We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Not Stay Here”
Review of Hotel Color

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Color
Ranked #39 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Would Not Stay Here”
Reviewed 25 August 2010

The location is quite awful unless you have a car to make a fast escape out of here. Unless you are here specifically to visit an office nearby, I'm not sure why anyone would stay here. Staff is unmotivated, which I don't mind, but the room was old, tired, and not clean. Found hair on the bed and towels. Bathroom was quite sparse. Bring slippers as you'll not want to walk on the carpet. Did not feel super safe in the hotel or nearby though it seemed quiet enough...just felt like a ghost town. Breakfast was ok. If you are here as a tourist, find another hotel closer to city center. If you are here for business, still find another hotel that's less depressing!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldldb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    56
    27
    10
    10
See reviews for
12
43
12
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galicia, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We stayed in this hotel for 2 days. As other reviewers have mentioned, it is convenient, close to the airport and there are trams right outside the hotel that take you to town in no time (and cheaply). The room was quite nice and it was cleaned every single day. We didn't find it noisy at all. So far so good.

The problem is the service you receive from the moment you set foot in the hotel. The treatment you get from the people at reception is horrendous. They were rude, unhelpful and unprofessional. Their English was very poor but that shouldn't be a barrier. You go to many places where they don't speak English but they make an effort to communicate. We got no help whatsoever when trying to figure out how to get to the train station or which trams to get at night. I've read a few of the reviews and other travellers shared this opinion, so I don't think we were just unlucky.

The quality of the breakfast was pretty poor, too.

And it is a pity, because it is a nice place to stay even if situated in an industrial area, but the rooms where quite nice. When it comes to hospitality, there is a lot they need to learn.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soneu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bratislava hotels

Bratislava
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2009

nice new hotel with good location no far from airport and easy access to city centre directly by Tram with cheap ticket /no expensive taxi/
free internet in hotel lobby, excellent buffet breakfast, large rooms, information about city, non stop lobby bar with draft beer !

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ib66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2009

Not bad at all. Decent rooms but had to have the window open as there was no air con. As we were on an industrial estate there was quite a bit of noise all night. Lots of locals loitering outside the front for some reason. Good job we were participating in a banger rally or we would have feared for our car ! great value though, I got a bit of a deal, worked out at 50 quid for 2 people including breakfast.

  • Liked — Decent rooms.
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subedei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2008

Booked Hotel Color for a cheap weekend away and it served its purpose. The hotel is about 10-15 minute drive from the airport and cost approx £10 taxi transfer from Bratislava airport. It is a bit out of the main centre but is on a main tram route so its not difficult to get into the city.

Check in was fine. The hotel is quite basic but clean and very modern. The rooms were great, with good sized bathroom and powerful shower.

Breakfasy was included in the price which ran from 7-10am. Breakfast is quite limited, there was cereal, bread for toast and bread rolls and jam. Sometimes soft cheese and usually ham and salami. With the hot brekfast there were fried eggs, small sausages and bacon bits. It seemed that they only cooked enough for the number of people that were staying and once this was gone there didnt seem to be any replenishment.. so a tip would be get up very early for your breakfast. There was coffee and the juice was like a powdered water. It is also self service.

If you are just going to Bratislava for a short stay , then the hotel color is fine for that purpose, its clean, very cheap to stay there and perfect for a weekend break.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ali242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Hotel Plus
#77 of 92 in Bratislava
25 reviews
Hotel Set
#31 of 92 in Bratislava
118 reviews
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#18 of 92 in Bratislava
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bratislava
#30 of 92 in Bratislava
163 reviews
Old City Hotel
#47 of 92 in Bratislava
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Color? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Color

Property: Hotel Color
Address: Pri starom myte 2, Bratislava 831 04, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Color 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Color is new renovated in bright colors. Offers 71 modern furnished rooms with internet acces, TV and it disposes of a parking area. Hotel restaurant offers Slovak and international food with nice wine selection. Our locations is just three kilometres away from M.R.Stefanika Airport is a great benefit for visitors arriving by plane. Also is a good location for people they would like to have a nice shoping in bigest Bratislava shoping centers like Avion, Poluscity center or Palace. The old town is only 7 kilometres away from the Hotel.We are constantly improving our services to make our clients satisfied and come back again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Color reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Color Hotel Bratislava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing