We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, average services”
Review of Holiday Inn Zilina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Zilina
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Zilina
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, average services”
Reviewed 3 January 2011

This is a chain hotel, situated in Zilina, close to the train station. The hotel is new, couple of years open. The rooms are holiday inn standards. There is a nice spa, but a little bit too small, when letting also non-staying hotel guests in. The bar on the top floor is great, with a nice view. Unfortunately I have stayed twice, and both times, there was no party, hardly anybody was present in the bar. Drinks are good and cheap for a **** hotel. The food was ok, but nothing special, both the eveninig dinner buffet and the morning breakfast. Staff is quite slow at the restaurant, and not really helpful, but always greetig. The reception was packed with guests, but occupied by only 2 receptionists, which made me wait for something over 15 minutes to check out.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquabella74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    73
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
22
6
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Really enjoyable stay in the panorama studio on the 9th floor with a great view of Zilina and the nearby mountains . The spa is very good and restaurant was fantastic - food & service . Upon recommendation from the receptionist we went skiing to two different (both very close) ski resorts - both were quite pleasant , but not very large . We were told that in the summer there is a very nice golf course in Rajec (about 20km) , so I will have to go check that out . Will definitely return to this hotel !

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falosean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Great hotel. Every comfort and convenience I could ask for. AC blows ice cold(which came in handy as the outside temp was 95 Fahrenheit when we stayed. We actually liked this hotel so much we stayed an extra night!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

I stayed in the Holiday Inn in Zilina for 2 days in June 2010 for a business trip. The hotel is clean and the overall appearance of the hotel is also good. The location of the hotel is very close to the city, just 5 minutes walk to the city center and the area with the most night life. Neverthelsss, the hotel is located next to the train station and therefore opening a window by night is not possible. This also becomes a problem because the airco is running al lthe time and you cannot turn it off, except you open a window. So at night, you either have to sleep with the noise of the running airco or with the noise of the train station next to the hotel. And even this problem has been reported to the hotel, there was no great success in solveing it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wojo0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Unfortunately the map on the website was incorrect, putting the hotel on the City side of the railway. However having solved this, we were pleased to find that the staff were polite and helpful and the rooms clean and tidy. Unfortunately the swimming pool, isn't open until 3pm, which didn't please our teenager! Food expensive in the hotel (as expected) when compared to prices in the city.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamKarenE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Posting is a little late, but better late than never. Enjoyed my two night stay. Room was very spacious compared to other European hotels I've stayed at and was clean and modern. There is secure parking onsite so if you are driving a desirable car, no need to worry. If you are a fan of 'ice' hockey, there is an arena next door... perhaps you can catch a game while there!

Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Canadian99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, OH
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2008

I am a platinum Priority Club member in Holiday Inn and was very surprised at how fantasitic this hotel was to stay. The rooms are in European Ultra Modern, the restaurants were great, the exercise equipment was brand new and nicer than what I pay to use in my home town, and the pool on the 10th floor is wonderful. On top of this, the staff was very, very nice and all spoke English. This is a great hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Shahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zilina
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dubna Skala
Hotel Dubna Skala
#2 of 8 in Zilina
67 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Zilina
Hotel Grand Zilina
#6 of 8 in Zilina
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel Polom
Palace Hotel Polom
#4 of 8 in Zilina
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villa Necas
Villa Necas
#3 of 8 in Zilina
37 reviews
0.8 mi away
Econo Hotel
Econo Hotel
#5 of 8 in Zilina
15 reviews
7.4 mi away
Wellness Hotel Diplomat
Wellness Hotel Diplomat
#2 of 5 in Rajecke Teplice
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Zilina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Zilina

Property: Holiday Inn Zilina
Address: Shportova 2, Zilina 010 01, Slovakia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovakia > Zilina Region > Zilina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Zilina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Zilina 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Zilina opened its doors in January 2007. The new rebranded Holiday Inn Zilina hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the historical city centre. The main railway and bus station, KIA s first ever European automotive plant and Zilina s business district as well as DEXIA Bank Slovensko headquarters are just a few minutes away. Zilina Airport (ILZ) at 9 km, Bratislava Airport (BTS) at 180 km and Vienna Airport (VIE) at 230 km. This four star hotel offers supremely luxury accommodation, first class service and High Speed Internet Access in all bedrooms and studios. The Holiday Inn Zilina s Conference and Banqueting Centre offer fully air-conditioned, 7 function rooms with daylight for up to 700 people, state-of-the-art equipment including translation facilities and ample parking space. Located on the 10th floor with stunning views over the city, the hotel s RELAX Area include an in-door pool 50 m2, JACUZZI, Finish sauna and steam bath and modern Mini gym. Relax and unwind on one of the two squash courts, private outdoor tennis court or in the nearby located famous Vratna and Velka Raca ski resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Zilina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zilina Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing