We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Croatia Group”
Review of Palace Hotel Polom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palace Hotel Polom
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Zilina
Rijeka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Croatia Group”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The sevices are good, the hotel is beautifull. Disatvantage is that hotel dont have a wellness. Hotel is realy cute in a center, nice hotel, nice room. The hotel team help us to spend our leasure time quality and help us to find realy nice place near Žilina to have a good time and to have fun.the breakfast and measl were tasted and not expencive. But one of the disadvantages were tha isolation betwen the rooms is not good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marko B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    13
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
7
10
8
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
246 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Driving through north west of Slovakia we had to stop over for the night and we hit this 4 star hotel. First of all it should be 2-3 star hotel . old furniture and most things( Tv, mini refrigerator and wifi are not working ) with it's price of 110 US $$ it is Ok to spend a night and keep moving.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I could not find emergency staircases apart from the main staircase. The main staircase is completely open so that smoke from one part of the building can spread all over the hotel. Conclusion: the fire safety situation is bad.
Otherwise the hotel is OK.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nico B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holstebro, Denmark
Level Contributor
625 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Did visit the hotel a number of times and alwayes been happy to stay and did in earlier review recommned the hotel. Unfortunately i have to comment the restaurant. The hotel,rooms, staff and every thing is still very good and no reasons to complain at all. But the restaurant i realy do not now what they are thinking about, the have now raised there prices to a level which is fare to high for a 4 star hotel and for Slowakia, no lokal would be able to dine hear !! Main course up to 30,00 to 50,00 Euro is realy to much ! Our local contact was realy disapointed and took us straigth away to a nearby restaurant with good food and atmosphare and we paid for 3 persons in total 26,00 Euro for food and drinks! I will in the future find an other hotel !!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danes55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Zilina hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I stayed at the Polom Hotel during my last business trip in the Zilina area. It was a pleasant surprise to find a clean and quiet room in this industrial city. Nice bathroom with steam shower - it is extremly hard to operate with it . Buffet breakfast was excellent and with a variety of choices. I had my own car on small parking lot behind the hotel. It not so nice place outside the hotel but your car will be safe. Wifi for free ! :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonsterPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
84 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

They have a free parking lot, but not much space to drop luggage off right in front of the hotel. There is no way to get into the hotel without stairs.
Breakfast had lots of different options, and was included in the rate.
The room was in an old fashioned style, sort of trying to be elegant, I suppose.
I agree with some of the other reviews, especially in two aspects: the hallway lights that turn on and off are a bit creepy, and the shower is extremely complicated to operate.
Tip: Bring your ethernet cable, since the wifi doesn't reach very far, but the wired internet is free, too.

Room Tip: Bring your ethernet cable, since the wifi doesn't reach very far, but the wired internet is free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsaroundUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery County, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I stayed at the Best Western Palace for one night. It was great that it was literally right next to the railway station. The entrance seemed small and really didn't stand out. Usually most 4 star hotels have a bit more of a clear reception area, here you had to climb a set of stairs (not pleasant if you are hauling suitcases). I also felt the reception area and ground floor were a bit too dark.

The location- next to the train station at the edge of the pedestrian area near the central square. a nice location and good view in the evenings if you are on an upper floor.

the room- I stayed in a double room. it was clean and of good size. i got the feeling the hotel couldn't make up its mind if it wanted to be modern or classic. no place really to put your luggage. the bed itself was clean and comfortable, i did sleep very well here.

I came to breakfast quite early and staff was attentive and friendly. good selection of food. it wasn't exactly clear that eggs would be available until the staff asked you to select from a sort of menu. the omlette they prepared was quite nice.

bathroom- nice sized bathroom was nice and clean. towels seemed a bit worn for a 4 star hotel and like other reviewers have noted the shower practically required an advanced degree to operate.

in all a nice enough hotel. not the greatest value for the money but adequate for a short stay.

Room Tip: the view to the street/railway station was not the most appealing and might be a bit noisy for some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val_S7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zilina
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dubna Skala
Hotel Dubna Skala
#2 of 8 in Zilina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Zilina
Hotel Grand Zilina
#6 of 8 in Zilina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Zilina
Holiday Inn Zilina
#1 of 8 in Zilina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa Necas
Villa Necas
#3 of 8 in Zilina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Hotel
Econo Hotel
#8 of 8 in Zilina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau Gbelany
Hotel Chateau Gbelany
#1 of 1 in GbeLany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel Polom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Polom

Property: Palace Hotel Polom
Address: Hviezdoslava 22, Zilina 010 01, Slovakia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel Polom)
Region: Slovakia > Zilina Region > Zilina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Zilina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel Polom 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you like places where you can feel history breathing, if you can appreciate comfort and tasty meals and at the same time you are looking for an excellent accommodation in the very centre of Žilina, then the 4 and half star Palace Hotel Polom is the right place for you. A tastefully reconstructed hotel situated at the beginning of the pedestrian zone is successfully continuing the more than 100 years long tradition. This exclusive historical hotel in the heart of Žilina city offers the highest standard of accommodation in the 69 luxuriously furnished rooms and 3 exclusive suites. 5-zone, ergonomically shaped matrasses, anti-allergy bedding, bathrooms equipped with a shower stall combined with a bathtub, radio, hydro massage and steam sauna are the basic standard of the rooms. Naturally, there is a free wireless Internet connection and a possibility of parking on the attended hotel´s car park. Besides the accommodation and catering the hotel provides a wide range of complex additional services. There are 3 congress halls and 2 nicely furnished lounges available. There are conference rooms for individual meetings as well as a congress hall with a capacity of 150 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palace Hotel Polom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing