We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well loocated at top of old town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of APLEND CITY Hotel Michalska

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
APLEND CITY Hotel Michalska
Ranked #24 of 94 Hotels in Bratislava
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Well loocated at top of old town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stopped here for one night on whistle-stop tour of Budapest, Bratislava and Vienna. Friendly reception, comfy room with good minibar and happy to discover breakfast was included in the price I paid. Nothing especially worthy of note but would have no problem coming back to this hotel if in Bratislava again, and would happily recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndySDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    95
    11
    3
    6
See reviews for
14
143
36
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
255 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

The hotel sits on a quiet cobblestone street close to old town. We parked at a garage about five minutes away. We had to drag our luggage across the cobblestones and up a small incline to get to the hotel but there is an elevator for easy access to the upper floors. The rooms are modern and sleek but comfortable. The bathroom is spacious and clean. The women at the front desk couldn't have been more patient and helpful - everyone speaks english beautifully. Breakfast was good with a nice variety of food. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyndi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Located on a pedestrian or walking street along the old town square .The hotel is an old building but well renovated.
Our room was clean and nice.
The reception personnel were very helpful.
Breakfast was simple and good.If I return to Bratislava defiantly I will not even consider any other hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jihad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

The hotel is located in the Old Town and the wall opposite the main door is covered in graffitti but don't be put off. The location is great for the city and the premises are great. Friendly reception staff. good rooms (which are doubleglazed for any sound problems and it has Air con) Breakfast basic but good. Nice garden at the rear. All in all a good choice.
Travel to Vienna is easy with the bus from Novy Most (centre-underneath bridge) for 12 euros return. Good and efficient. Bus station in Vienna is edge of town but right near easy to use and cheap Metro)
One recommended trip is Authenticslovakia.com. They took four of us around the city for over two hours visiting more 'out of the way places' from communist past. Nice young lad who was open to discussing anything about his countries culture, tradititions or lifestyle. They also arranged an airport transfer door to door in a nice Merc for 23 Euros for the four of us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
222 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I have absolutely no complaints about the hotel itself. The staff was friendly, spoke English and was very courteous and helpful. The hotel room was clean and comfortable with all the amenities you would expect and great security. The hotel location was right in the middle of the historical city center and as a tourist to Bratislava, the part that’s most interesting. But the location also created problems. There is no car access to this part of the city and the taxi driver had to drop me off a few blocks away. It was difficult to roll luggage on crowded cobble stone streets. The hotel is also right near all the restaurants and bars which were open and full of people until nearly 5 am. I could hear the music all night long. My hotel fee included a breakfast but breakfast wasn’t being served until 8 am, which didn’t help me since I had to check out at 7 to catch my train. The receptionist was nice enough to make me a cup of coffee. None of the nearby coffee shops, not even Starbucks were open for breakfast until 8 am either, which is not surprising since people didn’t leave bars until just a few hours before. I had a room on the 3rd floor, it was a great room with two very comfortable single beds. But the room is in a converted attic with a gabled roof. It’s a good thing that I’m petite in stature. Anyone above average height would only be able to walk in the middle of the room. Over all it was a great stay with a few buts.

Room Tip: If you're a tall person (above 5'8"), make sure you don't have a room on the 3rd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grlfrmnsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Hotel is nicely furnished, rooms are smaller but very nice, great bathrooms.
Great breakfast is served buffet style every morning.
Location is perfect for access to historical sites and restaurants, but there is no direct car access. You have to walk short distance to the hotel.
Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

My wife, one year old daughter and I stayed at the MB for one night in September of 2013.

Location: At first glance, the location is excellent as it is 50 feet from St. Michael's Gate and many shops and restaurants. The location is horrible when it comes time to sleep. The adjacent night clubs play very loud music well into the next morning. This made sleep very difficult. I suggest bringing ear plugs if sleep is a priority.

Room: The room was spacious, modern and very clean.

Service: The service was minimally helpful. E.g., I requested a late check out (1 hour) from two different people working at the front desk the day before check out to accommodate my daughter's nap the following morning. Both told me "no, this is impossible." I offered more money and asked about other options but the staff were unwilling to negotiate or offer suggestions. This was an unpleasant first.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CML_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Skaritz Hotel & Residence
#8 of 94 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Old City Hotel
#43 of 94 in Bratislava
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Arcadia Hotel
#15 of 94 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel William
#20 of 94 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Staré Mesto
APLEND CITY Hotel Perugia
APLEND CITY Hotel Perugia
#57 of 94 in Bratislava
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#17 of 94 in Bratislava
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APLEND CITY Hotel Michalska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APLEND CITY Hotel Michalska

Property: APLEND CITY Hotel Michalska
Address: Bastova 4, Bratislava 811 03, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — APLEND CITY Hotel Michalska 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Michalska Brana is located in a very quiet street of the pedestrian zone of the Old Town, Bastova Street 4. Bastova Street is considered to be the narrowest and most romantic street of Bratislava. Street itself tells many stories. It was built in 13th and 14th century and in medieval age and for centuries it used to be famous for being a home of the city hangman. His house was demolished and replaced with a new baroque building in the middle of 18th century right facing the property of our hotel. Hotel Michalska Brana is neighboring to majority of embassies and also therefore our location is very safe. All sights on hand - we are only a 1 minute walk to nearby Saint Michael’s Gate, cafe and entertainment Michalska Street or medieval Kapucinska Street, just about a 5 minute walk to the Opera or Presidential Palace. The nearby Bratislava Castle you can reach in 20 minute walk, which is a time you need to get to Danube River too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your APLEND CITY Hotel Michalska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michalska Brana Hotel
Michalska Brana Bratislava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing