We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden away in the middle of the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Patio Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Patio Hostel
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hidden away in the middle of the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We loved our stay here. It's right in the middle of the attractions and yet is hidden away in a street to provide the necessary calm.
We stayed a four bed room and found it clean & comfortable.
There are computers in the common room - but the wi-fi works fairly well.
The staff were generous enough to advise us on going to slightly tricky places as well as nice Indian restaurants (yes we felt homesick at Bratislava).
Recommended for a stay with friends/backpackers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dipraj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    207
    107
    37
    17
See reviews for
20
89
106
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Cheap, safe, well located in the city centre, this hostel is exactly what is required for inter railers. Good helpful staff, walking distance from everything and a stone throws away from the train station. Beds are average but given the prices I was not expecting more.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rathbawnfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I spent a weekend at the Patio, which is centrally located in Bratislava as can be. I found some staff members to not want to be bothered about simple things to them, but important to their guests - like, lockers being faulty. That said, the hostel does what it says on the tin. Equally, I doubt there are many to choose from in Bratislava. Very clean, and spacious. Overall, an enjoyable stay. The first hostel I've been to where your laundry cleaning is FREE, which is a nice gesture. You can never have too many clean clothes!?

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Max0678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

The room was big, clean, bright and quiet. There's a small kitchen and a fridge that you can use. The hostel is in a very good position, near the city centre and not far away from the bus station. It also has a nice common room with computers at your disposal for free, and the staff is really friendly. Only cons: there's no wifi in the room, and in our floor there were just a toilet and a sink to be shared by all rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michela Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here. We paid for a 10 bed mixed dorm which was split into two rooms, so really our room was 6 beds, and on no night that we stayed was every bed taken, so it felt really private. Comfy beds, good shower pressure (and warm!), and friendly, helpful staff. The staff member at the downstairs attached bar isn't very hospitable so we just kept to the common area which was welcoming. No public transport needed whatsoever (except for when you must go to Devin castle!) due to the handy location. I highly recommend this place

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mellybourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

This is a big hostel in the city center with fair prices. Downstairs there's a bar with cheap drinks and at the checkin you get a welcome beer.

The checkin and checkout process wasvreally quick, the staff was nice.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Great location, furnitures are brand new, kind and helpfull service. There is also a parking (that's very important because in neighbourhood there is no place to leave a car). Instead of room numberes there are picutres on the doors and keys.

Room Tip: Room with bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kita_ula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 94 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#17 of 94 in Bratislava
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Mesto
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Staré Mesto
Hostel Blues
Hostel Blues
#1 of 68 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Staré Mesto
Freddie next to Mercury
Freddie next to Mercury
#9 of 68 in Bratislava
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patio Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patio Hostel

Property: Patio Hostel
Address: Shpitalska 35, Bratislava 811 08, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 68 Speciality Lodging in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Patio Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Patio Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing