We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy Stay”
Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Kosice
Cronulla, Australia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Very Happy Stay”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Excellent Hotel in centre of town-literally. Do not key in the hotel address or you will find yourself driving in the pedestrian ONLY mall.
Key in Kasarenke St number 52 and this will take you to the carpark which has direct access to the hotel.
Very clean with friendly service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    19
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
12
3
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Despite external appearances, this is a modern hotel. I made the mistake of following the parking arrow literally and ended up in another car park I could not get out of (the car park is in front of the arrow). The reception is in a kind of ally way between the car park and pedestrian zone. From the pedestrian zone you'll need eagle eyes to spot the hotel entrance. I was on the third floor and was slightly dismayed to discover the room had no external window but instead a high up letter box window to the hall way. People climbing the stairs outside could look in. Apart form this quirky detail, the room was clean and specious although I switched the fridge off because it was so noisy. Breakfast was a simple affair including some cereal, bread, salami and cheese with the local version of what passes for Nutella. I was happy that it was a one night stay.

Room Tip: You may want to make a point of booking a room with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I just returned from a week in Kosice for a workshop, three days of which were held at the Ambassador. The hotel was excellent and the workshop was a great success. It was great to be able to have all the out of town speakers staying in the hotel and using it as our base for exploring the wonderful town of Kosice. The staff was friendly and helpful, and they all spoke very good English, which was very useful. I would recommend using the Ambassador as your starting point for a wonderful time in an amazing town that showcases the way that the old world meets the new in modern day Slovakia!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigtrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The old centre of Kosice is beautiful.. The hotel's location in the City centre on the main square, Hlavna, is ideal, as it is pedestrianised. It about a kilometre from the station, bus and tram termini. There is a range of cafes and restaurants all along Hlavna, which is about a 15 minute walk from one end to the other. There is a Tesco Supermarket near to the hotel entrance and M&S is at the southern end of the square. The rooms in the Hotel were very comfortable and clean with plenty of space. The reception staff spoke excellent English and were particularly helpful with local advice and knowledge. The range of food at breakfast was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterthur
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The Hotel Ambassador is centrally located in the heart of the beautiful old town of Kosice. Staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, modern, spacious and comfortable (we slept really well) and provide mini-bar, tea & coffee facilities and flat-screen cable/satellite TV. Our ensuite bathroom was quite big with bathtub/shower. We only struggled with the different light switches (one of which turned off the whole electricity and therefore mobile phones were not charged in the morning...).

Anyway, even though breakfast and lunch are okay, the quality of food and restaurant/bar service is not quite four-star standard. However, we still enjoyed our stay and would probably choose it again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissGuyWinti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moneta, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We spent one night here in August during our month long tour of Slovakia. The hotel is situated right on the main square of the city with free parking in the back. This perfectly satisfied our goal of exploring the centrum without dealing with city traffic. A very nice breakfast was included and the room was comfortable and very clean. We were especially pleased that coffee was provided in the room, an amenity not commonly found on our journey. English was understood and spoken by staff members - no need for my elementary Slovak.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BklynBorn47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbassadorKE, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Let me thank you for posting your positive review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you liked our family hotel and the services as well. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed there for a simple night (in a double room), so we do not have a huge experience. The hotel (consists of 2 connected buildings) is very stylish with nice furniture. So the rooms look great. Our bed was very soft and the pillows very high - not comfortable, so we did not sleep well (at all). When we entered the room (in the evening), it was freezing cold in there (AC was on very strongly), so we switched the AC off and opened the windows (as it was summer - august evening) to try to heat the room a little bit. We were not successful, so it was quite cold during the night. Our friend (in a different - single room) had an opposite problem, the AC was off and so it was very hot in her room when she entered and had to have the AC on the whole night. She had a harder bed, so she slept well and liked the bed very much. The bathroom was very large, stylish as well (but a corner of the mirror was broken - just a small note). We tried breakfast. It was very simple/poor - rolls, butter, jam, salami, cheese, ham, tomatoes, sausages and very hard scrambled eggs. There was a machine for coffee and tea. And so we were disapointed because (in our opinion and acc. to our experience) a 4* hotel should serve richer variety of food for breakfast. The hotel parking is a little bit hidden - not well marked, and free of charge. Generally, we can imagine coming back there, as the hotel is located well and centrally and because it is very stylish and calm (soundproof).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katarina_Cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbassadorKE, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
In the name of the Hotel Ambassador**** I would like to thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. Let me thank you for pointing out the good and bad points as well. In terms of AC, it is in the process of repair throughout. According to breakfast, we will expand the range of dishes offered. Anyway, we hope to see you soon in our family hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kosice hotels
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Kosice
0.2 mi away
City Residence Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Maraton
Boutique Hotel Maraton
#12 of 22 in Kosice
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#4 of 22 in Kosice
133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Dukat
Hotel Zlaty Dukat
#8 of 22 in Kosice
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Royal Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Property: Hotel Ambassador
Address: Hlavna 101 | Kovacska 52 ( Parking ), Kosice 040 01, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Kosice Region > Kosice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kosice
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kosice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ambassador 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Hotel Ambassador**** is located in the Košice municipal preserve. The original old part of the hotel is a protected cultural monument and its origin dates back to the period around the second half of the 13th century. Hotel Ambassador is located in the Košice municipal preserve. The building originally served as a dwelling house and underwent several reconstructions in the past. The present complex look is the result of a reconstruction in combination with an additional building and a new building completed in September 2009. The hotel is established in the pedestrian zone in Main Street near the oldest and the most interesting cultural sights, such as the St. Elizabeth's Cathedral, the National Theatre, the Andrássy Palace, and others. We offer accommodation in 5 single rooms, 16 double rooms, and two luxury apartment-type rooms. The rooms are equipped with the following standard: an LCD-TV with the hotel television "interactive system", , air conditioning, direct telephone line, cable and wireless Internet access, an electric kettle, a bathroom with toilet, shower, and a bath tube or just shower, and a hair dryer. Our guests can visit our cafés, whereas Café BAYER is a smoking café and Café AMBASSADOR is a non-smoking one. In our higher-standard restaurant DIPLOMAT you are welcome to taste dishes of both the international and the Slovak cuisine, as well as quality Slovak and international wines. Our guests may use our wellness centre for relaxation, as well as the wine bar for private parties on request in advance. In addition, we offer a lounge, a conference room, and a banquet room, in which we can arrange conferences with the possibility of using a portable congress system with audio system and didactic equipment. There is guarded parking next to the hotel. Of course, the following services are available: room service, laundry and ironing, renting a laptop, daily newspaper, and others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Kosice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing