We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money”
Review of Hostel Blues

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Blues
Certificate of Excellence
Tampere, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great value for money”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Staff was very friendly and helpfull. Location is very good near city centre. Rooms were clean and lockers very big. There were group of english guys and they were very drunk and noisy in the common area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jussi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    161
    32
    7
    8
See reviews for
12
69
166
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights and it was a great sociable hostel. As a solo traveller the common area was great for having a beer and sharing your travel experiences and plans with fellow travellers. Staff were very friendly and engaged well with the travellers too.

You can easily buy food and drinks from the hostel or alternatively there is a super market nearby.

Very close to the old town - 5 to 10 mins walk depending where you are heading.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

This hostel is located right in the heart of a walking city. The best part is being able to walk everywhere. But also the dorms were very clean and there is a ceiling fan and huge lockers in the dorms (6 bed.) Also the bathroom was very clean. The staff is very helpful and they give you a very useful map when you checkin. Outside of the price being very affordable, the whole experience of hostel blues enhanced my 2 night stay in Bratislava. I would certainly return

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank AAS238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Very easy to find and within walking distance to all of the city, this is a very good choice of accommodation. The staff are super friendly and cannot wait to help you, they recommend all the best places to go and show you everything on a map so there's no way you can get lost. The rooms are big and very clean, and I had a view of the town up to the castle from my window! The reception was a very relaxed area with a bar and constant music playing and you can borrow books or board games, it's very relaxing. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone going to bratislava.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank egracetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

When we got in the door we had to wait a few minutes while the people at reception dealt with a couple of other customers. Once they were through it was our turn. Our receptionist, Oskar did a really great job. He told us more or less a guidebook's worth of knowledge in 15 minutes telling us where we could eat the kind of stuff we wanted to eat, or do the stuff we wanted to do. He even knew where we could look at a few goats. At one point he stopped, aware that he may be going a bit over board on detail, giving us a chance to go to our rooms and come back if we wanted more info. We were happy enough to let him carry on.

Later we got a bottle of wine from the bar for a pretty reasonable price, something like 5 euro. The common area was cool. Unfortunately we missed the live music, since we skipped out to Vienna for the day when it was on.

Our room was very comfy, had an ensuite with a big shower, a television with USB to charge a phone and a ceiling fan which was felt was kind of novel.

I really liked this place, party for the clean but decent atmosphere, partly for the enthusiastic staff who work there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backwardswords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Fabulous Hostel with friendly staff and good clean common areas. Upon arrival, and throughout my stay, they were happy to help with suggestions for food and things to do and see. Only complaint is the weird plastic bath matt, surely a real one wouldn't be too hard to change every day!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cattytraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The staff was so friendly and the rooms were nice. the lounge was also really cool. If you go sit in the purple couches in the "Chill Room" So comfortable. I only stayed 2 nights but I definitely could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 92 in Bratislava
1,619 reviews
Staré Mesto
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Devin
#10 of 92 in Bratislava
584 reviews
Staré Mesto
Radisson Blu Carlton Hotel, Bratislava
Skaritz Hotel & Residence
#7 of 92 in Bratislava
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Blues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Blues

Property: Hostel Blues
Address: Spitalska 2, Bratislava 811 08, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 Speciality Lodging in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Blues 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Blues reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing