We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stupendous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of R Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
R Hostel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Stupendous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

very beautiful, roomy, young and modern and the bathroom clean.

people who work very nice and and give tips of the most important places of the city and the bars and restaurants of all kinds

i recomend all people this hostel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rafael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
11
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Miklavz na Dravskem Polju, Slovenia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

I have been in R Hostel in late July 2013. surprisingly, there aren't many tourist in Kaunas then; don't know why, it's an amazing city. R Hostel is located on a great place at the beggining of the city centre. I have spent 2 nights in apartments that they also offer. They have two apartments located near the rest of the hostel (about 300 m). You get more than you pay for - at least in my case. And the crew is so nice.
I was in Vilnius day before and it was terrible. And day after.... R Hostel. Not many hostels have that nice interior and "what you get for the price" ratio.

Room Tip: You can book an apartment. It's better to do that wiith groups of more than 3 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Matic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed in R Hostel whilst travelling Lithuania with two friends in April, the hostel is small and quiet but such a great place. It's positioned very close to St Michael the Archangel Church and is easy to travel to and from. The staff are friendly, when we first arrived the girl on reception marked the most important things for us to see on a map and also gave us a few insiders tips on things we wouldn't have found on TripAdvisor!
The rooms are really clean and the place is modern. We were put in a 6 bed room for 3 people so we had a bunk each! The owner, Tony, is fantastic. He took us all out around Kaunas on our first night and showed us bars we would have never found on our own. We were sad that we had to leave and travel to Vilnius so soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TH234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

One of my right decisions! I came here at night and there was no street lights. At first I was scared to death but the lovely staff leading the way calmed me down. We had ordered a room for 3 people but luckily they arranged a family room for us. The place was nice, clean and modern. You can use the washing machine as well as other cooking equipments. The place is quite near the main street so you just have to walk for 5 mins and enjoy the amazing atmosphere there. It worths your money!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlegalisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minsk, Belarus
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

It was my first time staying in the hostel. I was amazed by good service and nice personal. It was good experience to meet new friends in the hostel. The location is perfect, close to Akropolis and to the downtown. Overall, I am fully satisfied with the "R Hostel"!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lycurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Within easy walking distance of the bus/rail stations, but also close to the city center, this struck a great balance. The place itself was clean, comfortable, and cheap. I didn't hang around during the day so can't speak to atmosphere, but the important bits (bed, shower, toilet, etc) were all above grade.

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank MSea85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

I stayed at R hostel in Nov 2011 (only getting round to updating tripadvisor now) and I must say it is one of the best hostels I have stayed in. I booked a twin room with shared bathroom for 3 nights. I arranged for a airport transfer from the hostel themselves and it was reasonably priced. The hostel is pretty central and is only 5 minutes walk to the main street where you have a good choice of bars and restaurants.
On arrival I was greeted by friendly staff who sorted my booking without a problem and offered recommendations for while I was staying there.
The building is very secure in that you have a main door, a door to the reception area and then the door to your room. The desk is manned 24 / 7.
The rooms are clean as is the communal shower / toilet area, there is also a kitchen which offers free tea / coffee.
To be honest there is not much to do in Kaunas itself and I pretty much saw everything in the first day. The rest of the time I relaxed in the hostel, reading, teaching the girl on reception how to play the card game "S***head", and then in turn getting beat every time from her on the table football.
An option which is available is to use this as a base as nearby you can get the train to the capital Vilnius.
I enjoyed my trip and you will too

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalmingThunderstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaunas hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Kaunas
0.7 mi away
Kaunas City Hotel
Kaunas City Hotel
#3 of 29 in Kaunas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaunas Hotel
Kaunas Hotel
#4 of 29 in Kaunas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Algiro Hotel
Algiro Hotel
#1 of 29 in Kaunas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Kaunas Centre
Ibis Kaunas Centre
#5 of 29 in Kaunas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.5 mi away
Amberton Cozy
Amberton Cozy
#10 of 29 in Kaunas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to R Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R Hostel

Property: R Hostel
Address: Vytauto pr. 83, Kaunas 44238, Lithuania
Region: Lithuania > Kaunas County > Kaunas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Kaunas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — R Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are R Hostel - hostel that rocks in Kaunas. Our unique location is the very center of Kaunas but at the same time we are very close to bus and railway stations. Our building belongs to national architectural heritage and our roof terrace view is really nice. We offer nice cozy rooms, friendly staff, good advices. We have lounge room with games, table soccer (our staff guys are really good so if you beat them ask them for better deal as award), poker evenings and Lithuanian local home made beer tasting nights. In the summer you can expect grill parties on the roof, a few days wild camping fishing tours (it costs only fuel and equipment rent). Our slogan is that being in R Hostel is "more than just a stay" and we want you to come for a sleep, but find an adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your R Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing