We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location, poor room insulation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Chrysso
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Kosice
Covilha, Portugal
Level Contributor
119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location, poor room insulation”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The title of this review pretty much says everything. The hotel is great, and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The decoration is awesome, the breakfast is gourmet "à la carte". In fact the hotel is great, but the room insulation is a huge problem. The room close to mine had a young lady and a baby, I could clearly hear them talking in the night. (I could probably have asked for a new room, but I didn't).
Wifi was good but there where no power outlets to charge the mobile phone and the laptop - I had to unplug a lamp to be able to charge one of the devices while the other was plugged at the toilet power outlet.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NGarcia65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    11
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
10
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I've been there on business trip taking my wife for leisure as well. Hotel location is excellent - right on the walking zone but in side street. Design ogf the hotel is fabulous - beautifuly restored old building.
Rooms are cosy, shower instaled will be loved by men - big big rain head and spacous - and hated by women - fixed rain head:-( Nevertheless I can imagine to go here for honeymoon:-)
Only one thing is negative - no electricity outlets at the bed for charging your smartphone over night.
Staff is very, very friendly and helpful, breakfast buffett nice 4 stars.
If I am back in Kosice, this is the hotel where I would stay!

Room Tip: As for room to courtyard. Hotel is in the centre - over the weekend some alcohol-cherished people on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomanAlbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Good location, a few steps from the center. There is no car park on the hotel, since it is located on the pedestrian area. You can park in a public park nearby, but it did not look very safe. We booked two rooms, a double room (2 adults) and a deluxe room with extra bed (2 adults + 2 kids). On the arrival they mixed up the rooms and send the couple to the deluxe room and the family of four to the double room.... after caring all the suitcases around the hotel, we finally were allocated on the deluxe room as booked. But for our surprise there was no extra bed for the kids (although this was confirmed on our booking). We complain about this on the front desk, but the guy did not speak too much English. He nodded, but was clear that he was not understanding our problem. So, since we were staying there just for one night, and did not want to ruin our trip, we decided to solve the problem ourself... we used our duvets to cover the sofa and made a comfortable bed for our little ones. Anyway, we need to say that the Hotel is nicely decorated and that the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
443 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

A group of us stayed at the Penzion Chrysso while in Kosice in October. It is in a great location, just a minute walk from Hlvana street (the central area for activities in the old city). The rooms are comfortable although they vary greatly in size. The prices for the Penzion are very reasonable making it a great value for the money. The breakfast is not fancy but you can order different hot items along with the breads, pastries and cheeses that are out on the buffet. The staff can speak some English for those who do not have other languages. The staff were very friendly and worked to be helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don_K_Kingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

When I visited this hotel, it was under construction. I have to check in, they gave me keys, and then I had to go outside around the block (about 300 m) with luggage, then on the first floor withou lift. The sleeping room was nice, but kitchen was terible and bathroom was very bad. In the bath romm was cold. Hot water wasn´t. Also curtain wasn´t close to whole window so the light from street was disturbing. The receptionist wasn´t much friendly. They promissed me reduction, but finally they give 5 € discount. I thought that this was just joke. This hotel also don´t have parking place so you have to park on the payed public parking place (about 300 m away). Maybe other rooms are more comfortable, but also the stuff is not much friendly and helpfull. Next time I rather pay more for night, but with higher standard.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rado m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasília, Brazil
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Nice hotel, confortable rooms, close to the station (walking), excelent bed and pillows!! Good value for the price. Stayed there for just few couple nights, and intend to go back. Lovely city. Didn´t get wifi at my room, last floor.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felipe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

Great hotel, room beautiful and comfortable. Full breakfast with coffee, bread, fruit, yogurt, jams, eggs, omelets etc. Agile and friendly attendants.
Cons: wi-fi doesn't work well in room; check-out very early, at 11 am.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giovanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kosice hotels
0.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Kosice
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Dukat
Hotel Zlaty Dukat
#9 of 22 in Kosice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eco friendly Hotel Dalia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Penzion Horse Inn
Penzion Horse Inn
#14 of 22 in Kosice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Residence Apartment Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Yasmin Kosice
Hotel Yasmin Kosice
#2 of 22 in Kosice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Chrysso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Chrysso

Property: Boutique Hotel Chrysso
Address: Zvonarska 3, Kosice 040 01, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Kosice Region > Kosice
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Kosice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Chrysso 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel Chrysso**** provides its customers the most valuable thing - an excellent price / quality ratio. Our guests deserve an exceptional experience and we are happy to arrange it. Luxurious rooms and apartments were created by combining high quality design, premium materials, pleasant colours and modern technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Boutique Hotel Chrysso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing