We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grandhotel Stary Smokovec
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stary Smokovec
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We spent beautiful Easter weekend in this stylish hotel. Deluxe double room was very spacious, well equipped with big LCD TV, balcony with city centre view, only bathroom was a little bit older. Kind staff, rich and very tasty breakfast, tasty and romantic dinner in hotel restaurant. Wellness has spacious pool and spa is very nice, eucalyptus steam spa was very pleasant. Spa is normally open from 15 pm, but it was open from 12 during our stay. If you want to relax or make some short trips it is the right hotel for you. We were very satisfied with this stay at Grand Hotel.

Room Tip: Order Deluxe room, it is very spacious and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikola_Ber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin Z, Manager at Grandhotel Stary Smokovec, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Nikola,
Thank you for your great review of your stay at the Grandhotel Stary Smokovec.

We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time during your stay and that your Deluxe room was to your liking. We are proud that you enjoyed the culinary offerings as well as the view from the hotel.

We truly hope to welcoming you back to the Grandhotel Stary Smokovec on a future occasion and wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely
Martin Zahradnik
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2013

I spent three nights in this fabulous hotel. The hotel is very well designed. The suite included bedroom and large sitting room. The wellness center was very lovely. Nice spa and pool. The staff was nice.

Room Tip: Corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ela222_222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin Z, Manager at Grandhotel Stary Smokovec, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Ela,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Grandhotel Stary Smokovec and your kind note.

We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time during your stay and that we were able to exceed your expectations regarding the delivery of our services and the behaviour of our employees.

We truly hope to welcome you back to the Grandhotel Stary Smokovec in the near future and wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Martin Zahradnik
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Spent three nights in a family suite with my family (with our little baby as well). We got a badly equipped room with 15 year-old TV in the living part of the suite. In the bedrom, the old and very DIRTY kid bed, as well as double bed was waiting for us. After we had entered the DIRTY and smelly bathroom, we immediately contacted the hotel reception to clean it up. The balconies - kind of old, and again dirty rubber floor, no chairs or sunbeds can be found there, so the guests have no possibility to enjoy beautiful nature and scenery from their rooms. The furniture and carpets show signs of wear and tear. I am really dissapointed. We have been travelling a lot, staying in many good 4 stars hotels, but this hotel is not a 4* hotel, its a worse 3* . In definite need of upgrade and cleaning. A good value hotel is about details and this hotel is missing them a lot. OVERPRICED

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Milada H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin Z, Manager at Grandhotel Stary Smokovec, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Milada,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Grandhotel Stary Smokovec and your valuable feedback.

We truly regret that your experience with us and the overall performance of the Grandhotel Stary Smokovec was not what you had expected. The unsatisfactory points as occurred and experienced have been reviewed and we wish to apologize for any inconvenience they may have caused you. Please be informed that we take very seriously your criticism regarding the hotel and room itself. Please be assured that we already discussed your information in detail and the relevant measures are taken.

Hoping that this experience has not permanently marred your opinion about the Grandhotel Stary Smokovec we truly hope to welcome you back on a future occasions.

Kind regards
Martin Zahradnik
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I was trying to make an reservation, nobody took the phone. I called 4 times, nothing. I wrote a mail, nothing. I sent a reservation form, nothing. I'm wondering why they dont answer to the phone, or to the mail. Four missed calls, two emails, one reservation form, and they just dont care. Really teribble service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
5  Thank Zoltan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin Z, Manager at Grandhotel Stary Smokovec, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Dear Zoltan,
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us.

I sincerely regret to hear of your bad experience with our reservation center and I apologize for your inconvenience.

We have experienced some IT issues with our fix lines as well as exchange server. They both appeared to be up and running but as you described, no calls nor emails were getting through. Our IT team has already fixed this issue and our reservation center is now fully operational.

I apologize once again for your disappointment and we thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards

Martin Zahradnik
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I liked exclusive rooms - clean room, old fashioned looking and great food for breakfast. We used the hotel spa with whirlpool, pool and saunas. Outside the spa there is also small round pool, where you can swim. I was here with my boyfriend and we had great time here. Outside of hotel is very nice nature and you can do interesting trips around - train station is near hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasha248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

With better service and some upgraded room details, this could genuinely be a four-star hotel, but in reality, it's more like a three-star -- perfectly okay but in need of many updates and not at all in the same league as other four-star hotels where we've stayed on other trips.

The biggest plus of the Grand is its half board option, since there really aren't many restaurants to pick and choose from nearby (certainly none with the elegant ambience of the hotel). Food at the Grand is served in a spacious, high ceilinged dining room with lots of handsome Art Nouveau wood trim, wall mirrors, paintings, and chandeliers. The breakfast buffet was one of the largest we've ever seen (and of better-than-average quality), and there was a different entree option every night, including at least one vegetarian or fish option.

Another plus of the Grand is its location, just a short distance downhill from the funicular that goes up to the trailhead at Hrebienok (the starting point for several moderate to challenging hikes that pass waterfalls and a hut en route to the higher peaks). The Grand is also situated within fairly easy driving distance of all the other small towns in the High Tatras (e.g., Strebske Pleso is about 20 minutes away, Zdiar is about 30 minutes away), as well as Poprad nearby.

While we liked the food and location of the Grand and thought that some of the Art Nouveau styling in the building was impressive, we also disliked the less-than-friendly front desk help and the worn-around-the-edges feel of our room. On the latter point: while our bed was okay (not great), our room (122, facing the mountains) had curtains that didn't quite cover the entire window and wallpaper and furnishings that seemed more than a bit "tired."

If you're looking for some very good food and a convenient base for staying in the Tatras, the Grand is a good option, but if you've traveled elsewhere, be prepared for quality that's a notch or two below what you might expect from a four-star hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DGandSAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This hotel offers excellent service, exclusive rooms (spacious, cosy, clean and well-equipped; some even has their own whirlpools), and great food.
You can use the hotel spa containing several saunas, whirlpool, pool with cold water and the room where you can relax. Outside the spa there is also small round pool, where you can swim.
We were here with the big group of friends and we still managed to enjoy some privacy in this hotel.
Food was really great. I loved the desserts here :).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evka18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stary Smokovec
3.3 mi away
Grandhotel Praha
Grandhotel Praha
#1 of 9 in Vysoke Tatry
314 reviews
7.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Kempinski High Tatras
0.4 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#3 of 9 in Vysoke Tatry
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#2 of 9 in Vysoke Tatry
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Dr. Szontagh
Villa Dr. Szontagh
#4 of 15 in Poprad
31 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomnica
Hotel Lomnica
#1 of 6 in Tatranska Lomnica
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandhotel Stary Smokovec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandhotel Stary Smokovec

Address: Stary Smokovec 38, Stary Smokovec 062 01, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Presov Region > Stary Smokovec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stary Smokovec
Price Range: £75 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grandhotel Stary Smokovec 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grandhotel Stary Smokovec, whose history reaches already to the year 1904, is a four-star jewel of the High Tatras. Their heart - Stary Smokovec – with a background of the majestic Slavkovsky Peak, is dominated by this romance of the last century and offers a comfortable basis for your unforgettable stay in the Tatras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grandhotel Stary Smokovec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Stary Smokovec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing