We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent Hotel but staff inaccaptable”
Review of Magnus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magnus Hotel
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Kaunas
Reviewed 31 July 2012

modern, excellent equipped hotel. Night concierge positiv!
But then I had to apologize that I disturbed the lady in the bar (she had o arrange chairs! .. so I had to wait..) And next morning I had to apologize that I disturbed the lady in the reception (she had o arrange files! .. so I had to wait..)
With other behaviors (respect to guests) I wood rate 2 or 3 more points.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank udoherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

The location of the hotel is ideal. The rooms are very modern with TV's and air conditioning, the bar on the top floor offers panoramic views of Kaunas.The international bus station is just across the road and the train station is 300 yard walk. The vibrant shopping centre, Akropolis is only a 5 minute walk and Laisves Aleja a 10 minute walk. Also the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid floors where smoking is permitted, the smell isn't very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NathanCymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Hotel is situated in front of Kaunas bus station. Our room was on the 3rd floor with a panoramic view of city center. Room was good, everything worked. Clean shower, snow-white towels. Excellent breakfast with hot dishes and fruits. Would recommend for orthers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pagerintoji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Modern hotel out of the centre of town. Rooms functional - no work space, no room to put much in the bathroom. No internet access in rooms despite what the website says. We were late arriving and were not "allowed" a dessert after our main course as kitchen had just closed - although we did manage to persuade them to let us have some ice cream. The roof terrace bar - one of the main reasons we booked here, was closed for private functions. We were refused drinks in the reception bar at 9pm with a shrug of the receptionist's shoulders telling us "No, it is all closed up for the night." 2 of the female receptionists were remarkably rude and a whole attitude change would be needed for me to return.One of them even gave a roll of the eyebrows and a huge sigh when I asked for my bill - as I should have apparently asked for it the day before! I did tell her that if it was too much trouble for her, not to worry, we'll leave it and forget the bill, but this seemed to gee her up a bit! Restaurant food is pretty dire & expensive. Unlikely I'd sat here again given the wide choice of hotels in the City.

Room Tip: Try & get a room at the back - it's on a very busy main road and a trolley bus route.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladybird17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Room was huge with a beautiful bathroom, very close to bus station and local shopping centres. Air conditioner broke in the middle of the night which meant it was like a sauna in the morning but these things happen and cant be held against an otherwise good hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I stayed here four nights in Christmas-holiday and hotel was very good surprise, and really value for money. Room was clean and well designed. Location is good, easy to walk to shopping center Akropolis and buss station is near. I recommend the use of local transport, that's cheap. Next time I'll stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

A modern hotel across the road from the intercity bus station, & a 5-6 min walk from the train station. A bus to the airport leaves from the stop opposite the hotel. The Old Town is a 25-30 min stroll away, or can be reached via a few of the trolleybuses from the same bus stop. St Michael the Archangel Cathedral is a 12-15 min walk away. Apart from a small 8-22 hour supermarket, I could not see any cafes or restaurants near the hotel to catch dinner on a late arrival.

The rooms & bathrooms are compact. Rooms have a satellite TV with several channels, including 4 english ones, telephone, twin beds, bedside lights, a wardrobe, dropdown desk, & a chair. Bathrooms are equipped with a small shower cubicle, heated towel rail & hair-dryer. Corridor & stairway lights come on by movement sensors.

Breakfast is a great hot & cold food buffet. The hot food selection includes baked scrambled eggs, ham crepes, sausage, & tasty thick porridge. The cold selection includes a range of sliced ham, salami, cheese, boiled egg, tomatoes, cucumber, peppers, olives, pickled onions. The usual variety of cereal & watery sugary juice. Also sliced rye & grain bread, bread rolls, pastries, fruit. Nice coffee & sachets of black, green & fruit Gurmans tea.

There’s a computer with free internet access & a City Information website port in the lobby. The hotel also has a bar-restaurant on the roof with widespread city views from the terrace. I did not eat there, so cannot comment on the experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Mar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaunas hotels
0 mi away
Ibis Kaunas Centre
Ibis Kaunas Centre
#5 of 28 in Kaunas
328 reviews
1 mi away
Kaunas City Hotel
Kaunas City Hotel
#3 of 28 in Kaunas
295 reviews
1.2 mi away
Algiro Hotel
Algiro Hotel
#1 of 28 in Kaunas
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kaunas Hotel
Kaunas Hotel
#4 of 28 in Kaunas
392 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#15 of 28 in Kaunas
217 reviews
1.2 mi away
Babilonas
Babilonas
#14 of 28 in Kaunas
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnus Hotel

Address: Vytauto pr. 25, Kaunas 44352, Lithuania
Region: Lithuania > Kaunas County > Kaunas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Kaunas
Price Range: £29 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Magnus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing