We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Film Hotel served its purpose and is past its expiration date”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Film Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Film Hotel
Ranked #43 of 94 Hotels in Bratislava
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Film Hotel served its purpose and is past its expiration date”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2008

You know, I'm always skeptical of reviews with one star, because it seems mostly that folks take one thing and blow it out of proportion, that's why this has 2 stars, even though there isn't much good I can say about the Film Hotel.
Starting with the good: The hotel is relatively central, i.e. you can walk everywhere in old town, as it's a small old town surrounded by a not very interesting belt of high-rises from the Soviet era. It's small, i.e. less same-old same-old. The entrance is welcoming.
As you head up the creaky narrow dark winding staircase the foreboding begins. The room is relatively large shows sign of wear, is sparsely furnished, but has a modern tiled bathroom with bathtub, but unfortunately no shower curtain. It was a nice day when we arrived, about 20C in temperature, but the room was really hot and stuffy. We thought: "hey, no problem we put on the big airconditioning unit when we get home tonight."
That night we came home to find that not only was it even hotter in our room, but also it smelled like old french fry oil. Apparently the bathroom fan is directly connected to the kitchen of the restaurant. Horrible. The air conditioning unit of course didn't manage to cool down the room (a problem we heard from the two other couples that we knew and staid in the hotel as well) and so it was a noisy, hot, smelly night. We tried to change rooms, but the hotel was fully booked and so we checked out and I have to admit that the front desk staff was correct in the way they handled the situation. They knew the smell issue (apparently our room is the only one that has it, Room 5: Julia Roberts), gave a 10% discount on the room and no cancellation fee. By luck we found and and stayed for Euro 30 more at the Michalska Brana hotel the next night, which was fabulous.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, bathroom
  • Disliked — smell, heat
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RioFan26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    65
    58
    16
    9
See reviews for
17
83
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2007

The Film Hotel is a very nice little hotel in a great location in Bratislava's centre. Though it doesn't offer anything fancy in terms of perks, it is totally functional and is an amazing value. I stayed on the top floor with the shared bathroom. Sharing posed no problem and the bathroom was nice (though the toilet would be very difficult for people taller than 6 ft), but the couple sharing the floor with me smoked excessively in the hallway and I couldn't keep the smell out of my room.

The good: Location, cost, breakfast, cleanliness.

The bad: Unfriendly staff (English/Slovak speaking and rude in both languages).

  • Liked — Location, cost
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank cjjasko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2007

Stayed in the Film for one night and it was sufficient. Service was reasonable and the room was decent.

However, don't expect anything fancy. No internet, no round-the-clock room service, basically, no fancy add-ons, but a solid middle-tier Eastern European hotel.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank superstardj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2006

Well it seems our American cousins would have been happier in a bland anonymous corporate hotel!

I stayed 2 nights recently in this hotel and found it to be excellent. I will stay there again if I visit Bratislava.

It is a quite small hotel refurbished to a good standard. The staff were all friendly, the rooms were clean with excellent bathrooms and there was an good bar.

The hotel provides excellent value for money as it is about half the price of the big chains. If you book a superior room I think they have lounges.

As fir the theme aspect I was pleased this wasn't over the top. Perhaps our American reviewer wanted a Las Vegas style hotel!

As for paying in cash we were made aware when we checked in. There are plenty of cash machines close so this shouldn't be a problem.

The location is good right on the edge of the old town (next to the Crown Plaza I think).

  • Liked — Ambience
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank philAt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2006

April of 2006 we stayed at The Film Hotel in Bratislava. From the moment we stepped up to the front desk we were treated terribly. The front desk clerk did not look up from her book for at least 5 minutes when we were standing there saying hello to her. When she finally looked up she said"Yeah" to us. We gave her our reservation confirmation and she barely handed the keys to us. We asked about internet hook-ups and she said she did not know of any internet even though we found out later there was a cafe 3 doors away.

The room was touted as The Brad Pit Room. There was one poster of Brad Pitt on the wall and nothing else.

When we left they told us they would not accept our credit card so we paid cash. We were never told this in advance. I would never stay at this hotel again. There was absolutely zero service and zero charm.

Helpful?
8 Thank gypsy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bratislava hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#17 of 94 in Bratislava
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Tatra Hotel
#36 of 94 in Bratislava
3.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Old City Hotel
#42 of 94 in Bratislava
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 94 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
Skaritz Hotel & Residence
#8 of 94 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Mercure Bratislava Centrum
#13 of 94 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Film Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Film Hotel

Property: Film Hotel
Address: Vysoka 27, Bratislava 811 06, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 94 Hotels in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Film Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Film Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Film Hotel Bratislava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing