We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Royal Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Kosice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked a business weekend package, which was a huge suite and looked almost newly furnished in a french provincial style , got this mid week as it was summer. Good value as with breakfast and a bottle of champagne and fruit on arrival. The staff were friendly and helpful. Dinner at the restaurant was excellent and for 50 eu with a bottle wine and 2 courses, worth the money. Breakfast was not fancy, but OK and you could ask for freshly cooked eggs++.
My hubby tried the spa and said it was clean and great. Only downsides were, only hand held shower sitting at mid waist in a bath tub made it a bit difficult for shower users and the masseuse was away for the summer. Close to main tourist are reas.

Room Tip: The suites are great, not sure about other rooms, but the special was great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank KMT54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel seems to look better on the internet.. The reality is not bad, but bit faded. We were there on business trip and what we've appreciated was the proximity to the town centre. I didn't go to spa, but my colleagues said it was very nice. Also the restaurant in the court (where the breakfasts is taking place) is beautiful. What I didn't really appreciate was the hotel layout and feel in the rooms and corridor. It is like labyrinth and you have no view from the window. The atmosphere there is bit heavy and scary... The furniture is nice and the hotel designer obviously wanted to give it a luxurious look. There is no elevator in the hotel and the path from street to room is quite long through small corridors, staircases and gallery..
The hotel staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LindaZCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have stayed in this hotel a few times during last 2 years and in my opinion hotel continues to deteriorate.
More and more used furniture is more "old" than antique, "artificial luxury", strange combination of materials and colours, especially in bathroom. I stayed in "Royal" room last time, bed was horrible, too short, very soft and low. I felt like laying on the floor. The staff on reception is inadequately trained, hardly able to answer basic questions. The street in the night is too noisy, drunk people screaming until 3am. Only cold water in the shower at 8:00 in the morning was the cherry on the cake...
Breakfast is average. I never have try wellness or any additional services.

Golden Royal is too expensive comparing to offered environment and services. I recommend to use one of 4 stars hotels close to city centre.

Room Tip: Do not take main street view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stvrtnastyri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

small hotel with excelent appartments and very good reataurant. it hotel is just les then 100 meters from historical city center. I have been ask 5 times mornig by staff if I sleep well, incredible experience.

Room Tip: ask for apartment kind of room. its a special experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank podolro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The facilities are clean and comfortable, the service excellent and the breakfast great. The hotel is well situated, about 2 blocks from the main square and the major sights in Kosice. The main square, the largest in Eastern Europe is rimmed by Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque palaces. The square is dominated by the very large St. Elizabeth Cathedral.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mittyc2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Spent two nights here for my brothers wedding. Was a very well kept hotel with friendly staff. Room was ok but could do with some updating as my partner in particular found the single beds quite small. Has a lovely conservatory area with a decent garden that unfortunately does not seem to be open enough. In conclusion I would definitely recommend.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank vinnie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Spent two nights here at a wedding. Very friendly staff and the apartment room (101) was very nice with a cooling conservatory.

The wedding was run very well on what seemed like few staff but no was left wanting for anything.

We were quite loud though and a lot of the rooms were above the party area so I would double check before staying if you are looking for an early night.

Room Tip: Room 101 the apartment room has a tv room, and conservatory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kosice hotels
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Kosice
0.3 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#3 of 22 in Kosice
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yasmin Kosice
Hotel Yasmin Kosice
#2 of 22 in Kosice
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Dukat
Hotel Zlaty Dukat
#14 of 22 in Kosice
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Residence Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Chrysso
Boutique Hotel Chrysso
#12 of 22 in Kosice
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Royal Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Royal Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: Vodna 8, Kosice 040 01, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Kosice Region > Kosice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Kosice
Price Range: £81 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Royal Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel GOLDEN ROYAL **** is located on a quiet street in the Downtown, only 200 m from Hlavná Street, 20m from well-known handicraft lane - Hrnčiarska Street, and 30m from the largest city park - Petrov Sad. The hotel was reconstructed and opened in 1996. The modest exterior of a hundred years old building hides generous spaces - 24 luxurious rooms with exclusive furnishing, including Internet connection and air conditioning. Cosy rooms provide guests with a sense of comfort in a family atmosphere of a guest house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Royal Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing