We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful hotel in ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grandhotel Stary Smokovec
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stary Smokovec
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very beautiful hotel in ideal location”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Very good hotel, full of history and charm. Excellent service and good food. Great starting point to go hiking or skiing on the tatras mountains. I had a single room which was quite big and very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderer188057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marek K, General Manager at Grandhotel Stary Smokovec, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Dear Wanderer,

First of all, let me thank you for your review. I'm glad you did enjoy your stay with us and felt comfortable. Me and my team are working hard every day to make every guest happy and satisfied.

Hopefully we can welcome you once again this summer!

Sincerely Yours,

Marek Koumal
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    69
    30
    12
    4
See reviews for
53
96
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Spent 2 nights, 04/19-04/21/2013 with wife and a 2-year old daughter in room nr. 19.
Summary: strongly disappointed
Just some details:
- the only "Grand SPA" available for a child, was 27°C pool, which was way too cold
- very rusty water from the bath tap
- misalligned, partially torn tapestry with dirty borders
- unglued carpet moldings
- dangerous reading lights with easily reachable parts under voltage (even with bare hands)
- old 50Hz CRT TV without compatible remote control
- clock radio set to a completely wrong time (difference cca +2 hours)
- cheap and not good matresses
Definitely not a 4* room.
Will not come again, will not recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marek K, General Manager at Grandhotel Stary Smokovec, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear Mr. Michal,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Grandhotel Stary Smokovec and your valuable feedback.

The unsatisfactory points as occurred and experienced have been reviewed and we wish to apologize for any inconvenience they may have caused you.

The rusty water comes from the Glacier due to melted snow. This occurs twice a year and last just for few days. We would like to ensure you that the water could consist more minerals than average but meets all standards to high quality mountain water. During the year we offer special packages for families with children, therefore we can arrange higher °C in our main swimming pool. We do apologize, that our swimming pool was too cold.

Dear Mr. Michal, once again thank you very much for your feedback. We will review each of your comment and will make sure will not happen again.

Sincerely Yours,

Marek Koumal
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praha, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We spent beautiful Easter weekend in this stylish hotel. Deluxe double room was very spacious, well equipped with big LCD TV, balcony with city centre view, only bathroom was a little bit older. Kind staff, rich and very tasty breakfast, tasty and romantic dinner in hotel restaurant. Wellness has spacious pool and spa is very nice, eucalyptus steam spa was very pleasant. Spa is normally open from 15 pm, but it was open from 12 during our stay. If you want to relax or make some short trips it is the right hotel for you. We were very satisfied with this stay at Grand Hotel.

Room Tip: Order Deluxe room, it is very spacious and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikola_Ber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin Z, Manager at Grandhotel Stary Smokovec, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Nikola,
Thank you for your great review of your stay at the Grandhotel Stary Smokovec.

We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time during your stay and that your Deluxe room was to your liking. We are proud that you enjoyed the culinary offerings as well as the view from the hotel.

We truly hope to welcoming you back to the Grandhotel Stary Smokovec on a future occasion and wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely
Martin Zahradnik
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I spent three nights in this fabulous hotel. The hotel is very well designed. The suite included bedroom and large sitting room. The wellness center was very lovely. Nice spa and pool. The staff was nice.

Room Tip: Corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ela222_222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin Z, Manager at Grandhotel Stary Smokovec, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Ela,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Grandhotel Stary Smokovec and your kind note.

We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time during your stay and that we were able to exceed your expectations regarding the delivery of our services and the behaviour of our employees.

We truly hope to welcome you back to the Grandhotel Stary Smokovec in the near future and wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Martin Zahradnik
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Spent three nights in a family suite with my family (with our little baby as well). We got a badly equipped room with 15 year-old TV in the living part of the suite. In the bedrom, the old and very DIRTY kid bed, as well as double bed was waiting for us. After we had entered the DIRTY and smelly bathroom, we immediately contacted the hotel reception to clean it up. The balconies - kind of old, and again dirty rubber floor, no chairs or sunbeds can be found there, so the guests have no possibility to enjoy beautiful nature and scenery from their rooms. The furniture and carpets show signs of wear and tear. I am really dissapointed. We have been travelling a lot, staying in many good 4 stars hotels, but this hotel is not a 4* hotel, its a worse 3* . In definite need of upgrade and cleaning. A good value hotel is about details and this hotel is missing them a lot. OVERPRICED

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milada H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin Z, Manager at Grandhotel Stary Smokovec, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Milada,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Grandhotel Stary Smokovec and your valuable feedback.

We truly regret that your experience with us and the overall performance of the Grandhotel Stary Smokovec was not what you had expected. The unsatisfactory points as occurred and experienced have been reviewed and we wish to apologize for any inconvenience they may have caused you. Please be informed that we take very seriously your criticism regarding the hotel and room itself. Please be assured that we already discussed your information in detail and the relevant measures are taken.

Hoping that this experience has not permanently marred your opinion about the Grandhotel Stary Smokovec we truly hope to welcome you back on a future occasions.

Kind regards
Martin Zahradnik
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I was trying to make an reservation, nobody took the phone. I called 4 times, nothing. I wrote a mail, nothing. I sent a reservation form, nothing. I'm wondering why they dont answer to the phone, or to the mail. Four missed calls, two emails, one reservation form, and they just dont care. Really teribble service.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zoltan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin Z, Manager at Grandhotel Stary Smokovec, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear Zoltan,
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us.

I sincerely regret to hear of your bad experience with our reservation center and I apologize for your inconvenience.

We have experienced some IT issues with our fix lines as well as exchange server. They both appeared to be up and running but as you described, no calls nor emails were getting through. Our IT team has already fixed this issue and our reservation center is now fully operational.

I apologize once again for your disappointment and we thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards

Martin Zahradnik
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I liked exclusive rooms - clean room, old fashioned looking and great food for breakfast. We used the hotel spa with whirlpool, pool and saunas. Outside the spa there is also small round pool, where you can swim. I was here with my boyfriend and we had great time here. Outside of hotel is very nice nature and you can do interesting trips around - train station is near hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stary Smokovec
3.3 mi away
Grandhotel Praha
Grandhotel Praha
#1 of 9 in Vysoke Tatry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
7.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Kempinski High Tatras
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#2 of 9 in Vysoke Tatry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel SLOVAN Tatranska Lomnica
Hotel SLOVAN Tatranska Lomnica
#2 of 6 in Tatranska Lomnica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Siesta
Villa Siesta
#1 of 1 in Novy Smokovec
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mountain Hotel Sliezsky Dom
Mountain Hotel Sliezsky Dom
#1 of 1 in Tatranska Polianka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandhotel Stary Smokovec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandhotel Stary Smokovec

Property: Grandhotel Stary Smokovec
Address: Stary Smokovec 38, Stary Smokovec 062 01, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Presov Region > Stary Smokovec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stary Smokovec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grandhotel Stary Smokovec 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grandhotel Stary Smokovec, whose history reaches already to the year 1904, is a four-star jewel of the High Tatras. Their heart - Stary Smokovec – with a background of the majestic Slavkovsky Peak, is dominated by this romance of the last century and offers a comfortable basis for your unforgettable stay in the Tatras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grandhotel Stary Smokovec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Stary Smokovec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing