We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to love”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
APLEND CITY Hotel Michalska
Ranked #24 of 94 Hotels in Bratislava
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice place to love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Lovely hotel, small and intimate with bathroom incl. shower. Nice breakfast with all you need. Envirement the old town but the hotel is not noisy but rather quiet. Good rooms not too large. Bathroom with shower.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inthemiddleoflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    95
    11
    3
    6
See reviews for
14
143
36
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ishoej, Denmark
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel. We got an entite apartment, with full bathroom, kitchen, livingroom and a bedroom. The decor is lovely. The location in the heart of the old town is on the money! We love it! The hotel has a lovely court yard with a small restaurant. I will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorupDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Western Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We spent two nights at the Michalska Brana a couple of years ago and at the time thought it was one of the best quality and value hotels that we'd ever stayed at. So we naturally booked in again for a recent brief stopover when were passing through Bratislava last month - and while we didn't get the upgrade to the top floor room that we were lucky enough to score the last time, we were pleased to see that it's still up there with the best reasonable value places in Europe. Lovely rooms, a perfect location in the old town, friendly staff and a great breakfast. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard_and_Moira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Michalska Brana. The rooms are simple yet very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included in the cost of our room, and it was tasty and plentiful. The hotel has a lovely garden area where we sampled some excellent local wines with our friends. Staff member Andrea was incredibly nice and recommended an outstanding restaurant for our dinner. You can't ask for a better location - right in the heart of Old Town Bratislava, and just a few blocks away from Bratislava's commercial center. Great value for the price!

Room Tip: We and our friends all had nice rooms on different floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ModestoLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

My friend and I were traveling from Vienna to Brno, Czech Republic, in mid May and decided to change up our plans a bit and stay a night in Bratislava. We were really glad we did, both because of how surprisingly charming the city is and because Hotel Michalska Brana was so pleasant. In fact, it ended up being one of the better lodging experiences I had during seven weeks in Central and Northern Europe. First, the hotel is in a great location: just inside the Old Town, so pretty convenient to/from the train station and very convenient to all of the Old Town restaurants and sights, but it's on a quaint, quiet street. The accommodations were clean, comfortable, and stylish; the breakfast was great; and most of the staff were friendly and helpful. Really, my only complaint was about the shower, which felt great because of the high water pressure but was annoying afterward because water had somehow gotten through the shower doors and sprayed all over the bathroom floor. I couldn't sop up all of the mess with the towels they'd provided us, so I called down to the front desk. A young woman came up right away with a couple more towels and half-heartedly cleaned up a bit more but didn't seem all that concerned that the floors were still drenched. Not a big deal, but it was the only negative to an otherwise amazing stay. I would definitely recommend both Bratislava and Hotel Michalska Brana for anyone wanting to explore a more underrated, off-the-beaten-path European city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briguy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
199 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The location couldn't be better, right inside the old city but down a quiet alley. Right out of a story book setting but next to everything. The hotel is charming. The room had dormer windows was L-shaped and very functional. The breakfast room is very cool with its old shaped ceiling and poster like decor. There is a lovely outdoors that is huge. I am so glad I didn't stay outside the old city. A couple of the places I almost picked were out by the train station. I wouldn't suggest staying that far out. We could walk everywhere. It was good value too. The only reason I am not giving it 5 dots is the place is clean, cute and simple but not a 5 star quality hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khaton13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This accommodation was clean and included all amenities.
It was in the old town which had it's pros and cons. Pros - close to everything in the old town - as it was on a very narrow street, it did not have outside restaurants/bars etc and so was very quiet.
Cons - getting there with luggage on very irregular cobbles.
Perhaps the hotel might consider having a small, large wheel cart ( we saw some being used in the town) which they could loan to guests to help with suitcases.
Cons - parking has to be in a public garage. Driving into the old town district was a little confusing ( lots of construction) and when we asked the receptionist about the parking on arrival, she was not great on directions.
We ended up leaving our car in the Public garage near the opera, which we had grabbed on arrival, & decided to leave it there. The cost after 43 hours (less than 2 days) was 70 Eurs - the attendant explained that we were there on part of 3 days. After complaining that the sign said max 25 eur,/day we received a small reimbursement.
Meanwhile the breakfast at the hotel was good and we enjoyed the back terrace.
Most of the staff was friendly.

Room Tip: We had room 24 which we liked -it faced the narrow street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank intrepid39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Skaritz Hotel & Residence
#8 of 94 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Staré Mesto
APLEND CITY Hotel Perugia
APLEND CITY Hotel Perugia
#56 of 94 in Bratislava
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Arcadia Hotel
#15 of 94 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old City Hotel
#42 of 94 in Bratislava
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Art Hotel William
#20 of 94 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#17 of 94 in Bratislava
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APLEND CITY Hotel Michalska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APLEND CITY Hotel Michalska

Property: APLEND CITY Hotel Michalska
Address: Bastova 4, Bratislava 811 03, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — APLEND CITY Hotel Michalska 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
APLEND CITY Hotel Michalska is located in a very quiet street of the pedestrian zone of the Old Town, Bastova Street 4. Bastova Street is considered to be the narrowest and most romantic street of Bratislava. Street itself tells many stories. It was built in 13th and 14th century and in medieval age and for centuries it used to be famous for being a home of the city hangman. His house was demolished and replaced with a new baroque building in the middle of 18th century right facing the property of our hotel. Hotel Michalska is neighboring to majority of embassies and also therefore our location is very safe. All sights on hand - we are only a 1 minute walk to nearby Saint Michael’s Gate, cafe and entertainment Michalska Street or medieval Kapucinska Street, just about a 5 minute walk to the Opera or Presidential Palace. The nearby Bratislava Castle you can reach in 20 minute walk, which is a time you need to get to Danube River too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your APLEND CITY Hotel Michalska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michalska Brana Hotel
Michalska Brana Bratislava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing