We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“slightly disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antica Toscana

Antica Toscana
Ranked #55 of 1,131 Restaurants in Bratislava
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Only a simple family restaurant away from the center trying to prepare tradicional Toscan recipes with original quality products..like my grandmother did. :-)
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“slightly disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

today we walked around antica toscana and we were immediaty hooked by the place, so we decided it would be nice to sit in the garden and have a lunch. although there were only two occupied tables and like 4 empty ones, we were told we can't have lunch there unless we have a reservation. we were very unpleasantly surprised since it did not look like they are busy or expecting to be busy (2pm) anytime soon. we asked if we can at least have a drink, it's really hot these days and the waiter said in unpolite manner that yes, if we leave in 10mins! really?! is this how you should treat your customers? i was therefore very very disappointed as it looks nice there. what a shame when someone has a business but can't really do the business properly...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tezzka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATMalva, Owner at Antica Toscana, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear friend ,thank u for reviewing i apologize for that inconvenient, i was not here in that moment, so i will investigate exactly.
The only think i can say is that we were waiting a bigger group from Austria(15p) inside who reserved also outside cause they did not know where would be better sit.
Our kitchen capacity is not so big so if the supposed waiting time would be very long we cannot accept without a reservation.
B.W. This does not excuse any inpoliteness, so i apologize :-)
and hope u wll give a 2nd chance..thank u

Wish a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    37
    10
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“expensive and average food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Hello all,

Not sure who is giving this kind of reviews, but it is the first time when I am disappointed in the "user's reviews". How can you rank it so high as long as beside the fact that I had to pay 3 euros for 1.5 L of tap water.
More that this, soup - 5 euros, come one, be serious, it is a normal cream soup.....pasta, not sure what you eat there, maybe they had a different chef that day, but, average ..... also, I had to pay 13 euros for a plate with heated rucola, onion and a few slices of chicken breast with some balsamic vinegar...totally BS

So, driving 20-30 min, definitely not worthy, you can find food 5 times better that this all over Bratislava with same prices or even lower...... restaurant food average (if not below) with high prices that can't be justified, service ....better not try to explain how the food is being "placed" on the table.

From my opinion, enjoy food in a different location

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosmin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATMalva, Owner at Antica Toscana, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Frined
thank u for ur visit and for had time to write a review.
I m sorry u where not so satisfied with ur visit something must go little wrong..so we try to think about and work harder..hope better :-)
About the prices ..i can only say that they are clearly wrote in the menu avaiable also in internet so everyone is free to accept or not. It's important to know that behind every our plate is a big personal research..every mounth ...we go directly to Toscany 1000km and search and buy original ingredients of the best quality ..infact we don t use semifinished products...and also a big workand a lot of people to combine ..cook and serve.. The result is an average price of 20-22€ a person for a complete lunch or dinner..with big portions..i think is reasonable price.
Hope u can understand now little bit better and if u use to attend very cheap locals...is important that u see what they propose to u....which kind of healty products they cook and so on..

By the way is little bit CURIOUS that u know a lot of better places (i don't doubt a lot of people work very good) and u never had the need to write good reviews of that places..(infact this is ur 1st) ..but immediatly u felt the necessity to write bad of our restaurant...
are'nt u a competitor? :-)
Despite this i keep working hard , thank u and wish u all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best italin restaurant in Bratislava”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Great atmosphere and personal. Not for every day eating because it´s little bit expensive but on the other side you know what are you paying for ...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kublajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place for romantic weekend lunch/dinner in Bratislava”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We find this restaurant in Tripadvisor several years ago and last year we decided to give it a try. Since then we became regular visitors. The owner - born toscanian is the heart of the classic italian resto. The bruschetas and pasta are homemade and the best ones that we ever tasted! Certainly the best choice if you stay in couple for a weekend in Bratislava!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spachtosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“The best restaurant in Bratislava”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

It is situated in the urban part of Bratislava - Rusovce, quite a journey from the city centre, but got a lovely venue, staff and the best ever Italian food in Bratislava. It is not cheap but worth your money, order anything and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BotkaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Antica Toscana also viewed

Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 

Been to Antica Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing