a vibrating noise when turned on which was pretty irritating. There were 2 fridges but one didn't work - but there was no sign or anything to let you know so we had to throw out the small food items we put in there on the first night.
The bathroom, as others have mentioned, had no shower curtain - and also had no way to hang the shower up, you had to hold it by hand. This was really bad. Actually to avoid destroying the entire bathroom you had to sit down in the bath and shower yourself. Not so good for my 6'2 husband.
The breakfast was included with the room but it wasn't great - tea/coffee, 2 slices of toast, 2 slices of cheese and 1 of horrible fake ham, some butter and jam. Also people are smoking as breakfast is served in the bar and there is no non-smoking area. The bar was expensive and they had no beer on tap. The staff were pleasant no complaints there.
The location is great very central - but also very noisy at night, plus the tram noises start at 4.30am. The wireless internet was perfect altho my husband did have to go and reset it one night! Also there are no staff there at night from about 11pm, so do not lose your keys or you are on the streets for the night!
Overall I would not recommend the hotel. But then again I wouldn't really recommend Bratislava as a destination either...

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2008

You know, I'm always skeptical of reviews with one star, because it seems mostly that folks take one thing and blow it out of proportion, that's why this has 2 stars, even though there isn't much good I can say about the Film Hotel.
Starting with the good: The hotel is relatively central, i.e. you can walk everywhere in old town, as it's a small old town surrounded by a not very interesting belt of high-rises from the Soviet era. It's small, i.e. less same-old same-old. The entrance is welcoming.
As you head up the creaky narrow dark winding staircase the foreboding begins. The room is relatively large shows sign of wear, is sparsely furnished, but has a modern tiled bathroom with bathtub, but unfortunately no shower curtain. It was a nice day when we arrived, about 20C in temperature, but the room was really hot and stuffy. We thought: "hey, no problem we put on the big airconditioning unit when we get home tonight."
That night we came home to find that not only was it even hotter in our room, but also it smelled like old french fry oil. Apparently the bathroom fan is directly connected to the kitchen of the restaurant. Horrible. The air conditioning unit of course didn't manage to cool down the room (a problem we heard from the two other couples that we knew and staid in the hotel as well) and so it was a noisy, hot, smelly night. We tried to change rooms, but the hotel was fully booked and so we checked out and I have to admit that the front desk staff was correct in the way they handled the situation. They knew the smell issue (apparently our room is the only one that has it, Room 5: Julia Roberts), gave a 10% discount on the room and no cancellation fee. By luck we found and and stayed for Euro 30 more at the Michalska Brana hotel the next night, which was fabulous.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RioFan26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2007

The Film Hotel is a very nice little hotel in a great location in Bratislava's centre. Though it doesn't offer anything fancy in terms of perks, it is totally functional and is an amazing value. I stayed on the top floor with the shared bathroom. Sharing posed no problem and the bathroom was nice (though the toilet would be very difficult for people taller than 6 ft), but the couple sharing the floor with me smoked excessively in the hallway and I couldn't keep the smell out of my room.

The good: Location, cost, breakfast, cleanliness.

The bad: Unfriendly staff (English/Slovak speaking and rude in both languages).

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank cjjasko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2007

Stayed in the Film for one night and it was sufficient. Service was reasonable and the room was decent.

However, don't expect anything fancy. No internet, no round-the-clock room service, basically, no fancy add-ons, but a solid middle-tier Eastern European hotel.

Stayed: December 2006
6  Thank superstardj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2006

Well it seems our American cousins would have been happier in a bland anonymous corporate hotel!

I stayed 2 nights recently in this hotel and found it to be excellent. I will stay there again if I visit Bratislava.

It is a quite small hotel refurbished to a good standard. The staff were all friendly, the rooms were clean with excellent bathrooms and there was an good bar.

The hotel provides excellent value for money as it is about half the price of the big chains. If you book a superior room I think they have lounges.

As fir the theme aspect I was pleased this wasn't over the top. Perhaps our American reviewer wanted a Las Vegas style hotel!

As for paying in cash we were made aware when we checked in. There are plenty of cash machines close so this shouldn't be a problem.

The location is good right on the edge of the old town (next to the Crown Plaza I think).

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank philAt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2006

April of 2006 we stayed at The Film Hotel in Bratislava. From the moment we stepped up to the front desk we were treated terribly. The front desk clerk did not look up from her book for at least 5 minutes when we were standing there saying hello to her. When she finally looked up she said"Yeah" to us. We gave her our reservation confirmation and she barely handed the keys to us. We asked about internet hook-ups and she said she did not know of any internet even though we found out later there was a cafe 3 doors away.

The room was touted as The Brad Pit Room. There was one poster of Brad Pitt on the wall and nothing else.

When we left they told us they would not accept our credit card so we paid cash. We were never told this in advance. I would never stay at this hotel again. There was absolutely zero service and zero charm.

8  Thank gypsy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Old City Hotel
#56 of 92 in Bratislava
181 reviews
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#18 of 92 in Bratislava
1,498 reviews
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 92 in Bratislava
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Skaritz Hotel & Residence
#7 of 92 in Bratislava
600 reviews
Art Hotel William
#19 of 92 in Bratislava
389 reviews
Staré Mesto
APLEND CITY Hotel Michalska
APLEND CITY Hotel Michalska
#20 of 92 in Bratislava
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Film Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Film Hotel

Address: Vysoka 27, Bratislava 811 06, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Price Range: £47 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Film Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Film Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Film Hotel Bratislava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing