We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and comfortable hotel very close to centre”
Review of Hotel Dubna Skala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Dubna Skala
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Zilina
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel several times and always were satisfied. It has perfect location in Zilina, few steps from the centre. Nice rooms - enough space, clean, furnished to be modern and comfortable. There is small wellness here with pool, we ordered massage and it was really good. The restaurant and bar offer tasty meals, but we experienced in restaurant highlights but also lowlights, so the best way to eat is that you ask for the recommendations from waitors for that day, they are experienced and recommend very well. The restaurant has ambition to cook according to Jamie Oliver's inspiration, and offer seasonal meals and lunch menu. The parking is big and safe. Prices higher than average but not too much, and worth the value.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuciaSudova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stopped here just for a dinner. This restaurant was recommended us, but it was a big disappointment. We got totaly tasteless soup with seafood for 5,2 eur. I`m really not sure if it was fresh. We (me and my husband) had really serious stomach problems after eating this. Then we had cold main course. I can imagine more professional waiting staff in restaurant in four stars hotel.
Maybe hotel is fine, but restaurant poor, big prices for this region and very low quality of food!!!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
Thank Stanka_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

This hotel neither offend nor fascinate. It is nice accommodation on a great level just a few steps from the main square. Aspiring restaurant with few chapters ahead to learn to be evaluated as a great service. Location is perfect, second best hotel in Zilina I stayed in..

Room Tip: Some rooms have jaccuzzi, some not.. If you're interested, ask for the price difference. Some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaZCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Having just stayed in a Marriott then an NH Hotel I was expecting something more unusual as it's advertised as a Boutique Hotel and cost much more than the others but the room could have been any chain hotel.
The carpet was stained and the room already felt tired in comparison to the last two hotels even though it must have been a recent refurbishment. Plenty of reasonably priced parking at the hotel and the main square of Zilina is only a few minutes walk away with plenty of very cheap beer but not many restaurants.
It seems to cater for business travellers as at breakfast the next morning we were the only couple. The breakfast was a good European cold buffet.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SugarloafView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Randomly picked this hotel during a driving trip around Poland and Slovakia, it is a little on the pricey side but its worth it in terms of comfort. The only complaint I have is they must have forgot to leave a second down comforter for the bed, so just snuggled in close. We slept like logs in the comfortable bed, the room was clean and modern and there was live jazz in the downstairs bar. Ask for a zloty bazant with raspberry syrup :).

Couple other items, good safe parking and steps to the city centre.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kslowinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The Hotel is new and well kept (2012). Rooms are large, nice and clean. There is a big parking even if you are downtown. The restaurant is lovely, and food is good, they also have a good selection of wines

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I've previously stayed at this hotel four times and would come back again.
It's located in very centre of Zilina, close to restaurants, bars, malls.
Rooms are spacious and clean, staff very friendly.
If you need/want to visit Zilina, this is definitely the best choice.
The only competition would be Hotel Palace Polom, which is comparable, you just need to check rates and decide :o)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luciusik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zilina
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Zilina
Holiday Inn Zilina
#1 of 7 in Zilina
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Zilina
Hotel Grand Zilina
#6 of 7 in Zilina
59 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Necas
Villa Necas
#3 of 7 in Zilina
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Wellness Hotel Diplomat
Wellness Hotel Diplomat
#2 of 5 in Rajecke Teplice
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel Polom
Palace Hotel Polom
#4 of 7 in Zilina
59 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Chateau Gbelany
Hotel Chateau Gbelany
#1 of 1 in GbeLany
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dubna Skala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubna Skala

Address: Hurbanova 354/8, Zilina 010 01, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Zilina Region > Zilina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Zilina
Price Range: £77 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dubna Skala 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dubna Skala is the first 4* brand new contemporary and stylish hotel situated in the historic centre of the city of Zilina. The hotel offers pleasant atmosphere for both business and leisure guests. It is equipped with a range of amenities to enhance the high standards of accommodation as well as restaurant, congress and relaxation services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Hotel.de, HRS, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Dubna Skala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing