We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but uninspiring food”

Modra Hviezda / Blue Star
Ranked #13 of 1,524 Restaurants in Bratislava
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £25 - £34
Cuisines: Diner, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Stare Mesto
Description: Slovak ADULT-FRIENDLY Restaurant in Bratislava with honest local Cuisine. Family-run business since 2009. We are looking forward to your visit! Feel at us at home! :)
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

The starters of leek and potato soap and chicken soup were tasty and enjoyable.
The lamb shank was smothered in a bland root vegetable sauce that added nothing to the experience and the pork tenderloin was plentiful but without any contrast other than mashed potato was just ordinary.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

498 - 502 of 1,577 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2016

We had dinner on the terrace, which was great on a warm Summer evening. The restaurant is located by the road to the castle where it isn't as crowded as in the old town.The waitor was nice, the food ( we all had the house special venison ) was delicious and the atmosphere was really relaxing. The dessert though was not as outstanding as the main course. But I would definately recommend the restaurant .

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 520majav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 July 2016

I'm always worried about choosing restaurants near major tourist attractions, but this place lived up to the hype. The grilled wild boar was fantastic and the service was excellent.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phatsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Since we went there in the summer it's a little gloomy inside because it's a nicely renovated old house but the food is great, also in the summer. The wild boar goulash was perfect and so were the šulanky. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank lahvickova1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Disappointed after all the good reviews. Very bland dinner and our two previous evenings in Brataslava had been wonderful authentic and costs much less. No bread with the soup and small thin portions served.
This was our first dinner when in the menu there was an added 10% service charge. However our bill was charged with an additional 20% service charge.
Conclusion. Not worth the walk up the steep steps and there are so many better places to enjoy a good. evening.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank m_rogers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BratislavaExpert, Majiteľ at Modra Hviezda / Blue Star, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Dear m_rogers5...,

thank you for your visit. I am sorry, our cuisine did not match your taste.

Please, check once again your bill and you will find out, that 20% is VAT, not service.

Best regards,

Viktor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Modra Hviezda / Blue Star also viewed

Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 

Been to Modra Hviezda / Blue Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.