We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Penzion Sabato
Nearby Hotels
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Europa(Poprad)
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Poprad(Poprad)
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Dr. Szontagh(Poprad)(Great Value!)
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sobota(Poprad)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Toliar(Poprad)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tatra Hotel(Poprad)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
26
21
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
21
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold buildingtasty foodwould stay here againthe ownerhigh tatrascenturyfireplacepension
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The building itself is a treat to visit - you feel transported into medieval times - and the staff gets big kudos for wonderful, warm hospitality. The facilities in this old, beautifully restored building in the medieval part of Poprad, called Spišska Sobota, are totally modern. Even Wi-Fi penetrates the thick stone walls! It is a wonderfully comfortable, interesting, hospitable place with a great breakfast (included) and a terrific dinner menu at reasonable prices. The Penzion is located along one side of the ancient market place of Spišska Sobota and the glorious St. George's Church (not to be missed!) is right across the street. Street construction makes it a tad difficult to find, but it is definitely the place to stay when visiting Poprad!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Elisabeth1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here one night on our way to the Low Tatras. We had a hard time finding the hotel and accidentally went to the wrong place (coincidentally there is a hotel called Penzion Saboto about one block away...). Once we finally found the right place, parking was a bit confusing. I do not recommend arriving at night time to avoid trying to find the place. We checked in at the restaurant and the only staff on hand was the waitress, who was kind enough to run out of the restaurant, hop in the car with us and show us where to park around the back of the hotel. Once we parked and got into the place everything was very wonderful!

The staff, however, speaks zero English so be prepared to have some struggle if you don't know German or Dutch.

The restaurant is wonderful. We had dinner our first night (which was pricey but delicious!). Breakfast was made to order and was also delicious. It was a nice change of pace from typical hotel breakfast buffets.

The room was shockingly nice and especially the bathroom. We had a spa whirlpool tub and a stand-up glass shower. Beautifully decorated and even had a full kitchen including a kitchen table and a separate living room with a sectional couch. We wish we had stayed a couple more nights!!

Do not hesitate to book here! Just be prepared for some confusion in finding the place and getting checked in.

Room Tip: Room # 7 was wonderful!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Athomp08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We've found penzion Sobota completely by chance, just walking in the very nice Spisska Sobota area. Just looking at the house from the square, you can't imagine how peaceful and beautyfull it is. So quite, so out of time. Everything is lovely.
Of course do not expect 21st century comfort in the room, but just enjoy the place !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gko1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This place is prettier than the pictures and the town it sits in of Spisska Sobota is like stepping back in time! Such a great spot for a few days to experience Slovakia.

However, the staff do not speak much, if any English.
There is no do not disturb signs so the cleaner wakes you up every morning
There is no shop in the area either.

But the food is incredible, the place is so very welcoming and our room was charming.
All in all very good value.

Needs aircon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeatNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This place is like from a fairy tale. It does look characteristic,not veeeery appealing from from but once you enter through the front door you find your self in a property shouting with character. The property originates in 16 th century and is kept in a historical style. there is several rooms in the main house and they are all slightly different. In the back yard there is another two buildings that have been refurbished to rooms. Within the main house there is a lovely restaurant with genuine service and very tasty food. The main house and most of the wooden furniture and decorations have been hand made by the two original owners. One of them sadly is not with us any more. But Sabato represents the hard work, commitment and love towards something truly special. All created by those two great gentlemen. Well done.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
Thank Tomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews