We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boutique Hotel Fortuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Fortuna
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Poprad
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A good surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

This restaurant is one of the best in poprad. Nothing fancy but above the town average. Food is ok and the wine is also good.
Located in the old town, not bad at all

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canned_heatit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    20
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
17
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

This Pension is highly recommended, the quality of service, accommodation and food is in my opinion the best in the area. We were fortunate to have room 201 which is a suite contained within a room with vaulted ceilings. The main room overlooks the charming old town square and contains a king size bed ( maybe 2 doubles pushed together ( the join is hardly felt!!), and a large sofa and 2 comfy chairs with a coffee table, there are also 2 sets of draws and a large storage chest.. Off of this room is a small anti chamber containing a wardrobe and storage area for suitcases. Off this room is the bathroom containing the normal fitting, the shower is an over the bath type standing up is difficult as there is no high level fitting. Water supply and temperature however is very good. The bath was an old unusable Jacuzzi type. As Poprad is the home of Whirlpool we felt the bathroom was the weak link of the Pension, however it should not really detract from you choosing this as your place of stay. We were there for 2 weeks so can speak from experience. As already stated the food is superb, it was the best we had during our stay and I would say one of the best places I have eaten in for many a year, the adage you pay for what you get holds true, a meal for 2 with a reasonable wine being about 50 euros. The menu is extensive and also has a good vegetarian option, if you don’t like a particular option then asks they were very willing to help. There are a number of other pensions and restaurants in the old town, which is about a 20 minute walk to the old town. The nearest in quality to the Pension is the Sabata it charges similar prices but is not really in the same class. The others in the town are cheaper and the food is adequate and less rich a meal here may cost about 20-35 euro for 2 with wine.
We enjoy walking and the area has numerous fantastic walks, in May the spring flowers are out and it is like a wonderland for gardeners and naturalist, first time I have seen clematis growing wild. We were also fortunate to see so many different bird species along with a European brown bear and also the rare Tatra Chamois. Additionally we were in an area of wolves and followed there tracks and heard them howling. If the weather is good then there are lots of walks, if the weather is bad then for a 2 week stay you may struggle on that basis hiring either a car to enable you to visit some very interesting villages and churches is a must. Failing that do as we did and hire a guide for about 30 euros a day, ours was again superb with a lot of local and wildlife knowledge. I can provide a possible contact name if required.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newforester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

Stayed as part of a Comenius project- a pleasant surprise on arrival. Located in the old town (which is the nicest part of Poprad), easily walkable to Aquacity.
Staff were great, very friendly, professional and always willing to help, special mention for Katerina!
Restaurant is probably the best in Poprad, excellent food and a very thorough Slovakian wine selection- also has a wine cellar.
We are returning this year, a very good choice for Poprad, and would also make a good base for the new ski slopes.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skimanant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Aust
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2008

Penzion Fortuna is an excellent option in a city where good accommodation options are few. It rates itself as 3* but we consider it to be 4*.

Our room had a large downstairs sitting area with all the usual options, and a large upstairs bedroom, balcony-style. Rooms are contemporary, well-decorated and spotless.

The in-house restaurant was the best we found in Slovakia. And the Penzion has a substantial set of wine options (including excellent Slovakian reds).

Penzion Fortuna is located in a charming section of the old city. English was spoken fluently. We recommend!

  • Liked — The restaurant
  • Disliked — The smokers (but the whole country smokes!)
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LilAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poprad hotels
0.2 mi away
Penzion Sabato
Penzion Sabato
#3 of 15 in Poprad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sobota
Hotel Sobota
#1 of 15 in Poprad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#7 of 15 in Poprad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Poprad
Hotel Poprad
#8 of 15 in Poprad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
6.7 mi away
Villa Dr. Szontagh
Villa Dr. Szontagh
#5 of 15 in Poprad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Satel Poprad
Hotel Satel Poprad
#12 of 15 in Poprad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Fortuna

Property: Boutique Hotel Fortuna
Address: Sobotske Namestie 1768 / 43, Poprad 05803, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Presov Region > Poprad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Poprad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the pleasure to introduce you the Boutique Hotel Fortuna***. One of the most eye-catching hotels in the High Tatra mountains which is situated in the historically most precious part of Poprad called Spišska Sobota. The first written reference of Spišská Sobota dates back from the year 1256, and afterwards in the year 1950 was declared as the town's sightseeing centre. The best conditions for relaxing are created by the attractiveness of the silent surroundings and vicinity of the High Tatra mountains. (15km from Poprad). Our Boutique Hotel offers its services to business guests as well as to leisure travellers which all appreciate our comfortable accommodation and catering services. Our exceptional food combined with our friendly and professional staff ensures that your stay with us will be unforgettable Satisfaction of our guests is our priority and that is why, we are keeping basic principles like our smile, professionalism and courtesy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Boutique Hotel Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing