We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice resort, perfect spa 4+* but some areas 5*” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Piestany
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice resort, perfect spa 4+* but some areas 5*”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

I have visited this hotel with my cousin who stayed there for 3 weeks and my impressions are very positive, its a 4+ * hotel but some areas can be easily rated 5* . the staff was very polite, efficient, helpful. My cousin was upgraded to a suite , it was large, clean, tidy, with a beautiful view from the spacious balcony, only the furniture was bit old and i guess the rooms need refurbishment. but otherwise it was spotless. I couldn't stay for longer then one night but i enjoyed the spa very much!! the staff there are professionals in this area! the food was tasty, good variety. its beautifully located in the Spa island, few minutes walking time from the city center which is very nice spa city with all the services anyone could need. all in all good value for money, very relaxing and enjoyable stay, i guess during summer it must be even much better then in winter.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simsimka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    40
    26
    7
    9
See reviews for
31
71
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prishtina
Level Contributor
110 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

To me, the hotel seemed to be a health spa that is usually visited by people who have health issues. In that sense, although the hotel was well-maintained, it was so huge that you needed (at least) a bike to go from one end to the other.... As such, the hotel looses its sense of intimacy and coziness - instead, it seems much more than a vip lounge of a huge international airport or so....

But, once you get used to its size, you discover that the hotel staff are very nice and try to be helpful at all times. If you look at other details you discover that everything is as it should be (I mean, it is clean, warm, quiet) so you cannot really complain unless you had an issue with someone there. The room where I've stayed was minimalistic but very clean and tidy.

The hotel has a relatively small wellnes center, although I suspect that the one I visited was only one of many more it has (given hotel's size). The swimming pool was really tiny and quite a lot of people there. Also, there were no towels for the steam bath, sauna and I find this really surprising. On a positive note, there was a large park outside for those wishing to relax or walk.

All in all, not the best hotel I've stayed but you may try it if you happen to pass by.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arben72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

One of the better hotels in Piestany SPA island. A bit of communistic old era feel (extremely large corridors, a lot of concrete, strange lights, etc.) but OK for the price.

PROS: Good value for money especially if you take a discounted package. Nice outside pool.
Small but nice welness.

CONS: Do ton buy a single entry into the spa world and outside pool if you are not accomodated in the hotel. It will cost around EUR 30 per person, which is a daylight robbery.
Be prepared to walk about 10-15 mintes to get to the city centre.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished rooms on 4th floor and up which are fine with a nice balkony. Rooms on 2nd and 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 161Globetrotter2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

The most beautiful country, the most beautiful people, very friendly people everywhere, very polite staff, the spa is excellent and the staff well trained, every thing is positive IF you are going for relaxing, calmness, quietness and wellness
But if you are looking luxurious or above stars hotel then don't go
If you are seeking piece of mind, this the right place

Room Tip: Beauty everywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

I stayed in the hotel for longer period of time and I tried both Palace and Esplanade.
Palace: quite OK but not at all 4 star! Carpet and furniture bit used, bathroom not glorious. I did not bring any shampoo as I thought that in the 4-star hotel , it should be a standard. Apparently not.

Esplanade: do not accept the room at the second or third floor (!) as they are not renovated. Cost is of course the same as for rooms which are renovated which is scandalous! Those rooms which are not renovated are really terrible (odious smell, carpet on which you would not dare to walk barefoot, bathroom - last renovation occurred surely 60 years ago).
As already written by another reviewer, walls are so thin that you could not sleep because of snoring in neighbour room. I snore too so at least some satisfaction…

Meals: Breakfast is always the same but fine, good choice, you will find all kind of food (fruits, veggies, continental, British…). Excellent dinners/lunch although quite similar.

Treatments: Be aware that staff tend to shorten treatments (especially when they do not put clock- alarm such as massages, mud-therapy, individual therapy…). You start 3 minutes late, it finishes 4 minutes earlier and instead of 20-minutes massage you get not even 12-13 minutes. But it depends a lot on the person providing the treatment. (Some of the staff are really very kind and professional) For Slovak standards treatments are overpriced and therefore at least the timing should be respected. Mus is really good.

Staff: Very helpful especially at the reception, in the restaurant, lobby…

Information provision (what is where, how to get there, how to book treatments…) could be improved (the leaflet in the room is not very helpful).

Very good interior/exterior thermal pool.

Room Tip: If you are staying in Esplanade then avoid second and third floor - rooms are not renovated! If po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilouXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpaPiestany, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
First of all, we would like to thank for visit of the Hotel Balnea Esplanade Palace and for opinions published on the TripAdvisor.

We regret, that our guest did not noticed that in the bathroom there are two dispensers; one close to the washing basin filled with the soap, and other one located close to the shower filled with 2-in-1 (body shower gel and hair shampoo in one) solution.
The Palace hotel is recently undergoing some additional improvements: new A/C system is being installed, and carpets in rooms and hallways are being replaced.

At the same time, we are making arrangements for finalization of carpet replacement in Hotel Esplanade as well. Until now, due to high occupancy, we were able to replace carpets in more than 50 percent of rooms and corridors.
It is fair to mention that we are planning complete reconstruction of the whole Hotel Balnea Esplanade; that is planned to be realized within two years.

Along with planned improvements of Hotel Esplanade, complete refurbishment and redesign of restaurants is planned. This work will include all the necessary technical changes required for implementation of new buffet-style restaurant concept, including live cooking and wider selection of meals.

We hope that future visit of our hotel will leave quit different feeling about our high standard of services and condition of the Balnea Esplanade Palace complex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Everything around is so beautiful and fresh, the walk near the Danube, the gardens,
And the swans. I loved going out because my hotel inspite all the renewing still look like
An old lady, the treatments are good but some of the staff are so rude. I felt that the old
Regime did not leave the place. Even though most people are here for medical reasons, the
Food is far from healthy. I felt, it is more like a boarding school than an hotel. But I will
Probably return next year.

Room Tip: Some superior rooms are better than junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreealouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cham, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

I booked the 4day package with 5 different treatments for I believe 65€ a day included halfboard. My parents (60years old) they loved the place essentially when they were in heated outside pool and snow was falling down. I would rate it as bellow:

Positives:
Inside and Outside (inter connected) pool , lot of excelent spa tratments (I recomend the mud bed and mirror pool swiming). Pool can be used for free as often you want, 10 computers with internet for free, good connection to Bratislava / Vienna, Spa ambience of small city, hotel organised a lot of entertainment, welcome drink, gym, saunas for free. Mineral water from the spring for free, parkig for free

Negatives:
Hotel does not deserve 4 star rating in couple of aspects. The employees in resto were underresourced - one day we eated desert and plates from soup and main meal were still on the table so you can imagine the mess on the table for 5 people, part of hotel has not been renovated so it looks obsolete, Not suitable for kids which can be advantage in case you would like to relax ......

You can not compare 4stars hotel in Western Europe with this hotel in some aspects, but the price is different as well.... There were not any hidden costs as in other hotels in Europe (parking fees, iternet fees etc)

Advices: you can have lunch in the city for half price than in the hotel, take the package with treatments since it is a bit dificuld to get some of the treatments on the spot, challenge them if they plan you treatements in times which do not suit you. And do not forget to taste some local specialities like Brynzove Halusky or Cabbage soup with sausage and stay away from Beer called Saris (Topvar beer is OK)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cepi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Piestany hotels
2.2 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Thermia Palace
2.1 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#7 of 20 in Piestany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Sandor Pavillon
Hotel Sandor Pavillon
#3 of 20 in Piestany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Spa Hotel Pro Patria
Spa Hotel Pro Patria
#11 of 20 in Piestany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Harmonia
Hotel Harmonia
#5 of 20 in Piestany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Satelit
Hotel Satelit
#14 of 20 in Piestany
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade

Property: Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade
Address: Spa Island, Piestany 921 29, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Trnava Region > Piestany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Piestany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Modern hotel complex located in the lush park area at the centre of Spa Island.•Directly connected to the impressive Balnea Health Spa, which offers a wide range of unique therapeutic and relaxation treatments.•Relax in the Water and Sauna World! Enjoy the indoor and outdoor pool as well as Finnish sauna, Infrared sauna and a steam room.•A hotel for all occasions - spa and wellness, conference facilities, sports activities, excellent cuisine and entertainment.•Treat yourself to a little time off in our Spa park, enjoy listening to birdsong under old trees, the tranquility of the thermal pools or the enclosure with peacocks and rare pheasants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing