We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice restaurant”
Review of Hotel Bankov

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bankov
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Kosice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I have eaten in the hotel restaurant several times and i can say that i will return when i have a chance to visit the area again. Very nice staff, food, reasonable prices and wonderfull interior suplemented with gorgeous music.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Norosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bankov
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

Having spent a hectic Christmas and new year with family and friends we decided we needed a weekend away. We chose Hotel Bankov. What and absolutley fab place. The woman in reception was so lovely and helpful and the barman is a true asset. The free taxi into town is also a credit to this hotel. Although the hotel may not live up to some peoples standards the rooms were luxurious, clean and tidy. Our deal included meals but on the second night we ate in town and drank at a Jazz bar. It was worth doing and the prices for everything very reasonable. We needed a relaxing break and got exactly that.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nzmel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

In Slovakia and was staying near by so as a surprise booked the romantic package... What a surprise for a change I was not disappointed ! The hotel is set in a nice location, snowing at the moment so looked great, our room was immaculate along with the large bathroom... Almost all looked brand new. The meal I booked as part of the romantic package was very good, service was excellent too.
Tried the relaxation centre with pool, steam room, sauna etc also good.
The hotel is immaculately clean, great service, peaceful and the prices are extremely good value.... Am definitely coming back

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We recently stayed for two nights. The welcome by the receptionist Veronica was outstanding. Unfortunately we had to wait for our meal as they had a golf dinner on and it was obvious that it was more important to serve them than ourselves and we were put into a very brightly lit sideroom and had to wait a long time before we were served our meal. We could not go into the bar either for this was reserved for the golf dinner. This was all very disappointing although Jon/Jan the waiter did his best for us and again is an exceptional member of their staff. We were on a secret escapes break and did not realise until the following day that we had been offered a reduced menu. The next day we chose from the al a cart menu but we were offered a 20% discount. Breakfast was buffet style and finished at 10.30am. We took breakfast both days at 10am and obviously other people had eaten before us but nothing was replenished. Our bedroom was very warm clean comfortable Anderson quiet and had bathrobes and slippers mini bar but no tea or coffee making facility which can be common in Europe. The free taxi service to the centre was excellent. The wellness centre was very clean not very warm and very clinical not really a very relaxing experience although the massage included in the break was good. The hotel is a fair way from the centre and there is not really anyway nearby to go for a drink. Also smoking is still allowed in the hotel and in the evening the bar area was very overpowering with cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JobozLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed at the hotel with my boyfriend 27.12.13 for two nights.We had a lovely room and the hotel itself is lovely and also very clean.We were however not told that during the entire stay weddings would take place in the hotel.This would mean that we would not be able to go into the bar or main room for dining at all.

We had a deal which included half board.We were ushered into a sterile side room with a local radio station playing music and a 'help yourself buffet'.We were told to help ourselves to the food which was buffet style.The staff then rushed away to attend to the wedding and we wereb left on our own in the side room.It all felt a little strange!

The 'help yourself food ' had seen better days .It was clear the food had been sat for along time.We were forced to go into town on the 27.12.13 despite simply wanting to relax in the hotel as we could not sit and have a drink anywhere in the hotel.We could not even find anyone to serve us a drink in the sterile side room.

We finally were able to have lunch on the day of departure 29.12.13 in the main room.The standard of food and atmosphere was worlds apart.Clearly all the weddings had finished at this stage and the staff could focus attention back on other guests!

I would like to mention Veronica who apologised and helped us to find places to go in Kosice.The staff were generally very helpful .

I would check before you book that they do not have a wedding on.The hotel is simply not suitable for use by other guests when they have a wedding on.It is clear that the managers and owners were trying to increase occupancy without any thought for service standards which is a dangerous game.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are excellent
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had not booked our rooms in this hotel in advance but a chance comment by a receptionist of another hotel in the city about Bankov being far from the city in the woods alerted us to exciting possibilities. We set our GPS in the car to Bankov and the rest was pure joy.

This hotel, as many have said is set in the woods with plenty of opportunities for cycling,treks and long walks .The air was charged with life giving freshness that one finds only in the woods with living trees.

We hoped there will be vacant rooms while we spoke to the receptionist. She spoke English and made us extra happy by saying they did have the two single and one double we had asked for. There was no second thoughts we just entered the hotel completing the formalities.

Indoors are no place to spend the day in this hotel and so we walked out into the woods and walked in only for meals.

The rooms and bathroom were very clean and maintained well. Breakfast spread was adequate. Both rooms and food were a wee bit expensive but we all felt it was worth the extra cost on account the beautiful location and the joy of enjoying nature at its best.

The sloping woods have various gradients and many of them are easy even for senior citizens like me and my wife.

Room Tip: Don't stay indoors Just walk out and stroll in the woods.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We enjoyed it. Very quiet in the forest but very close from Kosice. We chose the romantic package. It was perfect! Nice spacious bedroom. Nice bathroom. The spa is nice too. Small swimming pool. Choice between Finnish and infrared sauna. The dinner was very tasty and the breakfast was good. Service was very good. We recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tourdumonde79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kosice hotels
3.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Kosice
2.6 mi away
Hotel Yasmin Kosice
Hotel Yasmin Kosice
#2 of 22 in Kosice
238 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#3 of 22 in Kosice
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Eco friendly Hotel Dalia
2.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Maraton
Boutique Hotel Maraton
#9 of 22 in Kosice
29 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#16 of 22 in Kosice
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bankov? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bankov

Address: Dolny Bankov, Kosice 040 01, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Kosice Region > Kosice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Kosice
Price Range: £61 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bankov 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Bankov reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing