We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Tried it at last” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Medziotoju Uzeiga

Medziotoju Uzeiga
Ranked #9 of 246 Restaurants in Kaunas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$21
Cuisines: European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: ,,Medziotojų uzeiga", oldest restaurant in Kaunas, is situated in the very heart of Kaunas - Town Hall square. The guests of the restaurant are treated with exceptional game meat dishes since 1965. The main goal of the restaurant is to use only fresh Lithuanian products. Therefore the cuisine of ,,Medziotoju uzeiga" is especially valued for its high quality meals and, of course, a perfect service.
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Tried it at last”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

My Lithuanian friend , and I tried this Restaurant, she had not been since a teenager,but said it was always a popular and good place to eat and be seen. We dined on venison and wild boar and pear tart to finish, All was excellent the surroundings, the food and the service. They coped very well with speaking in English to me, and this made my day, especially as the bar waiter, asked in English what type of beer I would like, then promptly described what was on offer. We were both very pleased at having found and tried this Restaurant, another place I shall return to, when in Kaunas.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    37
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Athmosphere was warm and gave impression of quality. Food was good, but not excellent. Waiter had to be prompted to tell us which meat came from which animal after ordering "meat cocktail" Prices where NOT steap."

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ted Walter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Almost excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I went there by accident and in the very first moment wanted to leave immediately as I saw all the dead stuffed corps of animals but as I had no time to search for the next restaurant I decided to stay. That was a very good decision as the food was absolutly deliciuos! Also the price was very resonable. They have hunters food but there are also standard meat like duck. I would recomend it to everyone and i will also go there again during my next visit in Kaunas.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LeszekPoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good restaurant if you like eating game”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We decided to try this restaurant and were absolutely not disappointed! The food was excellent, service very nice, prices very fair and interior decoration goes with the food. The starter (we shared a mixed appetizer) was a bit disappointing though, but it was the only complain.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank msdlpom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
240 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Game with room for improvement”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We see considerable room for improvement in this restaurant. We would have liked to see more fresh dishes rather than stews, a better choice of ingredients and more attractive presentation of dishes. The duck liver starter was OK, but the wild boar roast really too dry, which little taste from the garniture. Service could be faster and more professional.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertRx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Medziotoju Uzeiga also viewed

Kaunas, Kaunas County
Kaunas, Kaunas County
 
Kaunas, Kaunas County
Kaunas, Kaunas County
 

Been to Medziotoju Uzeiga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing