We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must be better places”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Congress Hotel Centrum
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Kosice
Surrey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Must be better places”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

A party of four, including a partially disabled elderly lady booked rooms for one night as stop over before boarding a flight home. One of the reasons this hotel was booked was because it offered a restaurant with room service. The night of our stay there was a private party so the restaurant was not available & we were told we couldn't have any food or room service. There were no tea/coffee making facilities so I asked for hot water to be sent to the room so the elderly guests could make their own tea which they had brought with them. The water arrived but was luke warm. The rooms were stifling hot with no air conditioning. The windows overlooked the main street so had to remain closed due to the noise & the fans provided just blew the hot air around.
We left the ladies in their room & went to find some food as the restaurants were too far away for them to walk to. We found a supermarket & brought the food back to the hotel. We asked reception for some plates, but were told we couldn't have them as there was a party in the restaurant. The receptionist would not go & ask, so my partner went into the resturant himself & got 2 plates. Not such a hard job, but clearly this receptionist felt it was a step too far! There was no hot water in our room, despite running the tap for almost 5 minutes. Reception came to out aid by running the taps for even longer. Eventually hot water came, but it was a long wait for a shower after a very tiring drive from Poland a search for food & then a struggle to get plates to eat off. The wifi access was sporadic, the bed was reasonably comfortable, but the heat made it impossible to sleep. Overall this was the worst hotel we had stayed in throughout out 2 week trip & we were just grateful it was only one night. The hotel should have informed us beforehand about the closed restaurant & when I mentioned this to reception I was told that we booked the room not the restaurant ! There must be much better hotels in the area who have more consideration for their guests wellbeing. Kosice is not the most welcoming of cities, but this hotel has convinced me never to return.

Room Tip: If you must stay here ask for a room at the back to limit the noise, but my advice is choose another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonisSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    10
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
5
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Hotel Centrum highly recommend to all who want to be accommodated near the railway station, shopping centers and pedestrian zone. Near the hotel is the all important buses, including connections to the airport (number 23).
The hotel features a very simple but modern. I was accommodated in a double room. It was spacious, clean and nicely furnished.
The bathroom was small but well equipped (toilet, shower, sink and hair dryer).
I lived on the 4th floor in room number 404 with a view of the busy street. In particular morning bothered me a lot of noise from the main road. Hear it especially trams - about poor rail.
The hotel offers a breakfast accommodation. Breakfast was delicious - meet the 3 star hotel. Warm kitchen table was missing, but the staff was very nice and asked me if I want something from warm kitchen.
Staff at the hotel were very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mazzsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Hotel centrum is a very good choice when you want to stay in Košice city center, where you have a city center with in a 2min walk, you have all monuments of Košice in 10 min walk, they have monitored car park, renovated and modern rooms with all the facilities you will need, internet - WiFi, restaurant open till late with great food, helpful staff in all departments, sure not all of them speak English, but will call you some one who does and would solve your problems or answer your questions right away.

Room Tip: corner rooms are equip with couch, great if you traveling 3 persons
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oto o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Good advice: never reach this place during night.
It was hard to find the entrance - after 150 m walk with luggage,
passing a NightClub area.
Reception a bit uninterested; Bed rooms OK if the door lock functions.

Reservation was made by mistake because of the name CENTRUM.
Anyway, good for rucksack tourists knowing the local language.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dankward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miroslav S, Manager at Congress Hotel Centrum, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear quest Mr. Dankward,
we appologize for the troubles, tha you had during your stay in our hotel.
Our hotel is 50 meters from hotel Double Tree by Hilton, 300 meters from St. Elizabeth catedral, National theater or singing fountain. Its in heart of Košice city center.
Our car park is located on street Palarikova, which is 50 meters from main entrance of reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kosice hotels
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Kosice
0.8 mi away
Eco friendly Hotel Dalia
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Dukat
Hotel Zlaty Dukat
#9 of 22 in Kosice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Penzion Horse Inn
Penzion Horse Inn
#14 of 22 in Kosice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Yasmin Kosice
Hotel Yasmin Kosice
#2 of 22 in Kosice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#3 of 22 in Kosice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hotel Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hotel Centrum

Property: Congress Hotel Centrum
Address: Juzna Trieda 2/A, Kosice 043 23, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Kosice Region > Kosice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Kosice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Congress Hotel Centrum 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Congress Hotel Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing