We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“time travel”
Review of Magnolia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Magnolia Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Piestany
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“time travel”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

If you would like to enjoy the atmosphere of 80-ties in communist Czechoslovakia, you are on the good place. Horrible cuisine, better is to take a hot dog at the street. Dirty and small pool - the only proffesional in the hotel was photographer who made it's pictures. On the other hand -the hotel is in the centre, some rooms have nice view to the river, and toilets are renovated.

Room Tip: Ask for a view to the river, check the toilet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrijana v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    10
    16
    14
    10
See reviews for
7
28
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

A bit of old-fashioned, old furniture, beds, bathrooms, but they keep it clena. The reception staff was kind of slow, but helpful. Breakfast was fine, you can go for a swim, jaccuzzi, sauna...
Cheap average hotel, but I would go there again.

Room Tip: I could hear a next room person snooring all night.... I would prefer a room with a view of river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenocka5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stayed here twice so I must have enjoyed my stay, I did, the view of river outstanding; we stayed 8 floors up and enjoyed sunning ourselves on the little balcony.
Language barrier meant we did not always get what we wanted, for example breakfast time: No menu on tables, on 2nd visit no hot food available, very hit and miss. One morning 1 choice fruit juice, then a client loudly complained and next morning 2 choices appeared and a plate of sweet biscuits! Our jaws dropped in disbelief when the man who had previously complained received a huge plate of scrambled eggs; on our first visit this was available for all in trolley, I attempted to explain the unfairness, and where were our eggs, all in vain, finally, it appears, if you go to the bar and search hard you may find a menu, on that menu you could order eggs, porridge etc for no additional cost, alas it was our last day when I discovered this so too late, the menu was hidden like a state secret.
The phone in room did not work, but there was a safe and cooler bar.
Decent shower etc.
Old hotel, looks like from 70s, lifts appear ancient. Stairs nice and wide and we made use of them to get in extra exercise.
You pay a euro to use pool each time, it was old, a little cold, but I was able to use it late in evening which was good, so I could swim alone in peace.
Got a good massage at hotel.
I would stay here again if I came, at least I now know the mystery of the disappeared eggs.
I got a good deal cos I was getting dental treatment; a mixed bag really.
Oh and internet broken! Oh and could not work the airconditioning and could not get help cos no maintanence after certain hour.

Room Tip: get a room over river, but beware the bottle skip gets emptied 6 am
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piešťany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Hotel was build in sozialistic aera in sixties past century.-4-stars is too much. Kitchen is good,
personel empatic, wellness average, parking outdoor.
Resumee: average hotel for average price.

Room Tip: Give a tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niepel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senec
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2012

My parents stayed for a week in this hotel. They do not recommend for anyone, It is far from 4* hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brano H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Piestany hotels

Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

If you look on the internet, you will see this hotel advertised as a 4-star. Don't know who came up with this rating but they must be clinically insane. The hotel seems to be ran by a badly organised bunch of women that work behind reception that smile but only when they have to. Negative points 1) Had a number of issues during our stay - bar would open late one night but then the next night it would close on eleven. This wouldn't be a problem but there were thirty of us in a group and hence simple business sense dictates you would open the bar!!! 2) Staff in general were about as cheerful and helpful as prisoners on death row. They weren't knowledgeable either. Room rates even when confirmed in writing by my Slovakian partner were queried on check-out. One room for example was over charged 20 euros a night - won't see that again. 3) Breakfast was pretty dire. They only tend to put decent food on at the week-end as this is when they are busy. 4) You wait ages for a lift - this tends to be because the cleaners are using them 5) They are good at promising but don't deliver 6) If you stay in an apartment for 3 people - do not expect the spare bed to be made, in addition when you ask for it to be made, expect to be told to wait until the morning as the housekeeper i.e. cleaner has gone home in the morning before you were able to check in. Plus points 1) Leaving 2) Food served in the restaurant was ok but the atmosphere was like an old peoples home. 3) The Wellness center - and more importantly the lady that runs it are brilliant. She is always friendly and happy to see people. We had a number of massages and for 15 euros for an hour it's one of the best holiday experiences i've had - you come out almost floating you are so relaxed. 4) There is one receptionist which is friendly and helpful - good luck to her being on shift though To summarise - don't stay in this hell hole ran by clowns - but definately do take the time to go to the wellness center on the first floor. Anyone can walk in and book a massage. 4-star - 2 at best!!!!

Room Tip: 8th or 9th Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DannyBlue_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Piestany hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#19 of 21 in Piestany
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade
0.3 mi away
Hotel Satelit
Hotel Satelit
#15 of 21 in Piestany
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Thermia Palace
0.8 mi away
Hotel Harmonia
Hotel Harmonia
#5 of 21 in Piestany
15 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Boutique Hotel Sergijo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel

Property: Magnolia Hotel
Address: Nalepkova 1, Piestany 921 01, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Trnava Region > Piestany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Piestany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Magnolia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing